We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, crowded and not enough seating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Bay Waterpark

Castaway Bay Waterpark
Ranked #8 of 37 things to do in Sandusky
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This resort features the largest indoor waterpark in Ohio.
Avon, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, crowded and not enough seating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very small, not a lot of rides. Geared more for a family with small children. Long check in lines, staff was minimally friendly. Food pricing is outrageous and not good. Go off site for fast food or a nice restaurant. For price go to another park, like Kalihari.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Liebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    104
    60
    18
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Attentive life guards and clean pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The kids loved it, and we were impressed with the emphasis on safety in the water park. Chlorine levels were maintained in spite of crowding, and they cut off day passes while we were standing in line for check in, so we know the pool was at capacity.
Hotel check in procedure could have been more efficient by simply having more than two people behind the desk on one of the busiest days of the year - Good Friday.
We enjoyed it and will go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ohio_traveler_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What you get is what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Relatively cheap as compared to Kalahari but very small with few rides. Fun nonetheless. Would recommend it to people who want few hours of waterpark fun and dont want to pay much.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saurabh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another Waterpark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not a bad place, but average in my opinion. This one is geared more towards the younger kids with not as much for the older kids.

Helpful?
Thank NJCost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect for our 2 1/2 year old & us!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights & had a wonderful time. It was much better then I expected. It is like a true Resort which is really nice. We had breakfast @ Mango Mike's, this was pretty good, but nothing great. It could have been hotter. But the atmosphere was really nice & the staff here was great. We had TGIFriday's both nights for dinner. Castaway bay really focuses on the little ones w/ story time w/ snoopy & dance party w/ Lucy. The rooms are basic hotel rooms w/ nice balconies. Not luxurious but perfect for the rate we were charged. The microwave & fridge are nice to have. We had no problems w/lines and most of all the theme of the Resort is perfect w/o being cheesy. The details in the décor are so nice. Like I said, it's a resort not just a hotel. I can't wait to go back!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2012Happy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Bay Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Castaway Bay Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing