We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little on the small side, but lots of fun”

Castaway Bay Waterpark
Ranked #8 of 37 things to do in Sandusky
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This resort features the largest indoor waterpark in Ohio.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little on the small side, but lots of fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This place could use a bit of an expansion, because it seems that you run out of things to do rather quickly, if you're only going for the water park. There are plenty of other things to do around the resort like restaurants and some shopping, but I'd like to see a Lazy River and a swim up bar for the adults.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoshWozny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    104
    61
    18
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Great for the youngsters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My family and I went to Castaway Bay just 4 days ago. We stayed in the Tarpon Suite (HIGHLY recommended.. the Starfish rooms SUCK) and they had 2 flat screen TV's, a microwave, coffee maker, and a huge bathroom. The room was 5 stars. The waterpark was kind of small, I guess I was expecting something bigger. It was fun and my family had a blast so that's all that counts. The lifeguards were active and alert at all times. Food is pricey- I don't suggest eating at the TGI Friday's that is connected (Family of 4 and it costs us $74 + tip) WOW. Bring your own food! Overall, this place was a great get-away and had a beautiful view. Right down the road from Cedar Point.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Smaller park great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's no Kalahari but its does the job!!! It's smaller but still has water slides, wave pool and a kid section. Not to mention an arcade. Not bad for small kids and a fraction of the cost. My room was clean and the staff is nice. It's right besides cedar point so you can stay there and go to the amusement park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mtld28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very very nice - geared towards younger children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

we liked the size of the suite with the bunk beds - we had never seen this layout before. quite nice.
Suggestion - the room with the bunk beds needs a separate thermostat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vbabbsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice perk staying in the hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We picked the hotel because of the water park. you can not go wrong by doing that. It rained and was cold one of the days we were there, so the water park was an awesome fit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sabearfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Bay Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Castaway Bay Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing