We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay for visiting Cedar Point!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel was a great place to stay while I was staying up in Sandusky for visiting Cedar Point (which was only 6-8 minutes away from this hotel), and getting the room for $105 on Hotels.com was a steal. This place was the best bang-for-buck at that rate that I've ran into. The staff is very nice and friendly, and were very helpful. The beds were soft and confortable, and everything was nice and new. The room was extremely clean and well taken care of. The room itself was very nice and spacious, which my room had a desk and office chair for doing business work, as well as a mini fridge and a microwave and all of them were in great shape.

Only negative is the exercise room and hottub are tucked away in the basement level, and there's nothing really telling you that their down there. Also, the breakfast area was pretty good but the food could be abit better.

But this place is highly recommended if your needing a place to stay while going to Cedar Point!

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room while sites like Hotels.com have a good rate going.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DA623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to relate your recent experience at our hotel! I am REALLY happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodations so appealing--from the cleanliness to the ambiance. We continue to work on refining our breakfast options and your comments regarding that will help us as we move forward. We will also investigate ways to better market the therapy pool as well as the exercise area. Thanks again for sharing your experiences. It means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 898 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

excellent accommodations and beds were really comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thanks for your shining review of our property! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had a one night stay at this hotel and when our original room was not ready, they made accommodations to give us a 4 bed room. It made our trip to Cedar Point all the more memorable and was a great surprise. The little welcome bags with water and popcorn were also nice touches. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the hot breakfast was nice. If I plan another trip to Cedar Point anytime, I will definitely stay at this Best Western location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. It means a LOT to hear that our staff is performing at such a high level and that we're able to service guests like yourselves in such a great way. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

First of all, the staff here is extremely pleasant! I was greeted as soon as I walked in the door (at 2:15 am)! I had to call around for a different hotel to stay at and this was one of the few that had a room left. It was bike week in Sandusky! I had to leave a very nasty, unclean hotel. Check in was very smooth and "Mike" was very understanding and he matched the other hotels rate to theirs! He told me very nicely where our room was located. He honored my wishes of not being by the elevators/ice machines or stairs. He let me know about breakfast and all their amenities! He was very helpful and was a breath of fresh air from where I had just come from!

Our room was on the 3rd floor. It was spacious with 2 double beds, a sitting area with a coffee table, a desk with an ergonomic chair, a large frig, microwave, coffee pot, flat screen TV. The bath room was like what you see on TV. Marble floors, counter tops. Very large tub and shower combo. They have a large walk in closet with a large safe for your personal belongings.

The beds were so soft and comfortable! They were like sleeping on clouds! The walls were thick between rooms and we could not hear the people next to us the whole weekend.

The continental breakfast was very good! The serve biscuits and gravy, eggs, fresh fruits, cereal, homemade waffles, yogurt and so much more! We were not hungry when we left. The staff that served breakfast was very friendly and helpful!

The lady at the front desk named "Sue" was very nice and always greeted us and asked us how we were doing and if we needed anything.

They have a nice Therapy pool/hot tub. It was very relaxing and enjoyable. The room it was in was also spacious and kept very clean and warm. One of the staff members came by to see if we needed anything! How wonderful is that!!

The whole hotel is very clean, kept up and most of all friendly! It also won’t break your wallet for staying there. All their rooms are the same size except the Jacuzzi rooms and family suites!

The outside of the hotel is just as pretty as the inside with water fountains always going and greeting you when you enter the parking lot!

This hotel stay saved our vacation and made a world of difference! We have season passes for cedar Point and this will be the hotel we stay at for here on out!

Room Tip: All their rooms are Suites! They all are very spacious with large bathrooms and the best amenities a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you for your GLOWING remarks about our hotel property. Although we're very proud of the product that we have to offer, we're even MORE proud of the top-notch service that we're able to give to guests like yourselves through the best employees in the area. Our hard work has obviously paid off with results like those you shared with us. Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things and to let us know where we're doing well. Safe travels and we can't wait to see you on your next visit to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very good experience. Nice rooms. Nice staff. Everything was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was good. Would stay there again and recommend to others. Great value!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a pleasant stay for 4 nights to visit Cedar Point. The front desk staff was friendly and courteous to our children which is always a plus. The room was very clean and comfortable, I slept like a rock each night. The only complaint I have is that the water temperature in the shower was set too hot. I dont know if the faucet adjuster was broken or not, but we could not get the water to come out cool (it did at first but once it was hot, it would not adjust). If the manager reads this, we stayed in room 230.
The breakfast was good. They had cheese omelettes, biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, muffins, boiled eggs, etc... Obviously get there early to avoid the crowds. I overheard some people complaining that they didn't have much to pick from at breakfast closing time. They have to shut down and clean up eventually. Overall, we had a great stay and will return to this hotel next time we visit Sandusky.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaKnoxVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a GLOWING review of your recent stay at our hotel. We're happy to have been of service to you and hope to welcome you back on a future visit. Thanks, also, for bringing the water temperature issue to our attention. We will look into that and rectify any issues that we find. Thanks again and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this past week, and had a very nice stay. While the hotel is not much to look at from the outside, we were very pleasantly surprised about the apprearance and cleanliness of the hotel on the inside.

The rooms were very fresh and clean and accommodations were excellent.. I can't complain about anything, except for no rooms that have 2 double beds.. the rooms had double beds and for 4 adults, it is a little cramped.

The breakfast was very nice and had some hot food (ex. waffles, eggs, etc.) on it.

Overall, a very excellent stay for one night. Ws about 5 miles from Cedar Point, so it was convenient. We were there at a time where it wasn't very busy, so I can only speak about this hotel during a very calm night.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgreen1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thanks for relating your experience with our hotel during your recent stay. We're glad that we met (and hopefully exceeded) all of your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in our area! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
374 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $101 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing