We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farrell House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Sandusky(Sandusky)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$111
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Sandusky)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point(Sandusky)(Great Value!)
$89
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
60
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutb bbed and breakfastchain hotelsspring fedmature treeskelley's islandcedar pointa wonderful stayshort driveeach morningplace to stayenjoyed our staynext morningdrivewayjukeboxproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 63 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My daughter, husband, and I planned a trip to Sandusky to visit the Kalahari waterpark. We decided to stay at the Farrell House Lodge as we thought it would be a nice escape from the chaos of Spring Break. We were in awe! The property is beautiful and the rooms were full of character and charm. We stayed in room 1 which was perfect for the 3 of us. It was very roomy and we had a wonderful fireplace to keep us warm. The owner Doug and the staff also provided amazing service. The daily breakfast was delicious as well. I would definetly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing weekend getaway. It was perfect!

Room Tip: Room 1 is great for families with children as it has 2 queen beds.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kasullivan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We discovered Farrell House Lodge online after researching a Sandusky resort that was not highly-rated. Farrell House was listed as the top Bed and Breakfast in the area, and we had enjoyed staying at B & B's in the past. From the time we turned onto the winding drive , we felt like we were entering a past era. The house, built by an industrialist for his wife, offered a glimpse of its former glory in a natural setting where trout could be seen swimming in a crystal stream. The interior of the house was graced with whimsical décor befitting the Sunnybrook Trout Club, whose members mingled with guests. Our host, Doug, was a knowledgeable source of information about restaurants and nearby attractions; we especially enjoyed Firelands Winery nearby and a trip to the quaint Marblehead peninsula. We enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast on an enclosed patio with several guests, and agreed that we would love to return another time for a longer getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The lodge is charming with spacious accommodations; the grounds are serenely beautiful, a great place to totally relax and enjoy the scenery. Lodge is very private and rural without being far from a metropolitan area. The weather did not cooperate but we did have a chance to stroll the premises upon arrival and enjoy the quiet peaceful lush grounds and see the trout swimming in the meandering brook. For nineteen years we have been traveling with our friends on a fall mystery trip, most of those years in a motor home. Upon arrival our driver told us the brakes were not working (again - second time it happened!?!). Doug could not have been more helpful and gracious in accommodating us. The breakfast prepared by the young chef was very good. A delicious lunch was prepared for us after hours because we were stranded without transportation. Doug is the most accommodating, gracious, charming host - - the best!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Temmy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a relaxing weekend at the Farrell House Lodge at Sunnybrook Trout Club near Sandusky. We had a gift certificate that was long expired that the staff still honored.
The grounds of the B&B are beautiful and tranquil. The accommodations at the Farrell House were excellent. Doug and his staff were friendly and available.
There are plenty of nearby attractions for dinner or pleasure. Cedar Point is about 10 minutes away.
We would recommend the Farrell House Lodge highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The ambiance of Farrell House Lodge invites you to come in and relax as soon as you enter the property. The house is tastefully decorated and the acreage is well tended inviting you to wander around just like the trout steam that flows through it. Wine lovers will find that Firelands Winery is within walking distance and Mon Ami is just a short drive away. We will definitely return to the Farrell House and allow for more time to walk on the grounds and just sit and relax in the rocking chairs on the porch or in the library.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kathi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews