We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Fun With the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Clyde, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight Fun With the Family”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Service was nice even though they were very packed due to a competition that was being held just up the road at another water park. Saundra was very helpful especially when we couldn't locate our room she took the time and walked us over to where it was and even helped by carrying my suitcase up the stairs for me and my family as there was no elevator nearby for us to use. Saundra was very hospitable. We had a fun time with the family. The only thing we found with this experience was that when down at the water park that there was not enough seating available and that the lifeguards need to be also more forceful with the kids in the lazy river when it comes to them obeying the rules. There was a lot of horseplay and I being physically unable to do a lot found that the lazy river was one place I liked to hang out but the kids got a little rambunctious and were running around not even utilizing the inner tubes when they were available. I also did notice a lot of families that would find the inner tubes and noticed them carrying them around with them and would hoard them when they got them. I felt this was not right also. I caught one family carry a double inner tube into the restroom with him. The 4 of us had an overnight stay with a 12 hour day if we chose at the water park the next day. Plus we we received breakfast with our room stay and a lunch voucher for 6 with the water park passes. If we needed to leave to go somewhere and then comeback between the hours of 10am-10pm on that Sat. we were able to with our purchase that day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Renee S:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. we are always interested to know about our guest's experience.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable experience. However, sometimes some of younger guests get a bit too excited.

The package with overnight accommodations, waterpark passes, pizza dinner special and hot breakfast buffet has been well-received by our guests.

We appreciate the kind words about Saundra. She is a wonderful person and is extremely helpful to all of our guests.

Thanks for visiting Maui sands. Your patronage is greatly appreciated. We hope you and your family will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    328
    192
    162
    261
See reviews for
950
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownstown Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a great time. We had a group of 6 families in separate rooms. The hana suite was awesome. The kids really enjoyed the bunkbeds and their own tv in their room. Room was also very clean. All the staff members were very accomodating. Breakfast was excellent. Definently a great value for your money. We would come back again. Doc the greeter was very helpful and friendly as well. The lines for the slides were not bad at all maybe 15 mins tops on Saturday and the place was sold out. Overall great experience.

Room Tip: We were in room 4209 and it was in an excellent location with a view of the waterpark from our windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Jennifer D:

Thanks so much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested in our guest's experience.

We are very pleased that you and your group of six other families enjoyed your visit. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful stay.

We appreciate your kind words about Doc. He is a special person and an excellent ambassador for the resort.

Thanks again for staying at Maui Sands. We hope you and your family will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Upon check-in, I was surprised at the line of people waiting to get a room. We booked our reservation at least two months prior and redeemed a Groupon i had purchased. From the looks of it, everybody had the same idea! After waiting about 20 minutes, my attitude started to change, as customers were waiting, we were greeted by Doc who apologized for the wait. He seems to enjoy working here and i noticed that about employees throughout our visit. I would been waiting longer at kalahari so it wasn't a big deal, just unexpected. Another individual came out with a pizza and offered samples to those waiting in line- i thought that was just nice and excellent customer service. Room was spacious and comfortable, updated and clean. It may have lacked washcloths, extra bar of soap and a few towels, but that is easily remedied. Water park is smaller scale- if you expect Kalahari, then go there! There will be a lazy river which you can actually enjoy because you wont get sprayed, a few water slides, ball pool and hot tub- not a lot more. We were able to find seating both times we went into the park, although Sat eve was a little harder. My kids are ages 4-11 and were able to buddy up and pretty much go on their own, checking back in with us. They were all tall enough to do the lazy river by themselves, so we usually spotted them there. For kids who dont generally get along with their siblings, we were happy to see them watching out for their bro or sis. Mom and dad were able to relax in the hot tub- no, it wasn't that hot, but they seemed to allow kids into it though. That is a plus for our family. My kids dont like to be excluded from hot tubs. Can't say i blame them! Breakfast was an unexpected bonus to us! Whoever is complaining on here about breakfast, i say, "stuff it!" They should have gone somewhere else for breakfast! When we arrived at 7 am, which i recommend, food was piping hot, abundant and fresh. My kids enjoyed the gravy and biscuits. Sure i would have liked some fresh fruit, but i felt pretty privileged that this hotel is feeding all of their guests breakfast as it is! What other water park does that?! Staff at breakfast was friendly and courteous! Second day at the waterpark was relaxing as guests were leaving and the place was less crowded. We ordered our pizza meal that we got with our groupon- again, i cant complain! The six of us had plenty to eat and we were even able to give our kids each a small piece when they were "starving" on our way home. The pasta was fresh and hot although too much spice for kiddos. We could have stayed until the water park closed at 9 pm, but we were whipped and so were the kiddos. If anybody else can offer the deal like we got at Maui sands- allowing 6 of us to stay in their hotel, feed us a couple meals and let us use the water park for around $140, i would try them out too, but that seems pretty unlikely to me! This other review mentions there is no full service restaurant, which is true, but because of that we were able to eat breakfast in the huge area that at one time must have been a full service restaurant. We were also able to eat our pizza meal out there. I think if you want a restaurant, then go out to eat- plenty of them around there! I like the fact that they do not crack down on you for bringing in your own granola bars or teddy Graham's. At kalahari, you are forced to eat their food. If you dont like the grill there, then bring your own sandwich! No one is forcing you to use their grill. Although I saw a lot of people ordering food there, so many people must enjoy the convenience of being able to order a quick bite to eat- pizza ready in 8 min! But, i am not one who goes out of my way to be waited on, so if you are looking for something other then comfort, friendliness and a general feeling of being surrounded by a hard working staff, go to GW or kalahari. My family will return, especially if another groupon like this is offered! Keep it up Maui Sands! You will bring back the people who care about these things!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danjenwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Danjenwalter:

Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to Maui Sands. We are extremely pleased that you had such a wonderful time.

Your endorsement means a great deal to us. Guest recommendations are the best compliment. Our goal is to have parents and children have a great, safe time together at Maui Sands. We are all-about creating family memories.

We hope you will visit us again very soon. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Was initially greeted by Sondra Doc and was made to feel like an old friend. He made sure I knew that if we needed anything we could come to him. The maintenance guys that had to check on our heater were very nice and made our move to a new room effortless. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and knowledgable. Look forward to our next stay in a few months!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy Love S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Amy Love S:

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are always interested to know to know about guest's experience.

We are glad everything went well and received great guest service from our employees.

Doc and Saundra are special people. They are always willing to help and are excellent representatives for the resort.

Thanks again for visiting Maui Sands. Your patronage is very important to us. We hope you and your family will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Over all everything was great, but there were a few things that we didn't like. One being is our first night there our heat went out, we woke up freezing. There were a few other people that had the same problem, The other thing was that when making our reservations we were not informed that the floor that we were staying on did not have elevators, we had to carry all of our bags up a flight of stairs and threw a maze of hall ways to get to our rooms. There were not enough signs to let you know where you were going or how to get to the front desk or water park. I know that this hotel is still under constructions but they need to think of their guest and inform them of these things. On a positive note Doc was great he works in housekeeping, every time we seen him through out the hotel he was always helpful and asking what he could do to make our stay better. He has the most positive attitude and is great with all guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kattkehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Kattkehr:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested to know about our guest's experience.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Unfortunately, due to the extremely cold weather, we had a problem with the heating system and a few of our rooms lost heat. We are sorry about the cold temps.

We appreciate your suggestions for additional signage. Navigating through the resort can be confusing.

Doc is a special person. He does a wonderful job and is an excellent ambassador for the resort.

Thanks for staying at Maui Sands. We appreciate your patronage and hope you and your family will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

When we're met at the registration desk by someone apologizing, that should have been a clue. When we got to the room and the door keys didn't work, that should have been a clue.
When we asked for an ice bucket and got 2 paper cups, that should have been a clue.
When we had to walk outside back to our room from the water park, that's a clue.
When the towel bar fell off the wall, that should have been a clue.
We missed all of these clues, along with having to make coffee in the bathroom because of broken receptacles. Having to go to the front desk for towels because we never saw anyone from housekeeping even after calling. Take it from us, save your money and go to one of the more expensive water parks in town. The people operating this "Resort" have no clue what they are doing. We figured it would not be on the same level as Great Wolf or Kalahari but this was ridicules. Because of construction you had to navigate a maze of hallways that were not marked in any way. This led to me and my family running outside in sub-zero weather (we were wet by the way) in order to get to our room. This was preferable to wandering aimlessly for another 20 minutes trying to get past the construction. When we did find an employee and asked how to get around the construction they said it was complicated and a long walk. The only reason I gave this a "Poor" rating instead of "terrible" is that the actual water park was not bad. Not on par with the big 3 but the kids still had fun. The flooring at the water park is extremely slippery, I saw several people, kids and adults, go down. Someone is going to get severely hurt and the "slippery when wet" signs will not protect them from litigation. Maui Sands need to remove the word "Resort" they are anything but.

Room Tip: If you want a good room choose one at Great Wolf Lodge, Kalahari, or Castaway Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Thomas D:

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful stay with us.

There are not any good excuses for some of the problems you incurred. Keys should work and rooms should have towels and ice buckets. We have to do a better job of providing good guest service.

Unfortunately, the resort has two buildings. Some of our guests prefer the more direct route which does require a short walk across the parking lot. To stay inside, guests have to follow several hallways that lead to the main building. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Please call us directly so we can talk about your visit in greater detail. We hope your and your family will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our stay here stemmed from a Groupon deal we purchased. We arrived on Thursday which is highly recommended before the weekend rush. The front desk staff was very nice, also the greeter Doc was very nice. We got our room, which was in a great location,we were in room 4106 main hallway across from the main dining area and waterpark.

ROOM: Very nice clean roomy, loved the fact that there was a kids area. They had their own space with the bunk beds and t.v., and we grown ups had our space A+++. Bathroom was clean, door handle was broken but it was overall a nice room.

Water Park: Very nice place. Very clean looks like it has just been remodeled. Public area's were clean, lots of tables and chairs to choose from. Water park staff was very friendly and helpful. Kids had fun. Not crowded on Thursday and Friday from until Friday after 4pm it started getting packed. That's why I'm glad we came Thursday so the kids could have more of an opportunity to enjoy the park when it was not so crowed. One question though why are there no backboards or nets in basketball pool area??? IJS

Dining: Pizza, Pasta, pop, and dessert was ok. Pizza was not as bad as some reviews I read, overall it was good, kids liked it so that's what counts. breakfast was good no complaints. Friday morning was not busy but Saturday it was filled to capacity so get there early.

One Complaint: The snack bar on Saturday. PLEASE PLEASE get Ms. Karen some help management!!!! With all the guests getting the pizza meal deal, and people wanting snacks one person at one register can not handle it. She had 10 people in line, she was taking orders, making drinks, slushes it was overwhelming to say the least I was in line for two ice creams for over 10 MINUTES!!!! UNACCEPTABLE!!!! My Ice cream was melting that's crazy. So Please get another register, and some one else to help expedite drinks, nachos etc. to get guests in and out faster. On top of that it was FREEZING in that area get some HEAT!
Overall good experience would stay again during the week not a full weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in 4100 which right by the dinning area and waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank revwiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Revwiggins:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are very interested to know about our guest's experience.

We were pleased that you had an enjoyable visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful stay. (Backboards and nets are on order.) We appreciate your kind comments about our employees. Doc is a very special individual and sets an excellent example for every one.

Your recommendation about the Snack Shop is on target. It can get busy and stay busy very quickly. We have to do a better job of allocating labor to this location.

Thanks for visiting Maui Sands. We hope you and your family will visit us again very soon. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
230 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing