We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

From the moment we walked through the front door we were greeted with smiles and a very helpful staff. I stayed in a clean and updated room with everything I needed for a great night of rest. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our property, our amenities, and our staff. It's great to hear of your recommendation and we can't wait to welcome you back as our guest sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 904 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

The location of this property was exactly where we needed to be. It was clean but otherwise very average. The people who worked there did their jobs well, but did not seem to go out of their way to be friendly or personable. The breakfast was the standard Best Western breakfast. Our room which they called a "suite" was no where near a suite. It was a standard room with a king bed, a small couch, a fridge (which didn't get very cold), microwave, and coffee maker. The room was clean, but again, you could tell that the cleaning crew did exactly what they had to do and no more. The bed skirt (which was too large for the bed) dragged on the floor and you could tell that it had been vacuumed over numerous times, as it was ripped at the seam (see picture). There was nothing wrong with this place, but nothing outstanding either. The price of the room was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm surprised (and disappointed!) that your stay didn't exceed all of your expectations (as is the case with most of our guests). By definition, a suite is simply a larger room with more than just a bed for sleeping. We feature this larger room, sofas, fridge and microwaves, easy chairs, as well as an office setting in each of our rooms. In addition, we also have rooms that adjoin one another if someone were to need even additional space or a private bedroom.

We're always looking for ways to improve what we offer to our guests and take every comment and/or suggestion seriously. I hope you took the time to discuss your concerns with our staff while you were at the property so we could hear, first-hand, what we can do to continue to make our guests' stays even more awesome. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Good service. Front desk service very kind, good location. Clean, affordable place. We were there for a Guitar Festival, and the place was very nice, close to restaurants> We had a big group of high school students there, but we did not notice them. I will recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lilianaperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our central location, our vast array of amenities, and our pleasant ambiance. We're very happy (and flattered!) to hear that you'll be recommending our hotel to others--as this is the best marketing we could ever hope for.

We hope you'll be back again to visit us soon. It would be our pleasure to be of continued service to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We actually just checked in a party of four. Two king suite rooms our rooms are on the same floor yet on opposite sides of the floor. When asking the front staff if we could get adjoining rooms she just said bluntly that she got us as close together as she could. She didn't even type anything into the computer to see if there was even rooms closer together. We have had the rooms booked for over a month and we are staying for three nights. Hoping our stay gets better. Frustrated now.. Also requested extra towels and blankets for each room and this was also not taken care of. Disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzi583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to offer valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. As you indicated, you wrote this review soon after arriving at our property. My hope is that your stay with us improved over the time you were with us.

As is the case is most all hotels, special requests such as adjoining or adjacent rooms are honored as much as possible. Additionally, our computer system will automatically bring up rooms that are in closest proximity to one another. This may be why it appeared as if the staff member didn't take extra time to see if your request could be honored.

I really do hope that your stay improved over time and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. It is our goal to exceed every guest's expectations and we hope we were able to achieve that in the end for you as well. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you to our area in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very nice room. Only downside was we arrived too late at night to enjoy it much so weren't there long. Good hot breakfast as well. A little pricey for the short stay but we had a certificate so not bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MICHELLE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our property and for letting others know that we have a quality product to offer! Although we wish that you had more time to enjoy all of our amenities, we ARE pleased to hear that you took advantage (and enjoyed) our amazing complimentary full hot/cold breakfast spread.

We hope you'll have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future and that you'll have more time to enjoy all that we have to offer. Until then, we wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is centrally located to all things in the Sandusky area. Many chain restaurants located nearby. Friendly, helpful staff. Large rooms with the standard ameneties. Do not recommend the restaurant next door at the Comfort Inn. I have no way of knowing how the food is....we waited over a half hour for a waitress to bring menus so had dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank LindaK8408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for taking valuable time to offer share your recent experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the amenities and our central location to be of value and convenient. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get a chance to experience the amazing food and service at Baci next door--as they're the #1 rated restaurant in the Sandusky-area--just as we're the #1 rated hotel in our area.

We hope to see you back again soon and wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here just recently and it was one of the best places! Spacious and clean room with friendly staff that gave a great restaurant recommendation! Breakfast was delicious and with plenty of choices. The cinnamon rolls were terrific and a nice treat I haven't had any where else. All this and a reasonable price too! Would definately stay here again when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lene355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and all of the amenities that we have to offer. You're right--our breakfast spread (especially the cinnamon rolls) is pretty amazing as are all of the other amenities that we have to offer. It's just part of the reason why we're consistently ranked the #1 Sandusky-area hotel on TripAdvisor!

We're glad to hear that you'll be staying with us again when you're in the area. We can't wait to be of service to you many more times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
379 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $98 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing