We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I know cabins are supposed to be rustic, but not like this. Cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, ants on the counter tops, bugs in the shower, and mushrooms coming from the cracks in the wall. Loft was not even tall enough for my kids to get around easily in without hitting their heads. Shower was not meant for anybody over 5 foot 5. Futons were awful and springs poked through the mattress. The only good thing was the convenience to the park. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank firewife351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 879 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We booked our full-site (electric, water, sewer) site 3 months before our June 18-22nd trip. Everything was done online and check-in was simple and we immediately had our tickets and fast passes for 3 days. We had spot #253, which was in a cul-de-sac right behind the Mean Streak roller coaster. A word to the wise, when you pre book, try to get a spot that won't have a ride running in your "back yard" till 10 pm each night. However, we just shrugged it off and had a few drinks with the rest of the campers. They really take care of the place...each morning someone was sleeping our area and even cleaned out the charcoal grills from the night before. There is a nearby pool (like 100 yards max) with a hot tub (actually more like a warm tub) but no one was using it and it was staffed with lifeguards. Even after soak city closed and the park...the kids still had a place to swim...pretty much to ourselves. Staying anywhere at the park gets you in 1 hr. earlier than the rest of the park. (and yes, all the folks from the campers, cottages, and hotel breakers DO create a line at 8:45 am) However, you can get in right away and be on a few rides (not all rides open at 9 am, but enough to get your fill). Anyhow, strongly recommend FAST PASS. With 4 people, we hit 42 rides in 3 days (all the coasters...more than I can count..even in the front row). We even had time for soak city and night activities. Enter through the soak city or marina entrance at 9 am. The FAST PASS was not needed till about 11 am.

Food -- we really did not eat in the park at all (brought it all in the camper). However, the one time we did eat a breakfast at the nearby hotel Breakwater Cafe....it was not good at all. Very limited and basic bland food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our family of seven stayed at the Lighthouse Point cabins at Cedar Point over Father's Day weekend. Pros: clean facility, close to park. Cons: Expensive for what you get, beds are hard as rocks, staff's customer service ranges from rude to apathetic. Tip: when you arrive at the park, opt for soak city parking ($12) as opposed to preferred ($20), and ask to be reimbursed by Lighthouse Park when you check out.

Room Tip: When you arrive at the park, opt for soak city parking ($12) as opposed to preferred ($20), and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hjhglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We just got back from a very fun weekend at Cedar Point. Since we have a camper, we made reservations at Camper Village - part of the Cedar Point complex of resorts. The campground was very clean and well maintained. All paved sites, with a picnic table and grill. As others already stated, the sites do not have campfire rings, but that was fine with us since we were at the park until late in the evenings and having a campfire wasn't really necessary. We took advantage of the lower admission price for staying on park property, as well as the early entry to the park. We would go to the park first thing in the morning and then we came back to our camper, cooked a late lunch, swam at the campground pool for a few hours to cool off and then headed back to the park in the evening. The entire park (Cedar Point included) was very clean and beautiful. I would go back both to the amusement park and to this campground!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank michjome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

my family stayed at the lighthouse point in a cottage at Cedar Point. 2 adults and 4 teens. it was a great place to stay except that dead fish were washing up on the bank and there were a million canadian dragons (bugs). We were told it was the time of year for both the dead fish and the bugs.... other than than, it was a great place and the house keeping staff was more than helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After much research, we decided to stay at Camper Village and take advantage of the location, early entry, and the discounted ticket rate of $32. For all of those things, it was definitely worth it. It was also nice to come back and take a break at the Camper Village pool and hot tub. We were very happy with the campground. We stayed in the Lighthouse Village section which was all paved with nice metal picnic tables. The grounds and bath houses were very clean and we routinely saw maintenance staff during our stay. The sites are close, like all private campgrounds, but we had shrubs and a tree between our sites for some privacy. Without campfires or bikes, the campground was very quiet and relaxing. We walked the little path down to the beach and out to the pier. My husband is not a huge theme park fan, but he said that he would be willing to return because he really enjoyed the campground. The price is a little steep, but at least you are getting nice, clean facilities for your money!

Room Tip: Lighthouse village sites were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Full hook-up available for your RV. But, no tree's and no campfires allowed. It's pretty loud too. Convenient walk to the parks though!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dvmharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
3.4 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
241 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lighthouse Point - featuring an RV campground with full hook-up sites, standard cabins and cottages and Deluxe Cabins that accommodate up to 10 guests. If you’re looking for accommodations with a summer-cottage feel, you'll be right at home. A cozy waterfront community of 64 cottages and 92 cabins, Lighthouse Point is located close to the fun, on the west bank of the Cedar Point Peninsula. Just look for the historic 1882 Cedar Point Lighthouse, and you’ve found us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Point Hotel Sandusky
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing