We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for smaller kids”

Castaway Bay Waterpark
Ranked #8 of 37 things to do in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This resort features the largest indoor waterpark in Ohio.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for smaller kids”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We like this indoor waterpark much more than the African themed one also in the area. This one is smaller which means it is warmer in the winter and less chaotic. Smaller children enjoy this park better since you don't have adults and rowdy teens running all over the place. It is more laid back. And much easier to keep track of your kids too! This place is not as loud and busy. The hotel is very nice and the activities they offer for kids are great too! The price is reasonable and we don't end up spending a ton of money like we do at the other place. If you are looking for a nice little weekend retreat this is your place to come!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank danceswithjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    106
    63
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Out and About”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My grandson and I visited this waterpark while staying at Cedar Point. It took us almost an hour to pick up our wrist bands. One big plus we enjoyed was the wave pool. But otherwise, we didn't find the park to be much more than average.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Visit”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Enjoyed everything about the water park.There was areas for all ages.My wife and I enjoyed the hot tub,especially when we found out that we could sit outside or inside.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, crowded and not enough seating”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very small, not a lot of rides. Geared more for a family with small children. Long check in lines, staff was minimally friendly. Food pricing is outrageous and not good. Go off site for fast food or a nice restaurant. For price go to another park, like Kalihari.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Liebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Attentive life guards and clean pool”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The kids loved it, and we were impressed with the emphasis on safety in the water park. Chlorine levels were maintained in spite of crowding, and they cut off day passes while we were standing in line for check in, so we know the pool was at capacity.
Hotel check in procedure could have been more efficient by simply having more than two people behind the desk on one of the busiest days of the year - Good Friday.
We enjoyed it and will go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ohio_traveler_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Bay Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Castaway Bay Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing