We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neil Zerka's 1 tank trip favorite stop”
Review of East Side Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
East Side Cafe
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Amherst, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Neil Zerka's 1 tank trip favorite stop”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Place is packed with boaters on the week ends. May take a bit to get your food, but over all it's good. Sit in the back and watch the TV play all the oldie TV shows. Lots of great specials.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best burger around”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is our absolutely #1 go to spot for burgers! Every Wednesday they are on special and no way can you make a burger at home taste so good. The fries and onion rings are also fabulous! East Side is a well kept secret, but one worth sharing. It is small and the wait staff are very friendly. It feels like home every time we go and we hardly miss a Wednesday burger night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It's all good! Lunch and Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We ate here twice during our 4 days in Sandusky. We stopped for lunch when we saw that they serve six different homemade soups every day. The chili had a wonderful flavor and served piping hot. The BLT was wonderful...excellent bacon is the secret. We liked it so much we decided to return for the Sunday Brunch. Wow....what an array of food. Something for everyone, including made to order French toast and pancakes. Since the turtle soup was not ready at our lunch visit, the cook brought out a bowl of turtle soup for my husband. Now, that is real customer service! This place has been in the same house since the early 1900s and you don't want to miss it! We love it when we find good local places and are not eating in chain restaurants. I assure you that you will not be disappointed with anything you order. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MokoPeoria_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, OH, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Today was probably our 5th time eating here. You really think it's a dive; but the food is outstanding. Today we had breakfast here & it was packed. I tried the LA cinnamon toast, which was possibly one of the best things I've ever had for breakfast. Also got a side of home fries with onions. My husband had a pretty standard 2 eggs, potatoes, sausage (which was awesome) & toast. The bill was $10! really!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherryOrndorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Fancy but a lot of tasty food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The East Side Café is certainly nothing fancy. It can be loud and crowded. However, they serve a lot of food and the food is excellent. Their blueberry pancakes are to die for! Prices are very reasonable also. Hours are different in that they close at 8 p.m. but you can't go wrong going there if you are hungry and want good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wmorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing