We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A plesant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
adrian, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A plesant experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2008

My family and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Kalahari. The hotel in general was huge and very nice, we stayed in a Village Suite and had plenty of space for 3 or 4 more couples to stay comfortably in the room.
It was an overall pleasant experience, the waterpark was big and nice and the expansion that opened in Dec 07 made it even better with plenty of waterslides and things to do. My 4 year old daughter really enjoyed the wave pool and huge kids play area with 2 big kid slides she could go down by herself. The waterpark was also quite warm and comfortable inside and the water temperature a little chilly but not to bad. We rented a cabanna and really loved having a nice comfy place to sit and have a snack or just relax, a little pricey but definitely a must have for next time we visit. There was a baby lion in the lobby every morning and my daughter really liked checking it out, pictures with the lion were 25 dollars so we decided to skip, although overall we found the resturants and shops to be very reasonably priced.
A couple of disapointments for me were that the waterpark really wasn't very clean (this is to be slightly expected since the place is really huge and tons of people running around) and the floors are quite slippery. Also the lifeguards on duty seemed very young and didn't watch the kids comming down the slides very well so you had to make sure your child was pulled immediatly from the slide as to not get plowed into by the next kid comming down (my husband saw a 4 or 5 year old girl get hit at literally full speed by a full grown man comming down the slide due to the fact that the life guard wasn't watching properly). I ordered a candy basket to have waiting in the room when we first arrived and it wasn't there, after calling the front desk it was brought up quite promptly. Also the coffee machine in the room was junk, good thing there is a great little coffee shop down by the waterpark. The room and hotel was clean as far as I could tell, although the maids left a dirty towel and washcloth hanging behind one of the doors in one of the bathrooms in our room.. they also never came in to change the beds or tidy up the rooms. None of this really mattered to much, as we all had a great time and definitely plan on returning sometime in the future. The best tip I could give would be to not spend a ton of money on a huge room and instead go for the more modest room and rent a cabana (cabana, not the creepy, dungon like "bays" for 99$) inside the waterpark for 150$, it is well worth it and has a TV and refridgerator and several comfortable areas to sit, lay and relax.. you DEFINITELY get wore out from all the walking, swimming and stair climbing!

  • Liked — alot of great rides/slides in the indoor waterpark.. Also a very nice Spa
  • Disliked — a little dirty... also young, uninterested lifeguards
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank riesaneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    1,028
    420
    262
    250
See reviews for
2,543
139
6
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

The waterpark is freezing cold! Kids lips turned purple! Maybe because of expansion? Had to sit in hot tub to get warm whiched caused water to feel even colder upon re enter.
Also-staff seem stressed or just flat out rude! We will be going else where from now on. This was our 3rd and last trip!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything! Cold water and rude staff! Not what worth the price!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank shart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Just returned from our trip to Kalahari a few hours ago (New Years Eve) This place was incredible. After the first night of riding, my husband and I actually had slight motion sickness because we were able to ride so many fun tubes. This was a last minute trip and we weren't sure if there would be enough rides to keep our two children, 12 and 14, amused. But we were definitely glad that we had booked the 2nd night--we needed the sleep before our 4 hour ride home. We have been to Disney, FL several times and this park was definitely better. Not nearly the lines or walking between rides. Seemed to me there were actually way more rides than Disney. The atmosphere was not as hyper as Disney and more like the Portofino Bay Resort at Universal. Resort was great and the meals were really good at reasonable prices. LOVED IT!!!

Only drawback--injured my foot by stepping on something and had to have it removed--believe it or not--waterpark without waterproof bandages. Can I hear a duh?

  • Liked — Resort atmosphere--didn't have to leave until checkout.
  • Disliked — Prices in swimwear shop seemed steep--2007 merchandise should be on sale by now.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beachriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDSOR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Wavepool was great. We wanted to see the newly expansion part of the waterpark. No signs where to line up on the water slides. People were either cutting in line or ended up leaving their tubes along the stairs and moving on to the next water slides. There were kids feces along the stairs believe it or not and people actually ended up stepping on them. Some people just have no respect for others. The next day they were still there and smered along the way up of the stairs. No one bothered to cleaned them. Our bedroom blanket was covered with fried rice between the sheets from the people who stayed there before us. I guess they don't change their sheets. More like recycling dirty sheets. Seems like the housekeeping don't care about their job. How could someone actually miss something like this. Floor was another thing also. Looks like they only vaccum where you walk on and pushed the other garbage on the side walls. Sink was backing up and we had to wait till the water clears until we used the water again. It was dirty to begin with. Check in was at 4 but didn't get our room till 5:30. As mentioned by other people, there are very long line ups and when we came back later we still had to wait. Front desk isn't as happy as they used to be. You need more people person up there. These guys should be working in a drive through. I had great stays with them before but this time was a different story.

  • Liked — Wavepool
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and overpriced food.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JPJJRAMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejwatts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

My husband,myself and our two children stayed her for one night.. ONE NIGHT and it was the longest night of our lives. First of all, we checked in at noon. We did know that check in was not until four but we wanted our water park passes early. We waited in a LONG line to check in at noon. We played at the overcrowded extremely humid water park, then went at 4:00 to check in for our key. We had to wait in a HUGE line---again just to get our key. The front desk didn't really seem to care at all. Then we were give the wrong directions to our room. After walking for fifteen minutes with an 8 year old and a 2 year old--both tired and wet and cold from the waterpark, we were angry to say the least. We stumbled in to a "manager" in the hallway. We asked for directions and she looked and said "you guys are way on the wrong end of the property!".. she did walk us over there, it took 20 minutes... then we get to our room and no crib. I requested a crib and low and behold it wasn't there. She told me "keep in mind, we are sold out". She did eventually get me one, but not without a fight. So this time it's almost 6:30pm. What torture. Then there is the light--yes the light. Outside of all of the rooms there is a large bright light for safety reasons. Well, it lights up the entire room. This outside light is brighter than any lamp in the room. And there is no way to block it out. Needless to say, none of us could sleep. It was like sleeping under a sun lamp. I called downstairs and was told "yes maam, we get this complaint EVERY NIGHT"... when I asked why? why? why? He gave me some blah, blah, blah answer. We got NO SLEEP. I will never go to this place again. Overpriced, rude and disorganized. Please take my warning and save yourself 400.00.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ejwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m00dy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Definitely something amazing for everyone. Awesome expanded waterpark for entertainment. Restaurants are great...reasonably priced and delicious food. The spa was so excellent. I enjoyed a pedicure and massage that were both wonderful. The most amazing thing about Kalahari is the theme-ing. From the moment you walk in the door, you are in a different world. Even during my pedicure, the scrubs and creams were in tiny wooden bowls lined up on bamboo mats. With the newly expanded waterpark, there is so much to do that two days flew by. We had 8 year olds, teenagers, 30-somethings and 40-somethings in our group and everyone had a fabulous time.

  • Liked — I loved it all
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank m00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

Just returned from two nights at the Kalahari - Dec 24-26. We booked a lodge room which was perfect for my husband, myself and our three kids because our baby could nap in the bedroom (with a door) while the rest of us hung out in the suite. The full-kitchen was perfect because we could prepare and eat meals in the room. Our room in the "Sands' building was brand-new - the cleaning lady told us it had just opened the week before - so obviously, it was spotless.
The waterpark too is amazingly CLEAN and well-staffed. There is plenty to do here - when you need a break from the rides, slides and wave pool, there's the tree-top playground, the indoor putt-putt, plus lots of other activities throughout the facility. There are plenty of restaurants (and a Walmart) just down the road, so venturing out was convenient. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel for families with kids of all ages. There is literally something for everyone here!!!

  • Liked — Water park, playground and the toom
  • Disliked — Arcade
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
279 reviews
2.4 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,411 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing