We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandchildren's Dream Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Port Clinton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grandchildren's Dream Weekend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have been to Kalahari Sandusky 4 times since it opened. I feel I need to express our unhappiness with our stay.

This was a special stay for the grandchildren, it was a gift to my grandson for his baptisim.

Our room was far from clean, cereal on the floor, mirrors not cleaned, could see the finger prints left behind from guests before us. Sheets appeared to be clean, blankets and bedspreads were soiled. Matteresses were lumpy and were out, extremely visible not to mention uncomfortable.

Now to the water park, It is beginning to show its age, Steps were wobbley, and the pools are in desperate need of cleaning. The bottom of the wave action pool was discustingly dirty, on other things, you could see the water that was being recycled was dirty.

We had complimentary tickets to the Animal Safari, Walked all the way out there with 3 children.........."closed" yet it was posted 8:30 AM opening.

Is it possible greed has replaced safety and cleanliness?

We checked out we had enough, although we could of stayed to enjoy the water park through out the day, it was time to go home to a clean enviroment we are used to.

Jackie Bolton

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    1,014
    414
    258
    247
See reviews for
2,509
137
5
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
251 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We love going to Kalahari! We often stay here for a couple nights while we visit near by Cedar Point. Kalahari has an amazing indoor water park, which includes a "water roller coaster" if you will. I love all the rides, and the whole layout of the hotel. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The hotel has an arcade and an indoor mini golf course. It's great for guests of all ages. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the price. Although there is a lot of cool stuff at Kalahari, they definitely make you pay for it. Their rates aren't exactly cheap, even for their basic room. But other than the price issue, I would recommend Kalahari to anyone in the Sandusky area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Overall had a great time with my family... Definitely was overwhelmed with the price of are stay, was well worth it! We made this are yearly vacation. I would recommend staying in the summer when they have the safari park open, my sob loved it you could feed the animals.... Our room had a kitchen which still was a little dirty from the previous guests, utensils weren't all there and dish soap... They were very speedy with getting us whatever we needed to cook with.... Will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabulizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The room and hotel in general was very nice. Every employee in the hotel went out of their way to say good morning or good evening even as we were leaving. An employee standing outside a restaurant said have a safe trip home. On the other hand the waterpark could use a good cleaning. The floors dirty and pools have a green tinge in places. I cut my foot on a slide the first aidd was a joke and gave me a bandaid that fell off right after I walked out of the room. I went out to walmart and got my own that sttayed on the whole next day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

They are crooks and they will overcharge your credit card like they did ours and now won't refund us or return phone calls regarding this. Very unprofessional hotel service management running this establishment. We will never come back to this place again. They are thieves so beware.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bnahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at kalahari for one night after visiting Cedar Point. I did not go there for the waterpark I stayed there only because there didn't seem to be any really good hotels in the area. After leaving Cedar Point I checked into my hotel, it was around 7 pm. I really wish I would have stayed there longer than one night, because the water park looked awesome which I had free tickets to for staying at the hotel. I had dinner at the Great Karoo, which I did not have to wait at all to get in. I ended up at the buffet there because I couldn't decide what I wanted to eat. The food was pretty good,especially the prime rib. The bartender made very good drinks, and he was very friendly. There were a lot of kids there, Im not a big fan of places themed for kids, but it wasn't as bad as I expected it would be :) I was in the king whirlpool suite, the room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The next time I go up to cedar point I will definitely stay here again and this time I will stay longer just to hang out at this hotel. I would definitely recommend this place if you want a modern, clean place to stay in Ohio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LacySpikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

So clean, nice, welcoming and warm. Service staff, accomodations, food and drink...is just the right thing even for a short stay. Be careful on pricing your trip. There are days and times when you can get in for less. Ony complaint is back out shades in room do not black out room. Had lots of fun though. Will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siegs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing