We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not "bachelorette friendly" as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was my first and last visit to Kalahari. I attended a bachelorette party with 12 other adults and was embarrassingly kicked out of the 21 and up hot tub for wearing bachelorette paraphernalia, were told that was our "final warning" which implied we had previous warnings which we did not. The poor bachelorette was escorted by FOUR security guards 15 minutes away to our room just to take of the head band and remove the straw from her glass, could not have just asked her to take them off and collect them later (that would make too much sense). Needless to say, she was so mortified she would not come out of the room for the rest of the night. Waste of money, over $1200 for our villa, which by the way had a torn couch and scrapes all over the walls. Ladies do NOT waste your special night here.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick rooms close to the water park because it took us nearly 15 minutes to walk from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. Very sorry to hear about your experience. I will pass along your feedback to our management team. I haven't been able to connect with our security team yet about the incident, however, I would imagine the general concern came from being a family resort with children near. However, your solution seems to be like a great compromise as well, so I will connect with our team to ensure they explored all options first. We have many bachelorette parties weekly, so I am discourage to hear your friend's special night didn't go as expected. Please accept my apologies for this. I do hope in the future you will give us another shot, to show you an experience you would expect and deserve. Take care and thank you again for reaching out to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,588 - 2,594 of 3,746 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just got home from our trip to Kalahari Waterpark Resort. In all our whole family went, all 13 of us. We got a large suite that did have enough sleeping area to accomadate all of us. We arrived at the resort at 1 pm and we were told our room wasn't ready and would be at four so we came back at four and they said it would still be at least another hour. It was after 6pm before we were able to get settled in our room and get cleaned up for dinner.

The rooms overall were very clean and looked great but the walls are paper thin. We could easily hear every word of our neighbors conversations. All of us were kept up late into the night due to people talking in the surrounding rooms. I would suggest going to the waterpark but spend the night in a local hotel it would be n

Room Tip: sleep at the red roof inn for $40 a night and get a day pass to kalahari
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Hi Kyle, Thank you for coming to visit us and taking the time to review our resort! While I'm glad to hear you had fun in the waterpark discouraged to hear your thoughts about the rooms. Please accept my apologies for a late check-in and feeling like the walls were thin. When you are on property, please don't hesitate to let us know about the inconvenience and we will do everything we can to make it right for you. Thank you again for reaching out to us and I do hope if just a day pass, or maybe a stay over, we will see you again soon! Take care and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We took our family this week for Codemash up to Kalahari Resort, Sandusky. This year we splurged and had grandparents with us, we got the Combination Suite. It was great for our family. My husband was able to get a shower and get ready in the common area and the little ones stayed asleep soundly for another hour or so in the bedroom. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything that we could have needed to prepare most any meal. We had some problems on Thursday night with some rowdy guests making noise, but we easily drowned out the sound using the fan feature on the thermostats in both rooms! Another issue we had was one night a staff said they were working on the pipes and we were unable to get hot water for the kids baths when we needed it, but the issue was quickly resolved. We ate the first night and the third night at The Reserve. Cannot say enough about that restaurant. The selection, first off is awesome! And the children's activities (coloring contests, limbo, hula) were so much fun for the kids. We really like the atmosphere there also. Very reasonable prices for what you get. The fourth night we ate at the Great Karoo Prime Rib Buffet. We enjoyed the prime rib, mashed potatoes, and nacho bar (the chili on the nacho bar was awesome!). The desserts were really good too. Otherwise, we thought the price was a bit high, and will next time order off of the menu. Our baby ate off our our plate for $2.99 instead of the $5.99 kids meal price. Amanda was our server, and she was so wonderful with the kids! The last day we waited to eat at the pizza/sandwich counter across from the arcade on the first floor. Every time we go to Kalahari we always have to have the pizza at least once. I wasn't sure if this year they changed their crust, but it tasted a little different, and we were disappointed. It was a good price though and enough for a couple of meals for the three of us. Suggestions for that restaurant would also include a speaker system for the food when it is ready, our food sat under a heating lamp for a while until I finally went up to ask if it was ready, and when I saw them calling out the order numbers, there would have been NO WAY we would have heard sitting over at the dining table area. Also, they got very busy and I think were concerned about getting the orders taken, but not about if people got their food. The dining table area is always very poorly lit also, and I think may have a tendency to not attract customers to sit there because it seems so dreary. We sat there during the day today and it was still very dreary, unless you sit in the back by the windows. The water park was great, one suggestion: take a beach towel or one of your room towels down with you because you have to leave the waterpark towels in the waterpark. And if your baby is a bit wet, they will get cold through the halls. All in all, this was another amazing trip to your resort, and we will be back as often as we can. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, it was so nice to see some familiar faces of the staff that do such a wonderful job; and to those staff who take the time to talk to the guests, you make more of our wonderful memories! Thank you :)

Room Tip: We had room in the 2500 hall, it was great for walking to conference area and waterpark...not too mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Pros:
- Huge waterpark
- Large suites
- Lots of fun things for kids/families throughout resort
- Pizza was good and reasonably priced
- Rooms generally pretty clean, but probably could use a deep cleaning
- Very comfortable beds


Cons:
- Food at the Reserve was pretty expensive and average quality at best
- Waterpark wasn't filthy but could have been cleaner. First thing in the morning, lots of band aids in wave pool, etc.
- Long wait times for some rides
- My little girl was frequently cold in the waterpark

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmkanitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

I certainly appreciate you reaching out to us and visiting us! Great review and very easy for me to share with my team. Many great suggestions and items we can look at correcting right away! We appreciate you giving us this opportunity. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Take care and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you have kids that like the water, this is a must visit. Stay at the hotel or get a day pass to the water park. You don't have to leave to have days full of things to do.Specialty shops, resturants and the huge arcade are included in the one stop has it all.

Room Tip: All you need is a towel and add water. Oops, you don't even need a towel. Just jump in and enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had 2 families that stayed over Christmas break. The rooms were fine - reminded me of a basic 3 star room. We booked a village suite which turned out to be 3 "regular" rooms with doors between. The rooms worked for us. Be specific when you book about where in the resort you want to be. It was a LONG walk to the water park for us. That said, it was worth it because our room was very quiet. I would avoid at all costs the rooms on the first floor near the entrance to the water park.

Water park was good and very large. A couple of comments...

1. Water in "kiddie" area was colder than the rest. Seems like it should be warmer.

2. The orange and blue slides in the kiddie area are fun even for adults and older kids and rarely had a line.

3. Being there right when the park opened or right before it closed at little impact on the lines. This surprised me.

4. Kids under 48" must wear life jackets in kiddie area while they can go down a couple speed slides without them - seemed usunusal to me.

5. The red and purple body slides have the best bank fo the buck as far as lines are concerned.

6. Pizza was good and we had a corned beef sandwich at the grille that was exceptional.

Overall, its a busy place and there were lines but we had a good time. Just temper your expectations, this is not a 5 star resort, and you will have a nice time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kahl1_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed at Kalahari for family reunion every year for the last several years. Whether it has lost it's excitement for us, or we have grown tired of mediocre service, lack of personal attention, and long waits on the rides, we likely will not be doing this again. The waterpark was fairly crowded, with very long waits for the popular rides. We waited on hour to ride the Swahili Swirl-- a great ride but not worth the long wait. Service for food (room service pizza) was slow. Our room was clean, but insulation from hall noises was not too good. My wife slept poorly. The Waterpark is fun, but do to crowds and long waits, hard to be "efficient." The lifeguards are friendly for the most part, but some are abrupt and seem bored. We arrived about 2:30, and were not able to check in until check-in time at 4pm. I have arrived at many resorts and hotels before check-in time and been able to locate a room. (we left and went to the mall for an hour and a half to spend time, rather than unload our luggage to the bellboy to watch.) My opinion is the price is too high for the value and experience.

I don't like the inconvenience of the parking lot so far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyman50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know your thoughts! As repeat guests, we certainly value your opinion and can't thank you enough for reaching out to us. Please know, I have connected with the General Manager so that he is aware of your thoughts and can look into your concerns. While we are excited for all great reviews, we certainly appreciate your feedback, so we can pinpoint the areas we need to improve upon. Thank you for giving us this opportunity. I do hope that we will be seeing you and the family again. We value you and your family very much and hope that we can be a part of your family tradition for many years to come. Take care and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
383 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $146 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon and Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing