We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”
Review of Dockside Cafe

Dockside Cafe
Ranked #11 of 185 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Description: Located at the City of Sandusky's Paper District Marina, this seasonal concession stand is located along the shore of the Sandusky Bay (off Lake Erie). Drive, walk, bike or boat in for lunch or dinner. Order at the counter, get your beverage, and your name will be called when your order is ready! Beautiful sunsets... one of the best spots in town to enjoy the view.
Restaurant details
Description: Located at the City of Sandusky's Paper District Marina, this seasonal concession stand is located along the shore of the Sandusky Bay (off Lake Erie). Drive, walk, bike or boat in for lunch or dinner. Order at the counter, get your beverage, and your name will be called when your order is ready! Beautiful sunsets... one of the best spots in town to enjoy the view.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It was okay”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were staying at the condos next door and I was really excited to try this place based on the reviews. The food was average. I ordered the famous walleye tacos, they were just "ok". My daughter ordered the cheeseburger and fries and didn't eat it due to some seasoning on it. I think it was rosemary but I wasn't sure. It is pricey but the view is beautiful especially at sunset. Lots of Mosquitos though so wear bug spray.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2travel0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, OH
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice view of the sunset!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We walked down to this location after we had dinner at J Bistro's. We have not eaten here yet but have heard they had good food but we were not in the mood for just sandwiches. My son had a perch taco and thought it was really good. You have to walk up to order your food. We went to have an after dinner drink and to watch the sunset. It was beautiful. I thought i was on an island. I am posting pictures. The atmosphere is fun here. I think it's one of Sandusky newest gems.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GhostlyManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Live music, good food and great vibe!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love outdoor dining and live music, so Dockside Cafe was perfect for me! My family was staying at the Chesapeake Condos right next door so it was very convenient to just walk over, have some tacos, and drink a few beers while we watched the sun go down and listen to live Classic Rock music. Felt like we were in Florida...especially with the sign that says, "Key Mid-West!!" Love it :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The locals summer favorite!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

With the only ALL OUTDOOR seating in downtown Sandusky, Dockside has the best views of Sandusky Bay, Paper District Marina, Coal Docks, Cedar Point & Lake Erie. It’s also the BEST spot to see a beautiful sunset! It has a casual, laid back atmosphere and the food is great. It's open for lunch and dinner, menu is the same and they also have daily specials. The menu isn’t very big due to the small kitchen, but the burgers are very good and so are the tacos. (Try Perch or Walleye for a Lake Erie favorite!) The salads are also very good and large in size. (the owners also own Zinc & CRUSH Winebar in downtown Sandusky) You walk up and place your order and sit at picnic tables, small round tables or Adirondack chairs. They also have take-ou. They have “Sunset Happy Hour” from 8 – 9 PM, and a rum punch special if there is a freighter in the Bay. They also have a nice beer selection. The marina has transient dockage, so you can dock your boat at a discount if you’re going to eat at Dockside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 681TracyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“AWESOME place!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

With window service only, and an outside patio, I wasn't expecting much. But the beer (in cans, so bring a coozie!) was cheap, and the walleye and perch tacos were excellent. And you really just can't beat the atmosphere! Overlooking the marina and bay, picnic tables and adirondack chairs, perfect casual evening spot! Not quite off the beaten path, but easily overlooked. Definitely become a "Locals" place, very laid back and relaxing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dockside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing