We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Vernon, Illinois
1 review
“Nice stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. We did have a few problems with the air conditioning and housekeeping but the front desk employees were great. They took care of the problems immediately. The room was very clean. The pool isn't very nice but we were allowed to use an indoor or outdoor pool next door. I would stay here again. Easy drive to Cedar Point Amusement Park. The free breakfast was stocked and hot everyday of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScMcMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our front office personnel were able to "recover" any issues that you had with maintenance and housekeeping. I'm also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary full hot/cold breakfast and that it was well-stocked and well-presented. We hope you'll chose to stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    280
    116
    46
    27
See reviews for
395
169
26
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Check in was no problem. The rooms & furniture are sooooo dated its sad. Lacked cleanliness, in window sills spider webs, dust bunnies staff not paying attention to details. Bed was ok appeared a bit stale, with small old stains. My reason for going was Cedar Point and the park didnt disappoint but I will have to find other lodging arrangements

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mookiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm very sorry that your expectations were not met (or exceeded!) during your recent stay with us. In fact, I'm wondering if you rated and reviewed the correct hotel--as this hotel is just about 10 years old and is in very good repair and all of the furnishings, fixtures, and equipment are up-to-date and in excellent condition. At any rate, thank you for your contributions. We will definitely talk with our housekeeping department about their attention to detail as this is the very least that we expect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very easy to get to. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but it was good. I was not a huge fan of the pool, but we were allowed to use the one next door. Overall it was a good hotel stay, and priced just right.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LansingFoodie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a very positive picture of your recent stay with us. I'm super-happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the price point to be of value. We look forward to serving your lodging and hospitality needs again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not sure why this hotel is so high up on Tripadvisor. Its nice but nothing major to rave about after all its still just a Best Western property - so lets put things into context here.

We stayed here for one night on the 20th May 2013 prior to visiting Cedar Point Amusement Park the next day.

Staff are very polite at check in / check out and all the time whilst we weher there

Average breakfast buffet in the morning with the usual fare. These style hotels nowadays seem to have this thing about the pancake and waffle makers at breakfast. Well all I can say about this as a tourist visiting the USA is - big deal! The waffles are like cardboard and the pancakes are not that good either. So don't expect much

The room at the hotel was nice and clean and very spacious. Two queen beds and a separate living area with sofa. Flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facs and fridge and microwave. Average bathroom for this hotel type but clean.

The hotel is also very close to many eating outlets and shopping places as its right on Milan Road.

Handy for Cedar Point (10 mins away with no traffic) and just off the main road into the area

Free parking too

Overall good stay - but would like to try other hotels next time just to see if they are better than this one while being in the same category.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the overall positive rating and response regarding your recent stay with us. To answer your question about why we are ranked so high--I guess two things come to mind. One is that we are a Best Western PLUS--the PLUS designation means that we have higher standards to adhere to and more amenities required than a standard Best Western. Secondly, our staff has the reputation of providing "above and beyond" service to our guests. That, in and of itself, is, many times, hard to come by. Sad in a service industry, but very true.

At any rate, thank you again for your contributions and feedback. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future. We're confident that you won't find another hotel in this price scale that would beat your experience at the Best Western PLUS Sandusky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were able to get a great rate the evening we checked in with no reservation and even got an upgrade to a suite with hot tub. I am a hard person to impress and I was very pleased with the service and cleanliness of the entire hotel, especially our room! I highly recommend this hotel, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Impressing our guests is always a goal for us so it's great to hear that we did that in your case. I'm happy that you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities and can't wait to have you back as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel. My sister stayed there as well and they were able to get us attached rooms. Also I needed to extend my stay which they did for the same price as my first night seeing the next night would hAve been more. And I was able to stay in my same room.

Breakfast was good, they could use a Resturant in this place that would make it better for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kishia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review and rating of your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that our staff was accommodating and even happier to hear that you extended your original stay for a bit longer. We hope to see you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It is a ways from the Interstate into Sandusky, but I was tired and Best Western claimed to have a hotel there. Very comfortable and quiet. Next door is a Comfort Inn (owned by the same person), which includes a surprising Italian restaurant. I cannot recall the restaurant name, but I got an unexpected gourmet quality meal which included extra touches that would not be found in the average food service place. I had a sea bass preparation that was exquisite. All in all, the combination of a very nice place to spend the night and an excellent meal made my simple, overnight stop mos memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us as well as the fact that you enjoyed a fantastic meal at Baci. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
3.6 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing