We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an awesome place to visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Pulaski
1 review
“What an awesome place to visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family and I made our first trip to Kalahari over the weekend. We were in awe upon arriving at the resort. The place is beautifully decorated in an African theme. There is so much to do between the indoor and outdoor water parks and arcade. You don't even need to bring a beach towel as they were supplied by the park to all guests. We stayed in the Dessert Room. It was nice and just what we needed for an overnight stay. Be prepared to spend a little more on food and drinks as their prices are higher than average. A bottle of water cost $3.00. Staff appeared very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this resort. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulaski40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It's so cool that you were able to visit Kalahari Resort. I am so thrilled you enjoyed both of the Waterparks as well as the arcade. We do provide towels at both Waterparks for the convenience of all of our guests. I'm glad to hear you'll be back and we'll see you then! Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    1,014
    414
    258
    247
See reviews for
2,509
137
5
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taylor, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've been to Kalahari multiple times - the kids always have a blast as do we! In fact, we've said a few times we may go back w/out them so we can try the swim up bar and avoid the "small kid" area and spent more time on the big slides! We love the super delicious drinks - the only bad part is looking at my bank account at the bar tab :) The drinks are THAT good -especially the Adult Milkshake drink!

Kalahari is a must do - Nothing really bad I can say about it - watch their site (and facebook page) for deals! Our air wasn't working in our room and the manager very graciously took care of us and put us in a different, nicer room!

Room Tip: Lodge Suite is awesome - so is the African Suites.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on your recent visits to Kalahari Resort. It is so nice that you have been able to visit multiple times and bring the kids as well. I think a visit alone for the two of you is needed in the near future! It's so nice that we were able to upgrade you during your last visit. Take care and there are a few drinks waiting for you at the swim-up bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massillon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been bringing our grandkids up to Sandusky for the past 11 years.. The past 4 years we have chosen the Kalahari resort as our "adventure place". Kids love it and get excited about a month before we venture up. The kids range in age from 8 to 17 and there is something to do for each and everyone of them. I like the hot pool as does the wife. Beds were comfortable..all svcs were impeccable.. Would recommend in a heartbeat..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiantp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
The memories you are creating with your grandchildren are wonderful and I'm sure they'll remember them for years to come! It's so nice that the kids look forward to their Getaway at
Kalahari Resort and everyone has a splendid time. The hot tubs are definitely a favorite of mine too. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

After many trips to Kalahari this was our first time staying in one of their suites. It was my wife myself, and my daughter (8), niece (13) along with my brother and his girlfriend. As usual the room was clean open and bright. It had 2 twin beds that folded up into the wall and a sofa with a sleeper. The bathroom was big but not much counter space and the toilet is in the same room as the shower. Both water temperature and pressure were great. Full kitchen with flat screen tv in both living room and kitchen as well as a fire place in the living room. The outside patio was bigger than the other rooms we've stayed in. Overall we would book this room again without question.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley48843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
How cool that you were all able to travel together and stay in a suite! I hope besides the room you were able to enjoy the Waterpark and Adventure Park! With the size of the patio, it makes the perfect place to chill out on those summer nights and have a cocktail. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation! Have a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room was clean, well equipped, and hardly used by us due to so much going on at the resort that we really just slept there. The bed was super comfortable and they have extra pillows already in each room. That was a nice touch, as were the towels in the water area. The indoor waterpark had more rides and attractions than I could ever have imagined an indoor facility to have. It is really stocked well with plenty to do for all ages in the family. The waterpark was really clean and that is amazing because it was so busy. My hat is off to the staff that made that possible. Another feature that I really liked was the waterpark uses a salt system as opposed to chlorine. Our skin and eyes feel just as good as they did before arrival. The adventure park is just AWESOME! VERY SAFE and the staff was so nice to us. That rope course and zip line were the funnest part of the stay for my son and I. Food was fantastic! That was the best breakfast buffet I had ever had, hands down! We all liked it a lot, and this coming from a family of picky eaters! We had pizza for dinner. The pizza is of the hand tossed/homemade variety and if they were a local pizza chain, they would be on our regular list for pizza. VERY GOOD pizza!.

The only negatives I have are in the pricing. The room and waterpark package was very well priced, but I am speaking of the little things inside the resort. The arcade has modern and up to date fun and exciting games, but my only complaint was how fast you go through the creditsI felt a little nickel and dimed with the arcade....and the food prices as well. It is grossly overpriced, so I would suggest bringing your own food to your room or budget about $150 a day if you are eating three meals onsite.

Room Tip: I would go for the cheapest room. The staff keeps them right and you really won't be lounging i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airbrushgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on your experience at Kalahari Resort. It sounds like you all had the time of your life! We work around the clock to ensure our Resort and Waterpark are continually clean and maintained. The Waterpark at Kalahari Resort in Ohio is America's Largest Indoor Waterpark and that's why it was so large and filled with so many slides and attractions all under one roof! It sounds like you had a wonderful time at the Adventure Park as well! Pizza is a big part of the Kalahari Family and we appreciate the input and compliments on our different types of delicious pizza! Take care and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a wonderful vacation for us and our 15 month old son. Nobody is too young or too old for kalahari. The buffet was amazing for both dinner and breakfast. We only stayed one night...our next vacation there will be longer for sure. The staff was super friendly and the hotel was immaculate. Can't wait to come again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
You are absolutely correct. No one is too young or too old to enjoy Kalahari Resort. How wonderful that you all got to enjoy the buffet for breakfast AND dinner! Have a wonderful rest of your summer and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmore, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Kalahari was a fantastic way to entertain our out-of-town family guests. It was safe, clean and loads of fun for our pre-teen/teen children. Purchasing through the resort (ie, staying overnight) gave us the flexibility of enjoying the attractions from noon on the first day through close the second day. The park itself has expanded its size since we were last there some 6 years ago; much more to enjoy than I expected. The Lazy River is a MUST for overworked/overcommitment adults . . . BE LAZY while riding! A good time was had by ALL guests!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I am thrilled you and your family had such a great time here at Kalahari Resort. It's so nice that you were able to take advantage of the Waterpark the very first day! And I bet it just felt so good once you got in the Lazy River and let everything erase from your mind. Take care and we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing