We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place near cedar point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2007

I had to change my own sheets on arrival; beds dirty with hairs. Lobby and elevator smelled like urine. My cosmetics were stolen and mgnmt did nothing and told me to call the police. Stay anywhere else.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank bossman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 906 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2007

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were in town to visit Cedar Point. The room and bathroom were very clean. However, the staff could do better on maintaining the stairwells, halls and elevator. From previous reviews, we learned that the breakfast room could get crowded so we went down for breakfast around 7am. We enjoyed waffles, sausages, juice, coffee and cereal with a few other early risers. I would say the crowd arrived around 8:30am. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank luv2travel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My rating of 2 is somewhat generous. We stayed at 6 different hotels, including 2 different Comfort Suites, on our vacation and this was the least of them all. I am surprised this is rated second best in Sandusky.

We stayed for 2 nights recently. The room itself was a 2 room suite-3 double beds in all. Layout was nice, as one bed was in its own bedroom--don't know why it couldn't have had a queen size bed, though, for the wife and me. Plenty of room for a family of 5. The beds were not new and slightly lumpy, but not terrible.

Now for the bad parts.

The room. The bathroom floor was filthy. My wife used a paper towel on the floor and it came up with thick grime. The carpet in the rooms didn't look or feel clean either. We found a hair in our bed when we arrived, but we think the sheets actually had been laundered. We'd have asked for another room, but already knew there none of this configuration available.
When we returned from our first day at Cedar Point, we found that coffee pot had not been cleaned out and a half full coffee cup was not cleared. Also, the plastic drinking cups were not replaced.

The hotel. The lobby was fine. The problem was in the stairwells -- dirty, including trash. Do they ever clean them? Our room was at the end of the corridor, so it was handy to use the stairs to get to the parking lot-- it should have been clean. Also, I was surprised to find that one had to go to the hotel next door (Comfort Inn) for a pool. We decided it wasn't worth the effort, because we were tired.

The breakfast. Pathetic. The breakfast room was dirty, tables were not cleaned between parties and what food there was was not replenished in a timely manner. We ate there on the first morning and it was mediocre, at best. On our second morning, we walked in, saw no tables and no food (except cereal). The single waffle maker had 6 people in line, since there was nothing else decent. We did an about face and went back to our room and made do on what was left in our cooler and food bag.

Upon checkout, we advised the clerk that we had had a disappointing stay. She politely apologized and said the cleaning staff would be reprimanded. She did not ask if there was anything the hotel could do to make it up to us, such as a break on the bill, which was high.

We won't be back to this one. The night after we checked out, we had a wonderful stay at a Comfort Suites in Findlay, OH. So, I think it was a local mgmt problem. I quipped to the Findlay hotel staff that they should go up to Sandusky and teach them how to run a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Salukiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We checked in the early evening for a two day stay and noticed that we had no towels in the room. We asked the front desk staff to bring us some towels. 8 hours later after several phone calls to the front desk, we had to go down to the desk to get them. The next day after we got back from Cedar Point, the room was cleaned and again, there were no towels in the room. The good thing was this time it only took 4 hours to get the towels to our room. The front desk staff was unfriendly and seemed to be lacking the basic training in customer relations.
I would stay somewhere else unless they change the management.
I haven't had this problem at other Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IllinoisScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

After having booked the Comfort Inn well south on Milan Rd, we realized our error and booked instead at Comfort Suites. This is a convenient location to Cedar Point (purpose of our visit) and to numerous restaurants and stores. Not sure why they call these suites, as they are not. Nice to have microwave and fridge in room, though. Room and bathroom were clean and fit our needs. Beds were a bit wobbly, as they were set up on very high frames.

We were concerned about the security in the hotel as we regularly found side and back doors propped open, defeating the security of requiring a room key to enter the hotel. Each time we found a door propped open, we closed it, only to find it propped open again later. Whether this is staff or guests is unknown, but staff must keep the hotel secure. A crime related to this issue would damage the hotel reputation.

The breakfast room was not attended sufficiently and often items were not replenished. Waffle iron had notice advising you to spray the griddle before pouring batter but there was no spray and no attendant available. Otherwise, it was adequate to start one's day. Fresh fruit (other than canned fruit cocktail) would be much preferred to all those sweet rolls though.

No bill was left under our door the morning of checkout (unusual for Comfort Suites) so we had to stop at the desk. Found that we were charged nearly $30 more on the first night than originally quoted at check-in. No manager was available and the two ladies at the desk were unable to resolve the issue. We were told a manager would arrive "in like 10 or 15 minutes, maybe" but had to depart and did not have time. Now stuck with trying to resolve this dispute via mail.

I think this could be a much better hotel with some attention to detail. Decor is pleasant and it was quiet at night. A pool sure would have been nice - crossing the parking lot and ravine to access the pool at Comfort Inn next door was no fun.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We enjoyed this hotel. It was clean, the front desk staff was nice, and the room was spacious. The bathroom was very nice with tile floor
and marble countertops. The downside is that we had a view of the multicolored lighted pyramid over the front desk so we had to keep our blinds shut tight the entire time. The breakfast was nice. Worth our money and better than the other hotels we've found in the area. We would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hoosierstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Suites July 1-3 and had a very good experience. The room was super clean and very quiet. Never did we hear any noises. We were on the 3rd floor. The rooms really are not suites and we don't know why they call themselves that. We appreciated having both a fridge and microwave in the rooms. The pools next door at the Comfort Inn were both very large with a huge hot tub indoors. At night once the park closed the pool was packed. During the day, hardly anyone was using the pools. My only complaint was that we had a non working coffee pot in our room. We received a new one for one day only to have it removed from our room the next day. I requested a new one again and never received it. They were very short staffed in the evening, but had more than enough workers during the day. In addition, the sofa in the room is small and is not a hideabed, so keep that in mind. They do not allow rollaways in the double bed rooms. The continental breakfast was just OK if you like canned fruit and cold sausages and lots of sweets. The breakfast room was not that crowded either. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, especially after we checked out of the La Quinta due to their cloudy, cold outdoor pool. I would definitely stay here again when we return to Cedar Point.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ekwcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $95 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing