We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very fun place!”
Review of Thirsty Pony

Thirsty Pony
Ranked #9 of 183 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Madison, Ohio, United States
1 review
“A very fun place!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

About 20 of my family members meet at The Thirsty Pony for dinner and fun. It is always a great experience. There is a great variety of food and drink, the prices are reasonable and the service is excellent!! They never rush us and always accommodate our varied requests!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    159
    69
    16
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeport, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Convienient place”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Felt like this place could have been cleaner with better upkeep. Proximity to CP is good though. No horrible just could be better.

Helpful?
Thank backstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great local spot right by the park!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Castaway Bay hotel which is right across from this restaurant. I'm a horse fan so anything named the Thirsty Pony we had to try. The atmosphere was great, with lots of decorations and things to look at. It had live betting on horse racing so at any time you can see multiple races happening. Our waiter was nice and helpful and the food was delicious. Reasonably priced for the type of food it was, and the portions were big also. There is a bar connected on the porch that's the Drunken Donkey, didn't get any drinks so not sure how those were but the name was clever. But the food was good, the atmosphere was great, and it was better than going to a chain that I could go to any time locally. Worth a stop in!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheffoodie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Food in Cedar Point!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to the Thirsty Pony every night after Cedar Point. The food was so delicious and the drinks were the best that I have ever had. I cannot wait to go back next year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 859Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The wings and pizza were some of the best I have ever had!!! They also have a great selection of beers to choose from. You can also bet on the horses while you are there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hothitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thirsty Pony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing