We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average bar food and atmosphere”
Review of Pier 684 - CLOSED

Pier 684
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average bar food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Large menu but was kind of expensive for bar food. Atmosphere was a little outdated, but still nice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MegKels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I used to love this restaurant when it was Damon's because it is a great spot to sit and dine by the water and see Sandusky Bay and Cedar Point. However, it not the same now. The view is still great, but the experience overall is lacking, I am sad to say. The food was okay, nothing spectacular and a bit high priced. We had sandwiches and drinks, but we had to ask for silverware and when we got there we were told it might be awhile for a menu. They were not busy, but had a large party in the back and had no "extra" menus! It might be a nice place to go and have a drink by the bay, but the overall restaurant seemed sad. The tables and windows seemed dirty and the there were many areas that just seemed worn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good views”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went here for some seafood and that was a disappointment. There is not that much seafood on the menu. What they did have was very tasty. My guys had bque ribs and they were great. I have alfredo and it was nice. The best thing about this place is the view. It is on a pier and the sunset over the boats is just wonderful. You also get a view of Cedar Point in the distance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We like the outside bar on the deck by the water.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have had a few meals at both the outside bar and up stairs. The staff is always friendly to us, however on numerous occasions we have stood at the front with other patrons starring at waitresses sitting down folding napkins and ignoring the folks waiting for a seat.
Customers should be greeted IMMEDIATELY when they enter, and if need be, their name taken with an explanation of how long until the can be seated. Had 3 times we brought friends and they thought the same thing. Food was very good once you get someone to come and seat you.
Downstairs is much better. Especially when they have entertainment.
Nice venue. Hope it stays and gets better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They went out of their way for us”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant is right on the pier with a beautiful view out over the lake and the boats at the pier. it's on the second floor of the building. The interior is nothing special and all the seating is in booths. We came right before sunset and despite the cloudy skies the sunset was gorgeous from the second story windows of the restaurant.

We had a group of 25 and we were accommodated in a separate area of the restaurant where they put tables in a large square. Our reservation was set for after the regular dining rush, so we had a lot of personal attention. The prices were a little higher than average, but the food was excellent. I would eat here again if I was in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1-SLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 684 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing