We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star restaurant in Sandusky Ohio”

Baci Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Baci Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 184 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Junction US250 & RT2
Description: Baci Restaurant & Bar is an Italian fine dining restaurant and nightclub located in the heart Lake Erie Shores & Islands of Sandusky, Ohio. Born & raised in Italy, Carmelo Ruta, Executive Chef, in the kitchen, Baci Restaurant & Bar combines the best of old and new world thinking, to create a wonderful full-flavored and well-rounded menu.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star restaurant in Sandusky Ohio”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is one of the best Italian restaurants my wife and I have ever eaten at. The actual menu looks small, however the choices are unlimited as they will prepare any meat or seafood dish to your specifications. We never expected this restaurant in the Comfort Inn. The waiter had a great personality and was quite a character. The waiter brought out a tray of meats and seafood, then you select what you want and how you want it cooked.We began with the Caprese appetizer, which was prepared perfectly. The meal came with a salad and homemade dressing. We both ordered veal parmesan that was pounded down and kept on the bone, and it had a taste that my sicilian grandmother would have delighted over. The portion size was huge, and I've never seen veal parmesan served this way, what a treat. This would be a five star restaurant in New York City. Gentlemen thank you for an exquisite meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
And thank YOU for the wonderfully amazing five-star rating and review of your recent dining experience with us at Baci. Our goal is to provide the very best quality food in an atmosphere that is unique with a knowledgeable and friendly staff. It sounds as if we achieved that goal in your case and really appreciate your sharing with us (and the world!) your positive experience with us.

We really appreciate your business and can't wait to have you be our guest again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    36
    10
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best deal around Sandusky”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We wanted to find an Italian Restaurant to get pasta before our Half Marathon on Sunday and stopped into Baci Saturday night. We could not believe the amount of food that we received for the price that we did. Little did we know for $15 we would be receiving Salad, a cheese plate, bruschetta, and our pasta. Needless to say we will certainly be revisiting here when we come back to Cedar Point. Thank you for the great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank YOU for giving us the opportunity to provide such wonderful service and a wonderful dining experience to you! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and even more wonderful to hear that you'll be coming back...hopefully soon!

Thanks for choosing to spend some time with us and to let others know of your positive experience. We appreciate your business and hope to see you many times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had Better For The Price”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I got in to the hotel around 9pm on Thursday June 26th. Hungry after a 7 hour drive, we went down to Baci to get a meal and beverage. We sat down at the bar at 9:30. Atmosphere and overall appearance was nice. Bartender was nice enough, but he made sure to tell us they were closing in a half hour so we better order quick. OK then..so we ordered a Cosmopolitan and a Long Island Ice Tea to drink. Long island was good, Cosmo was way too strong. For meals we ordered the Lake Erie Perch and the Al Forno pasta. The perch wasn't bad, could have been seasoned a little more. The Al Forno though was terrible. Meat was "eh" and bland, the pasta was overcooked, and the sauce was absolutely terrible. No flavor, bland, and terribly watery! Sauce would just run off the pasta, wouldn't stick to it at all, and had about the same consistency of the drinks we were having. When we advised the bartender of this, he apologized that it wasn't good, but that's it. No offer to get something else, did not comp our bill for the bad food...and given how much the cost of this meal was that was extremely disappointing.

I rate this as high as "Poor" simply for the ambiance of the establishment. The rest was very poor. Don't know if everyone had given up by that point since they were "closing in a half hour", but that's very disrespectful to your customers. Huge disappointment! I write this from my hotel room that we are staying in until Tuesday morning, and we will not be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent dining experience at Baci. This is DEFINITELY NOT what we're used to hearing. As you probably know, we've been the #1 restaurant in the Sandusky area on TripAdvisor for several years and have won the Certificate of Excellence. I'm really very sorry for the experience that you encountered and want to assure you that our management is looking into this and will make the necessary corrections so that other future guests do not have a similar experience.

I'm hopeful that you'll treat this as a very isolated incident and give us the opportunity in the future to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I am going to leave the speculation regarding the Ferrari and Masserati permanently parked in front of this establishment out of this review, although they make interesting dinner conversation. Our meal at Baci was simply one of the most memorable and delicious I have ever experienced. EVER. Vince is the quintessential server and salesman - excellent suggestions and service. Keep in mind, you are in the lobby of a Comfort Inn so don't go there for the ambiance! DO go for top notch food and drink. I have been around the food business for a very long time, Baci is the real deal! Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
You're right--Baci IS the real deal! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us--especially knowing that you've been around the food business yourself for a long time. We're glad you chose to spend some time with us and, rest assured, your kind words will be passed on to Vince!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Old style fine dining”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Although you walk into a bit of a time warp, the people greeting us were very friendly and welcoming. Vince, our waiter was half the entertainment. His enthusiasm and attentiveness was refreshing among an area full of chain restaurants and mediocre service. Music playing in the Sinatra era completed the old style feel.

The food was very good but far larger portions than we could have ever consumed. They are happy to do special requests and actually encourage you that they will basically make whatever you want from a very nice array of Italian, meat and seafood choices. If you want to escape chain food while in Sandusky, this is the answer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank craftyonekazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your outstanding review of your recent dining experience with us at Baci. We're so happy that you were pleased not only with our wonderful staff, but also with a menu selection that can't be beat. We strive to make every one of our guests have a true dining EXPERIENCE--ambiance, good food, and friendly staff. Sounds as if we achieved our goal in your case!

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us and with others. We hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baci Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Baci Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing