We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Second time to visit this excellent hotel on a business trip. Same first class receptionist service. Very decent breakfast. Only little niggle would be the "Albert Einstein" clock! Impossible to figure out without a degree in computer science! You'll be happy you chose to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank EurolinkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. It's always nice (and gratifying!) to hear such positive comments as it's evidence that our efforts to provide unparalleled lodging accommodations are second-to-none in the Sandusky area.

We look forward to welcoming you back during a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    261
    111
    45
    24
See reviews for
367
155
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

For spring break I took my 4 children to Castaway Bay Resort. I knew that it would be cheaper to find a hotel in the area rather than stay at the resort for 3 days. I originally booked 1 room with 2 double beds but when we arrived, the night front desk clerk gave me a free room upgrade! The room that we were upgraded to was much bigger, very clean, and really roomy. I was so appreciative! The free breakfast was really good and there was always plenty. The fitness center was a little small and basic but I was still able to get my cardio done with the equipment that was supplied. My kids really enjoyed the indoor pool which had a timed therapeutic session on it and that was relaxing. I really enjoyed my family's mini vacation in Sandusky! This is something I definitely will do again and when I do, I know EXACTLY where we will be staying!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate it when people take the time to be share such enthusiastic reviews and let other customers know that there is value in staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at 10pm to check in we were greater by a sign that the attendant would be right back they were taking care of another guest. She did promptly return to quickly check us in and let us know that there would always be someone at the front desk! The hotel is nice, they have a therapy pool and you have to cross parking lot for an actual pool next door at the comfort inn. Rooms are fine but if you need another adjoining room it may not come with a second bathroom! Strange set up!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel and for giving us such a good rating and review. I'm very happy to hear that our staff was attentive and helpful--they make all the difference and are the primary reason we're rated the #1 hotel in Sandusky.

We hope you choose to stay with us again should future travel bring you our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here on February 23 with my two children (3 & 1) and my sister. The pool down in the basement was perfect for the kids because it was quiet, warm, and shallow. The beds were really comfortable and we all slept well. The breakfast selections were good- pancakes, yogurt, english muffins, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettinarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to offer such a positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that you found the accommodations and amenities of value and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again should your travels bring you our way in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived for check in and the front desk staff was very nice. She offered me a free upgrade to a suite room. It was perfect for myself and three kids!!! She was very kind to my children and gave them a bag of chocolates to take up to the room ( with my permission).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Jennifer, I'm so excited to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary upgrade and that we were able to meet (and hopefully exceed!) your needs and expectations. In today's very busy society, it's the little things--the personal touch--that makes all the difference...and we understand that concept at the Best Western PLUS Sandusky. We look forward to being able to serve you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The stay was outstanding, from the service to the amenities. Spacious, comfortable, clean with a wonderful breakfast provided. The staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel. The location is perfect, just off Rt. 2 and easily accessible to everything in Sandusky, close to good restaurants on Milan Rd.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks, Jamie, for providing such a wonderful and thorough review and rating of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you found the amenities of value and that our staff was attentive and helpful. We look forward to being able to serve your lodging needs again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Feb 22/23, 2013 Jon, the banquet manager, is great person to work with. He did an excellent job setting up room, 2-3 times for differnet events, transferring things from B.W. to Comfort Inn and setting up banquet room at Comfort Inn. Sue-front desk has a great personality and very helpful. (More hotels need front desk people like Sue). The hotel is very clean, rooms are very nice and the beds are comfortable. Amy-the General Manager, she does a terriffic job and very accommodating. Amy and the B.W. staff gives you a very welcome feeling and they are always smiling and plesant. Thanks for all your help and making the 2 day event much easier.
Shelly S

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks, Shelly, for taking the time to offer such a positive rating and review of your recent experience and stay at our Best Western PLUS. It's heartening to hear when valued customers such as you have such a pleasant and rewarding experience with our product and staff. I'm happy we were able to assist with your event and can't wait to be of service to you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#2 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.7 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#8 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Address: 6011 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5869
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing