We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience”

Mekong Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine
Ranked #11 of 180 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The staff were not friendly and little rude I would say. We were not given the menu card for first 15 minutes then he did not return for the order for a very long time. We ordered for quail bbq. It was served chill cold. When asked about it the waiter readily agreed to serve a fresh plate and a fresh plate returned in less than 5 minutes. The quail was very rubbery. I guess it was oven heated. I ordered margarita and when I asked for a repeat he took back the same glass added more ice and less of liquor and gave back the same glass. Not sure if they are low of bar wear. We had to wait very very long time for repeat service as well. We felt like not welcomed and left out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devadas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    41
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try something different. VIETNAMESE FOOD. YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

If you've never had Vietnamese food before - it kind of reminded me of Thai Food. It is lighter than Chinese food. It's kind of spicy and sweet. The people that work there are nice to. Check it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garthebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Vietnamese like beer?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently visited the restaurant Mekong in Sandusky. Atmosphere was nice and we were greeted fairly quickly upon arrival. Alexa, our waitress, was exceptional. Very knowledgeable on the menu items and helpful on choices. We enjoyed the Pho Tai (Beef) and the Ga Xao Sa Ot (Chicken with lemongrass sauce). Both were enjoyable but enjoyed the chicken dish more. Pho was good and the broth is made overnight daily per Alexa. Missed some of the vegetables that I've enjoyed with other Pho dishes. The dishes are very authentic though. Our waitress even said they all need to be able to write the order in Vietnamese for the chef in order to work there! Lots and lots of beer choices although we opted for the Jasmine Green Tea that was tasty! Would definitely return to this restaurant and would highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Beer, with great Asian food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The food here is exceptional. The pho is so good and filling. The spring rolls are delicious. You may come for the food but the real draw is beer. They have an unbelievable array of craft beer from all over. I have never seen so many differing beers in one place.
The staff is genuinely glad to see you and make sure you want to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLSTCWCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have never been to a vietnamese restaurant before, but beacause this one advertised having 100 beers, we thought we would give it a try. I highly recommend it!! We had the crispy pork spring rolls, yellow pancake, and beef pho. All of them were amazing. The service was great as well. And the beer selection was good too. I tried a flight of different tap beers, hubby picked his fav bottled craft beer. All in all a good experience and considreing how bad most customer service seems to be in Sandusky, I was very pleasantly suprised.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Mekong Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing