We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
London, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A perfect choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were planning on visiting Cedar Point during Labour Day weekend and found Breakers Express to be an affordable and convienent choice for the family. Located just down the road from Cedar Point on Cedar Point Drive making it a short drive to the park to help get a jump on your day at the park. Our package included a day pass to the park, free parking at the park and 2 nights stay at Breakers Express and also 2 buffet breakfasts at Mango Mikes located in Castaway Bay across the street from Breakers Express. The rooms were normal size the beds were comfortable. There is also a heated outdoor pool which we didn't find to be very warm and at 3 1/2 feet at the deepest point it's easy to scrape your feet and a whirlpool which was nice and warm and relaxing yet busy. There is also a lifeguard on duty which is a good idea with so many children as guests.
If we return to Cedar Point in the future we will likely stay at Breakers Express.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_Christine2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    349
    201
    116
    91
See reviews for
579
100
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for one night after going to Cedar Point. I was very reluctant to stay here because of the reviews but it seemed to have the best reviews compared to Hotel Breakers and Sandcastle Suites and we wanted a CP property. The room was ready when we arrived at 9 am. There were two staff members at the desk and we only waited a couple of minutes to be helped. We thought the lobby and other areas of the hotel we could see looked more than adequate. Our room was great. It was clean, we had hot water, the tv worked - we didn't care whether it was flat screen or not as long as it worked! I checked the sheets just out of curiousity and they were maybe 4 inches too short. I am 5' 6" and my feet did not reach down to that area so had I not read it here, I would never have known. The only thing that fell short were the pillows - they were flat but I called housekeeping when we arrived back from the park and they brought extras up to us, so that took care of that problem. The pool and hot tub area was clean. They had towels in the building for pool use. There were plenty of chairs. We have stayed in plenty of 5* motels/resorts as well as plenty of 3-4*s and we found absolutely nothing wrong with this place - even the price was fair considering the proximity to the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location less than a mile from Cedar Point, and right across from Castaway Bay. The staff were very professional and extraordinarily friendly. The room was of average size. A sweet aroma akin to caramel corn greeted me as I entered the room. The decor was in bright colors which was fitting for a Cedar Point resort, although a bit dated. Abstract modern art adorned the walls matching the bright colors of the room. The mattress was firm but comfortable. The only cleanliness issues I saw were several long hairs on the bathroom door frame and a couple of stains on the walls. Overall, I would stay there again because it is the best value of the Cedar Point hotels, and if you're going to Cedar Point you're not spending much time in your hotel room anyways.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyrosado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Family stayed 8/19/12 to 8/25/12 & booked 3 rooms. Beds were rock hard, mold in the bathrooms, sheets didn't fit (still using flat sheets for the bottom,) pillows were old & flat, TV was old (for the price we expected a flat screen, I guess,) no microwave/fridge avail for these rooms, front desk manager on duty (8/19 at 7pm) told us what he couldn't do instead of what he could do. After some pressing, he made the necessary calls to accomodate the issue. Housekeeping was great. Breakfast & servers at Mango Mikes were great. Pool was nice but was less than 4ft deep. Free parking & early admission into the park was great. Kids loved the coasters. Soak City was fun. Dinosaurs Alive was cool.

In general, although this is Cedar Point's economy hotel, one should be able to expect that staying on a property offers a better experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SusanC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Windsor
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Hotel is pretty decent but the rooms need some updating, had a tube TV and beds are getting worn. Overall the building is okay and the walls seem thick as I could not hear my neighbors. Dairy Queen and McDonald's within a short walk . Free WIFI and has an outdoor pool and hot tub and my room was clean and check in was fast and they had my room ready at 9:00am when I had stopped to get my tickets to the park.

When Booking for cedar point you get early entry and tickets for $32 (reg $45) and free parking at the park valid until your check out date ($12 a day) for a family of five we saved $77 for these perks which makes staying here a better value then staying at other hotels. We also had the option of getting into Cast Away bay waterpark for $10 a person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I planned a trip to Cedar Point for my husband and I and two other couples. Even though I was a little skeptical,Breakers express seemed to have the best deal (early entry, parking pass, discounted tickets..) so we decided to stay here. NEVER AGAIN!!! the other two couples decided to stay from friday to sunday but my husband and I drove down saturday morning. When we arrived the front desk was very helpful. They gave us our park tickets and parking voucher and even allowed us to check in at 8am. this was probably the only good part of the hotel. upon arriving to the room we were greeted by stained walls and old decor. the bathroom counters were dingy and it looked to be a dead bug behind the toilet. we pulled the sheets back on one of the beds and they seemed clean. Since my husband felt the room was sufficient ( I did not) to sleep in for one night, we headed for the park. speaking with the other couples we invited, they stated their rooms felt the same way. one of the wives even slept fully clothed because she was so uncomfortable in her room. After a long day at the park, My husband and I came back to the room to find the biggest fly we had ever seen! we tried for 10 minutes to kill it but it dissappeared. my husband then sat on the bed to make a phone call to the front desk. as he pulled back the covers a giant spider flew from inside the bed to greet him. Now feeling uneasy, he then pulled back the covers of the other bed to find that the fly had been hiding in there, possibly laying eggs in the bed!! we immediately called the front desk and told them we needed a new room. They gave us a room on the second floor and came to the room to inspect and make sure there were no bugs in the room. The walls were still stained but it seemed slightly cleaner than the previous room. Because of pure exhaustion we decided to take the room. After being at an amusement park all day in 90 degree heat all you want to do is take a shower right? WRONG! when I turned on the shower I soon realized that the drain was extremely slow. the water never went out of the bath tub. My husband and I literally had to stand next to the shower and get cleaned off because we did not want to put our feet in the tub. who knows if the dingy tub was even clean before we ran the water! we ended up sleeping with no covers and the light on all night to make sure nothing came crawling out. The discounts we received for the park are definitely NOT worth staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor seemed cleaner but none of the rooms are really "clean"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adorabletify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are going to Cedar Point this is a great place to stay. Don't expect anymore than that.
The good:
- It was clean and did the job of providing a place to sleep.
- Pool looked nice, didn't go in it though. It had a lifeguard

The bad:
- Check-in went smooth and we ordered a roll-away bed to be delivered and paid for it up front. This was at 9pm (we checked in after the park closed). We went for a late dinner to TGI Fridays right across the road (great drink specials btw). Came back and got into the room around 11:30pm. The bed wasn't there. Called down to the front desk, explained that we ordered a rollaway bed to be delivered to the room and that it wasn't there yet. The lady then proceeded to say "We have been very busy tonight; we even have overbooked the hotel. The bed will be there as soon as we can get it there" and she hangs up on me.

First off, it's 11:30pm at night, when is as soon as we can get there mean? Also, what do I care that you overbooked the hotel and you have guests in the lobby?

Anyways, we went down to the laundry/service room and found an employee walking up and down the floor. We asked him if he would bring us a roll-away bed up to our room and that we would just like to go to sleep. We walked with him and the roll-away bed up to our room and he was extremely apologetic and said that he would see to it that we got our money back for the bed. Which we did go down and get our money back with no hassle.

My only suggestion is to improve the front desk manners; a small gripe but something that happened at the end of an otherwise fantastic trip to Cedar Point!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stober_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.3 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.7 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Express Hotel

Property: Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Address: 1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870-5201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Point's Express Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming in 2017, Breakers Express receives a complete makeover and transforms into Cedar Point's Express Hotel! 69 new rooms will be added to the popular overnight haven. All guest rooms feature two queen beds and will be completely renovated with new bathrooms and bedding, mini fridges, microwaves and connecting family suites for additional time to spend together. In the center of the property, a new splash pad and an outdoor courtyard featuring conversational living spaces will join the whimsical swimming pool and relaxing deck area. The closest hotel to the Cedar Point Peninsula, the Express Hotel offers you real comfort and competitive room rates that make it easier to make the most of your Cedar Point getaway. Many visitors stay at the Express Hotel the night before their big park day, so they can start right in on the fun. Or you may choose to stay late at the park and spend that night in one of our comfortable guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Point's Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Express Hotel Sandusky
Hotel Breakers Sandusky
Cedar Point's Express Hotel Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing