We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great independent joint”

Chet & Matt's Pizza
Ranked #4 of 180 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great independent joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great pizza. This was out 2nd time there visiting from out of town.
Nice people
Not a cookie cutter chain

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jp5o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    120
    42
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

It was a little busy but the pizza was amazing! The owner came out and talked to all of the customers and was extremely friendly and personal. The wait staff was kind and took very good care of us.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Independent Pizza Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found this on TripAdvisor and thought we would give it a whirl! We were not dissappointed! The staff was very friendly and accomodating! The pizza was inventive and tasted wonderful! It was a perfect end to a long day at the waterpark! So glad we ventured out and took a chance on this place! Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Startertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a drive for Chet & Matt's Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found this place by searching tripadvisor, and we couldn't be happier! Now, you have to understand that my husband is, what I like to call, a "Pizza Snob." He can't choke down the $5 "garbage" (as he calls it), that me and the kids do fine with on an average Friday night. But, I must agree with him, that Chet & Matt's Pizza is among the best we have ever tasted. The nice thing, too, is that you can get a small, personal pizza (it's cut into rectangles, about six to eight pieces), for around $7. That includes the fancier pizzas. So, my husband and I can each get what we like (he likes the spicy stuff, and me not so much). My favorite is the Chicken Alfredo Pizza (with the tomatoes and broccoli), and his is the Two Brother's Special, which is almost too spicy for him (unheard of before now). The service is hot and cold there, though, so sometimes you have to wait just for them to take your order. And, when we are there with two kids under age 6, that can get dangerous. :-) But, still, it's worth the risk, to get some of that phenomenal pizza!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Open a store in Monroe, Mi:) please. ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I gotta give um 2 thumbs up... very good pizza and the bbq boneless wings were awesome! The price was high but what isnt in Sandusky right. I definitely advise people to experience the goodness... Also my delivery was very prompt and with real professional drivers, he was kind and I was able to give him a nice tip thank you for your time and effort you put in regards to my feelings and thoughts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAWARDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chet & Matt's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing