We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have stayed here two times now and I am looking forward to our next trip. The resort is very large and there are plenty of things to do. The park can get crowded on weekends but dies down during the weekdays.

On my second trip to the resort it took about 39 minutes to get checked in and so the guest services upgraded our room for no additional cost. I was very grateful and mentioned to the woman that this was like getting a military upgrade and when asked me if I was in the military, I showed her my military ID and she upgraded us again.

The hotel service is very good and the hotel management does a great job. I have been to many resort water parks and Kalahari is the best by far.

Room Tip: Go during the week, less crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phineasKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

How exciting that you were able to receive a few upgrades during your stay!! I am thrilled you have had two enjoyable stays with us. I hope you had a great time riding all of the water slides in the Waterpark and visiting a few other attractions around the Resort, like the arcade and Safari Outdoor Adventure Park. I am glad to hear you will be staying with us again and we are happy to have you back. Remember to keep checking on our website for deals, as we have special rates for Armed Forces and Service Personnel. Thanks again and we'll see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,347 - 2,353 of 3,831 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went to Kalahari w/family members to bring in the New Year. We had a great time. The food is kind of expensive but pretty good. The Candy Shoppe makes delicious chocolate treats. Our families went in on a cabana for a day, it was a really good idea and i would recommend it. It was well worth the cost as it gave everybody the opportunity of some down time from the water activities without having to leave the waterpark. We were able to feed the kids and take care of naps without feeling like anybody was missing out. We did have an issue of one of our rooms not being available for check in past the time of check in but it didn't ruin our weekend. Also, Kalahari provided an excellent New Years celebration for the whole family at no extra cost complete with DJ, dance floor, and balloons falling from the ceiling at midnight!! A great time for everybody!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Wow! I am so happy to hear that you rang in the New Year with us! It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I am happy everyone was able to find some activities to their liking, especially in the Waterpark. Renting a private Cabana is a great way to experience the Waterpark while having a "home-base" where friends and family can relax while others are out playing. I apologize for the room situation at check-in. I can assure you that won't happen again. I hope everyone staying with you was up and dancing during the countdown to the New Year! Take care and thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We usually stay at Cedar Point every summer, but we thought that we would try Kalahari as our "home base" for our Cedar Point trip this year. Our first visit to Kalahari was during March Break. When we visited in March, we stayed in a whirlpool room with the Choose your own Adventure package. We learned what choices were the best for our family and picked the choose your own adventure package again this trip. We had so much fun that we decided to extend our stay from 4 days to 5 and then added a 6th night because we were just not ready to go home yet.

Rooms:
We used one of our Choose Your Own Adventure Package choices to upgrade to a lodge room and it was fantastic! It has a full kitchen, one bathroom, separate bedroom with a king bed. Our 11 year old son slept on the pull out couch in the living room. There is a patio overlooking the outdoor water park. We would definitely book a lodge room again. If we travel with friends or our parents in the future, we would likely book a lodge room and a connecting hut room (called a combination suite). We looked online and if you book well in advance during non-peak times, the lodge room is available for only $209/night.

Food:
We had breakfast in our room most mornings and skipped the breakfast buffet. It seemed extremely busy. We ate inside the water park once. We tried the build your own sundaes. The chicken fingers were really good.
Candy hut and Java Manjaro sell lots of sweet treats. Yummy, but not likely low fat. ha ha
We did not try the Zanzibar Grille in the outdoor water park. The menu looked good. We don't often drink, but we talked to some other guests who said that it was best to buy the big cup and get the less expensive refills.
The Reserve was our favourite place for dinner. The staff are great and the food was really good. We found that it was a good value too. The Chicken Pagoda Salad was excellent. The reserve dj interacts with the kids and they seemed to have fun. They offer a children's buffet for $12.99 and it includes a $10 card for the arcade. There is pizza, chicken nuggets, tater tots, fries, mini corn dogs and veggies. The hostess Heather greeted us with a huge welcoming smile. Our waitresses were friendly and service was prompt and accurate. (Tess and Leah) Thanks ladies.

The Indoor Water Park:
The park seems to get busy around 10:30-11:00. We went into the park when it opened at 9:00 and took advantage of short lines for the rides. We rode the Flow rider and could have gone a few more times without much of a wait. In March, we had private Flow rider lessons after the park closed. The Flow rider guards were fun and we got lots of time to play. We did not do it this time, but we plan to do it when we come back in the spring.

Outdoor Water Park/ Safari Adventure Park:
The outdoor park was closed when we visited in March, so this was our first time seeing the outdoor park open. We walked through the outdoor zoo and we all enjoyed feeding and interacting with the animals. Four passes were included in our package as one of our choices ($25 value each) and that allowed us unlimited access for our entire stay. We went on the zip line and ropes course several times, tried the climbing wall and walked through the zoo twice. Great fun!
The outside pools have slides for smaller children and plenty of loungers. They have lots of clean pool towels, but they are small. There is music playing and it is a fun atmosphere.

Arcade:
We chose a few $40 Arcade cards and some games of mini bowling and mini golf as part of the Choose Your Own Adventure Package. The mini bowling was fun. We are not bowlers, but we had a lot of laughs competing with each other. A $40 arcade card does not last long and the ticket games do not pay out well. They have a variety of cheap junk toys to choose from if you enjoy playing ticket games. The $20 unlimited video game play for the day is a good value. We used it to play basketball, racing games, air hockey and a few video hunting/shooting games. They also offered 2 hrs of unlimited video game play for $10. Chris, Evan and the Christinas were helpful at the arcade. They were friendly and patient with the patrons.

Spa:
I indulged in a facial treatment. Very nice. My cosmetologist (Jamie M) was lovely.

Staff:
All of the staff that we met were friendly and helpful. There were a few that were absolutely exceptional. Eric the bellman was always smiling. Housekeeping: Kenny and Shelby. Front desk: Halsey and Diane.
We will definitely be back. Thanks Kalahari.

Room Tip: The resort is very large, so if you have mobility issues, ask for a room near the lobby and staff tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r6crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for providing such a detailed review for future guests to look at when considering visiting Kalahari Resort. I am so excited that you had such a fun and wonderful time while staying with us. We always welcome guests, friends, and visitors with a warm smile to help them feel at home during their getaway. I am so happy that this time you were able to experience the Safari Outdoor Adventure Park as well as the Outdoor Animal Park. I am also happy you were satisfied with your Lodge Room and the view you had overlooking the outdoors. The treats at Candy Hut & Java Manjaro are a great snack when you're craving something sweet! The Reserve is also one of my favorite spots to grab dinner. Nice choice on the Chicken Pagoda Salad, it's my favorite as well! All in all, it sounds like you had a wonderful time in the Waterparks as well as the arcade. Thanks again for the review and we'll see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Everything was clean the staff was excellent. We had ordered the chicken club pizza and it was out of this world delicious!!! We also ordered a movie it was a bit pricey but some movies were still in theaters at the time so well worth the money.
We booked the romantic package and received everything that was advertised. And most of all we pretty much had the waterpark to ourselves since we went the first week in December. The only thing was the outside pools were closed for the season but the hot tubs outside was still open and they are large enough to even swim in. But to see the animals you needed to pay an additional charge but there is a package you can select to get unlimited access.
Overall it was a wonderful experience and we are making it a yearly tradition!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kozmoreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I am so thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed your romantic package. What a bonus that the crowd in the Waterpark was merely non-existent! It is nice to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay and especially the pizza. Yumm! I am happy that you will be returning. Maybe next time you'll be able to check out the Outdoor Animal Park. Take care and we'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The DJ in the Reserve Restaurant was excellent and it was fun to watch him interact with the kids. Had room #4242 which had a view of a nasty dumpster outside the window. Don't get this room. The indoor and outdoor waterparks were excellent and the food was great. You must spend some time in arcade. Very clean and the games are new and fun to play with the whole family. Play a game that gives you a "big ticket win" since this will get you a Kalahari ball instead of trying to win one in the claw machine. The Wizard of Oz coin pusher is addicting and you will enjoy winning the character cards and tokens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Kalahari Resort. I am thrilled you had such a great time at The Reserve with our DJs. And it sounds like you had a bunch of fun at both the Indoor & Outdoor Waterparks. The game room is really a fun place to relax, get a rush, experience a fun thrill! I am so happy to hear you had a great time while visiting. We'll see you on your next getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very pleased with our stay. One minor issue was with the conveyor belts on some of the water slides that returned the tubes to the top of the larger slides. They broke down a few times during our stay. However, there was more that enough to do to make up for this. Planning a trip back in January.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I am so thrilled you were pleased with your stay. I apologize about the conveyor belt temporarily shutting down. We are already working on getting this issue fixed. The next time you visit Kalahari Resort, it will be all set for you to enjoy. I hope you were able to take advantage of a lot of the other slides and attractions included with your Indoor Waterpark wristband. Take care and we'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Kalahari. We are season pass holders for all the Cedar Point (Cedar Fair) parks, and frequent Disney and other theme parks. We were pleasantly surprised how much this full service resort had to offer. One night was not enough to take advantage of everything, but we made the most of our time! All our kids loved it. We have a toddler and two others that could ride all the rides. There was enough for all of us to do. The rooms were large and had plenty of space for a family of five. The passes and check in went smoothly. The food was good and not outrageous. The whole family, minus the toddler, participated in the outdoor adventure park too.

Our only two complaints were the inefficiency in the bigger water rides. They would wait to load until the previous rider was totally clear, even if there were multiple loading portals. We have been to many of waterparks that were able to move the capacity through much more efficient.

The only other issue was the top sheets on the bed. While the bottom sheet was quality enough to be comfortable, the top sheet felt like a mix of cotton, plastic, and paper. It was odd and noisy.

All and all, a great place to visit and great deals in the off seasons.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimarie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I am so happy to hear about your family trip to Kalahari Resort. I hope while at the Indoor Waterpark, you and your kids were able to try every slide and attraction we have to offer. The Safari Outdoor Adventure Park is open seasonal, so what a bonus that you visited during the open season. I am happy to hear check-in went smoothly and you enjoyed the different dining options Kalahari has to offer. I apologize for the bed sheet and Waterpark crowd. We will take your advice on the materials of the cotton bed sheets into consideration. In the Waterpark, some days are a little more populous than others and that affects the wait times for Waterslides. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $129 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing