We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our mini-honeymoon to Cedar Point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farrell House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Sandusky B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect for our mini-honeymoon to Cedar Point”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My new husband and I decided to take a trip to Cedar Point to get away right after our wedding, and we decided a B&B would be more relaxing (and much nicer) than one of the resort hotels in Sandusky. We lucked out--Farrell House Lodge is just lovely. Doug, the owner, is so welcoming and friendly, and is obviously (and justifiably) proud of his beautiful B&B. He took the time to help us figure out where to head for our first dinner in town, and when we said we wanted to take a look around the grounds, he suggested a nice route for an evening walk.

Our room (#3) was large and comfortable, with a big bed, comfy chairs, tv on the wall, and plenty of closet and drawer space. (There's also free wi-fi, and we never had any trouble finding or keeping a signal.) There were lots of nice little touches around the B&B that we appreciated, too--for example, the tower fan in the bedroom closet (perfect for sleep-enabling white noise), the plastic cups in the bathroom for late-night drinks of water, and the incredibly well-stocked self-serve, honor-system snack bar on the ground floor.

Breakfast both of the mornings we were there was fantastic--coffee ready for us when we came downstairs, and several breakfast options to choose from. The first morning, we went with eggs, ham, toast and fruit, but I can't tell you what my husband had for breakfast the second morning, because all I can remember is my angel food french toast. (Yes, you read that right: ANGEL FOOD FRENCH TOAST. I now can't imagine why anyone would ever make French toast out of anything else. I don't know how often they serve it, but you should DEFINITELY request it.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spizzlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We choose to stay at Farrell House after a failed effort at finding a B&B on Kelleys Island--and what a wonderful surprise! The owner was very flexible and welcoming. As soon as we drove up I said it looked like "Twelve Oaks" from Gone With the Wind. The building has so much charm on the 150 acres it sits on. Our room was a huge suite with its own bathroom. It had a fireplace and large windows that overlooked the property and the properties large trout stocked lake.

Breakfast is buffet style, and though not an extravagant delicacy that you may find at a B&B on Kelley's Island, was plentiful and had plenty to offer for two vegetarians.

I would definitely visit again when I return to the Sandusky area and would spend more time exploring the vast and deliciously lush grounds.

Room Tip: We were in room 5, king size bed with bathroom ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millwood, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently stayed at Farrell House on our way from Pittsburgh to Ann Arbor. Our room was very comfortable & clean, breakfast was tasty and enjoyable. But the key highlight of the visit was wandering through the 130+ acres of Sunnybrook. Such a beautiful place. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrbeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently spent the night here before a trip to cedar point. I recommend showing up early so you can enjoy the beautiful grounds and play pool in the games room with the old juke box. Our bedroom and bathroom (attached) were very modern, comfortable, and clean. The walls are a little thin, but it wasn't a problem. Doug and Linda were very nice and the French toast at breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend staying here on a trip to Sandusky.

Room Tip: Call Doug and ask. He's more than happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Put-in-Bay was our targeted destination (for my wifes birthday) and I really wanted to stay someplace relatively central to both the Sandusky and Port Clinton areas. My only prerequisite was to try and stay away from the big "generic" hotels that are packed to the seams with guests destined for Cedar Point coupled with how we love to try out different B&B's throughout the area.

Enter Farrell House Lodge.

Very easy to get to, pretty much at an intersection of Rt 2 and Rt 6. When you pull into the property you realize the breadth of the estate. As you cross over a wooden bridge at the front of the driveway, you can't help but notice the winding lazy streams that criss-cross throughout the expansive acreage. But more about the property later ...

OMG!!! What a FANTASTIC and beautiful B&B!! Our proprietor, Doug, was there to meet us upon our arrival, giving us the tour of the Farrell House after showing us to our room (we stayed in Room #1). He took the time to explain the lineage of the house itself (once owned by the granddaughter of the man who founded Maxwell House coffee), and made us feel comfortable from our first step inside.

Room #1 was h-u-g-e!!! Two big beds (not sure if king or queen, but HUGE), plus enough area to spead out your suitcases and/or relax with a glass of local wine while enjoying the fireplace ... or just sitting back to take in the commanding view through the windows that overlooked the rear of the property.

Exploring the house, Doug had showed us a painting of a huge oak tree, which can be found in the back of the property, purported to be the biggest in the State. Definitely take the time to go explore ... grab a stroll to view the spring fed lake (straight from the Blue Hole, for those of you that remember that attraction) and streams. You can walk for hours if you like, following the curvy stream while looking for trout. Yes, for the outdoorsmen, trout fishing is also available ... and we saw many folks dipping a line while we were walking about. Doug also offered the use of kayaks or boats to guests, so feel free to paddle around the huge lake.

Breakfast in the morning was superb, we had decided to eat on the sun room porch. Filling and very tasty, with a talented chef in the kitchen making all the goodies.

Rates were about what you'd expect to pay for a good B&B ... no surprises ... and guarantee you'll be shelling out about as much cash to stay anywhere near the Point. But I also guarantee you won't be staying anywhere as nice :)

We had spent a Saturday in Put-in-Bay, taking the Jet Express out of Port Clinton, then heading to the Farrell House for the evening. Very close drive, probably only 25-minutes or so from the Jet Express parking area. And, for those that want to stay to use it as a launch pad for Cedar Point, its probably equally as close.

My only mistake, I would have shortened my stay on Put-in-Bay to spend more time here. But that's OK, because I will be back and won't make that mistake twice!!!

Jeff and Janet

Room Tip: Room #1 was the largest in the corner of the house overlooking back yard, but pretty much all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have never lived in a grand house, but it felt like I did for a few days last week when my family had a mini-reunion at Farrell House Lodge [FHL]. The grounds are picturesque, the bedrooms are charming, and the common areas are large and welcoming. Doug, the owner, does a great job of creating a relaxed atmosphere and was very accommodating, going above and beyond what a hotel chain would have done for our family. (We basically used the house as if it were our own!) I have stayed at bed and breakfasts where staff members "hovered" around us, and thankfully, it was not like that here. Although FHL doubles as The Sunny Brook Trout Club, we found the club members we came in contact with to be welcoming and even helpful.
I also appreciate that FHL policy doesn't exclude children. We enjoyed kayaking in the lake, playing pool, walking the beautiful grounds, playing games in the library, rocking on the gorgeous front porch, and visiting on the deck. The breakfasts were delicious, and for lunch and dinner, there is a good selection of restaurants nearby including at least one with a substantial gluten-free menu. I am surprised I had never heard of Farrell House Lodge until this summer. It was a God-send for our family, and I am already thinking about when I can make arrangements to go again.

Review by Cindy R.

Room Tip: There are pictures and detailed descriptions of each room on line, so that you may choose the ones y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent a long and lovely weekend at the Farrell House Lodge recently, when we came to Sandusky to visit Cedar Point. We will definitely come back. Our room was very comfortable, the house was peaceful and warm, the other guests were friendly, and Doug, the owner, and his staff were attentive and welcoming. The grounds were charming, with a winding brook lined by weeping willows as its hallmark; we did not have a lot of time to spend fishing or walking the grounds, but will make a point of coming back with more time to do just that. We highly recommend Farrell House Lodge and thank Doug for his hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
296 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farrell House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farrell House Lodge

Property: Farrell House Lodge
Address: 1104 Fremont Ave, Sandusky, OH 44870-9773
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farrell House Lodge is an 1890's replica of a southern styled mansion tucked away on 130 acres of woodlands that are kept as a nature conservancy. Pastoral meadows, meandering streams, and weeping willow trees play host to an abundance of wildlife. The lodge offers 10 comfortable bedrooms, including 3 with fireplaces. A warm, freshly cooked breakfast is served daily. Farrell House is located on the grounds of Sunnybrook Trout Club, a few miles southwest of Sandusky, Ohio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Farrell House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farrell House Lodge Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing