We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Cedar Point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Harlem, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very close to Cedar Point”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel fit the bill during our visit to Cedar Point, although more attention should be paid to the cleanliness of common areas.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simva3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    284
    121
    49
    29
See reviews for
409
171
26
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The rooms were clean and roomy. The desk staff was friendly and helpful (Mary and Don in the evenings particularly so). The housekeeping staff was also very helpful. A great experience all the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerrieOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

From the moment we entered this hotel I did not have a good feeling about it. The description on the internet was surely not what we thought it would be. First we learned that the pool is not at the hotel. You have to go the Days Inn hotel next to the Best Western and use theirs. The hotel does however have a therapy pool that is dimmly lit in the basement. We didn't use it--looked a little scary. My children decided to go swimming next door and quickly got out when one of them found a hair ball in the water and the other complained of people in the water without bathing suites (wearing street clothes) They quickly returned to the room to take showers. We talked to the staff at the front desk and complained about the unsanitary condition of the pool. They said that they would contact the pool manager. At this point we weren' t sure we even wanted to stay at the hotel. The staff was very understanding and said they would give us a refund if we decided to go elsewhere. The problem was that there wasn't any other hotels around that looked like we would want to stay in them and looked at reviews that were not very positive. We were here to take the kids to Cedar Point and planned to stay a few nights. After we experienced the complimentary breakfast I really wanted to get in the car and just leave, but I knew we didn' t have anywhere else we could stay. Really felt stranded here. The breakfast was in my opinion extremely unhealthy. Watching a man nearly 400 lbs. eating bisquits and gravy really did me in!!! I couldn't even go to the breakfast the following day knowing that the options were extremely high carb foods and really unhealthy. The second night I hardly slept at all. There was a family reunion and people were running and slamming doors all night. I really wanted to just go home so bad--felt like writing a song--a sad song about this place, cause man there wasn't much good about it. The only positive I can say is that the room was clean thank goodness. But, feeling like you're stranded somewhere cause there aren't any other places much better (based on reviews) is not a good feeling. We did however enjoy Cedar Point. IT was the hightlight of our vacation. The kids had a blast on the roller coasters and the park was amazingly organized, clean and safe!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabulous26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I took a roady from Chicago to Cedar Point, Ohio. We had no idea where to stay. While en route we checked out a few hotels in Sandusky and the Best Western looked good. We booked the room with ease and checked in with no problem. The suite was clean and ready to go. No problems at all with the room.
The front desk staff was, well, cool. They knew we were there for the amusement park and they answered all of our touristy questions without sounding annoyed. They told us the best rides, best way to get to the park, and what to do after.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to Cedar Point.
The only negative, though minor, is that when we booked over the phone they told us there was an outdoor pool and pool bar. Not so. The pool and pool bar ware at the Comfort Inn next door. Not a big deal but be honest.
One last thing: they have an old school pinball machine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RawShock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This Best Western is a lot nicer than the other BWs I've stayed at. We are a family of 8, so we asked for adjoining rooms. Tip- if you reserve online, call the hotel after you make your reservation and tell them you want adjoining rooms. We were on the 1st floor and had no issues with noise from the hallway or the parking lot outside. High ceilings, 2 double beds in each room, small sitting area with sofa and coffee table, microwave, and refrigerator. Complimentary breakfast in the morning which consisted of cereal, pastries, yogurt, waffles, country sausage gravy & biscuit, juice, coffee, and tea. Lots of restaurants nearby for dinner.

I would recommend this hotel over the ones that are part of the Cedar Point property, even if it is a 10 minute drive from the park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerwatersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Like most visitors to the area we came for a visit to Cedar Point. Our hotel rooms (2) were clean, the front desk staff was helpful and overall it was a good experience for our two-night stay. This by no means is a destination resort, but it serves its purpose well.

The smallish breakfast area can get crowded, especially on weekends. Walking across the parking lot to an adjoining property to use a pool may be an inconvenience for adults, but it didn't seem to bother most of the kids who happily raced back and forth. Most chain restaurants, a Wal Mart and a Sams Club are nearby. There also is a 36-hole putt putt golf course with a go-kart track a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I read all of the reviews on this hotel before I booked the room. It had the best reviews for the price. I'm so glad I did! It was a wonderful hotel. It was clean. The service was excellent. The staff was a pleasure to deal with. They handled my late check in with style and grace. The facility was classy. The room was homey and, as I said before, was very clean. Breakfast was as good as you can expect for continental. This was a great place to stay after a full day of play at Cedar Point. The location was perfect (right off of the highway). It was easy to find. I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellsjeepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.6 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-5869 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing