We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "ok"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just "ok"”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I really want to write a good review about this place, because it is obvious they are trying... but I can't say I loved our stay.
PROS: The pool (Swimming) area is clean and most items/areas are in working condition. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is close to highway and other restaurants. Beer isn't too expensive ;)
CONS:
Getting There - It is difficult to find the entrance of the hotel. We drove past the entrance twice because it is not very noticeable (Turn in at Applebee's). The lobby was EXTREMELY crowded. I'm not sure if this is due to my poor planning and picking a busy weekend or if it always that crazy. My husband had to wait over an hour to check-in because the line was that long!! (The hotel staff did try to please guests by serving some not so great pizza to those waiting in line.)
Room/Hallways - The hotel hallways, bathrooms and rooms are not very clean. There was garbage on the floor in the hallways every time I turned around. In our room, there was a strange substance stuck to the kid's room TV stand. (Looked like dried milk). It was very obvious and it would have been very easy for turn-over service to clean up. There were also soap containers on the walls of the shower and by the sinks that were empty and falling off the wall that should be removed. We had a nice little tissue box cover in our room with no tissues. The garbage bags did not fit in the very large cans in the room so garbage just sat in the wicker basket. There was garbage left from a previous guest under the kids bunk beds and wedged between the bed & the wall. The wooden case holding the mini fridge was scratched and very worn. Overall you could tell the room was just sad and worn down.
Pool - Pool staff is not very friendly. There was one lifeguard in particular that was being very sarcastic and loud in the toddler pool that I just had to walk away because I didn't start something in front of the kids. As a lifeguard of a waterpark, you must expect that you will have to deal with KIDS!!! This guy just looked irritated beyond belief. Speaking of the toddler area, 3 of the 4 water features that were supposed to be there were turned into an "orange cone spouting water" feature. Kids didn't know the difference, but it was a huge letdown when its the only area they can really play. The women's bathroom in the pool area was DISGUSTING! I was holding back the urge to vomit when I had to take my toddler in there. Garbage & used women's products on the floor mixed in with pool water and whatever other liquid was on the floor.
To sum up my LONG review, will I recommend it to others? Probably not. Would I go again? Probably not. My recommendation to the hotel - if you want people to return, get some new pool staff that knows how to be friendly and hire better cleaning staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessR1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear JessR1242:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. Input from our guests can provide helpful information about our facility.

We appreciate the kind words about our staff and the waterpark. However, you were also disappointed with some aspects of your visit. Guest courtesy and the upkeep and cleanliness of our the hotel are very important to us. We need to provide these services each and every day.

Please contact us directly so we can talk about your visit in greater detail. Your patronage is very important to us. We hope you and your family to stay with us again.

Your consideration is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    333
    195
    163
    262
See reviews for
962
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiffin, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have a large family so anytime we want to stay somewhere it costs way to much. We found Maui Sands was having a special so we called ahead. They gave us a great rate so I hung up and said we'd talk about it. There was a large snow storm coming in so we decided to wait a few days, I called back and said they offered me $$$ price for the Ohana Suite and they honored that price! I was thrilled! We ate at Steak N Shake to save even more money and since there was a mini-fridge and microwave, we were able to go across the street to Walmart and buy some snacks for the room. Wonderful trip. The only negative thing was that my hubby fell on the steps, there are no slip grips on the bridge so be careful! The other thing was that the check in was directly at the entrance of the waterpark so you have to walk in front of the cold doors in the wintertime. Also the breakfast was AMAZING!!!! Buffet style with everything you could want.

Room Tip: Ask for the best possible price for the number of people in your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. Our goal is to provide a fun-filled and family-affordable experience for our guests.
We hope your husband is feeling better. We will have the maintenance crew look at the bridge. Sorry about the delay at check-in. It does get cold. However, we are looking at incorporating some procedures that will expedite the process.
We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot buffet breakfast. With eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes, cereal, juices, coffee and more, it is great way to start the day.
Thanks again for visiting Maui Sands Resort. We hope you and your family will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Hot tub is horrible(no jets pressure & staff don't care to help), Lazy river is cold water, Food was mediocre at best, the breakfast is cereal and that's it..disappointed period with the water park. Only good part was the room and bed was comfortable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear MelissaS13:

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & indoor Waterpark.

Our waterpark offers an array of attractions including body & tube slides, lazy river, activity area, bucket dump, adult and family spas and a kiddie pool. Unfortunately the hot tub was not functioning properly when you visited. The waterpark temperatures range from 80 to 84 degrees. However, because of the severity of our winter, sometimes it doesn't feel that warm.

I am also very disappointed that you were not treated properly by our staff members. We challenge our employees to provide the best customer service possible every day.

On most days we offer a complimentary, hot buffet breakfast that includes eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast, pancakes, hash browns, cereal, juice, coffee and more. On days when visitation is low, the buffet is not offered but our cooks will gladly prepare a breakfast just for you. Sorry you were not informed of that option.

Please contact us directly so we can talk about your visit in greater detail. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful stay at Maui Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

toledo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The host DOC is a rock star always on the move good people person helps with anything. The breakfast was great good food. This experience was way better than Kalahari we will be back. GREAT PLACE. Keep doing what you doing. Had a blast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lofton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested to know about our guests' experience.
We are extremely pleased you had a great time. Doc is a special person who does an exceptional job.
The complimentary, hot breakfast buffet is served every day. With eggs, bacon, french toast, pancakes, cereal, juices, coffee and more, it is a great way to start the day.
Thanks again for visiting Maui Sands Resort. We hope you and your family will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We purchased a Groupon back in December to go to Maui Sands in February with the two older Grand children (ages 3 and 2). We had a great time in the water park for the attractions our little ones could participate in. Lots of safety precautions all around the park - including numerous life guards. We had included with the Groupon Salad, Pizza, breadsticks and drinks. All very good and the little ones were very hungry after all of the playing around.
the room were spacious, very clean, very good towels and with all of the youngsters at the property, surprisingly quite - good noise abatement. Check in and check out were a snap. Good instructions and directions from the front desk. The staff was very courteous and helpful.
Overall a great time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beldar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your visit to Maui Sands. We are very pleased that you and your grandchildren had a wonderful time.
We are glad you were able to take advantage of the Groupon pizza meal. The pizza, salad, breadsticks and drinks are a qood value and a big hit with the little ones.
We appreciate the kind words about our employees. They are excellent representatives for us.
We hope you will stay with us again soon. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you compare it to Kalahari you might be disappointed but it's cheaper and the lines are a lot shorter also there was a real nice lady named karan! I got a groupon for this place so I got a good deal and free pizza and pop they also have a pretty good breakfast that is included

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julifincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us at Maui Sands.
We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your kind words about Karan. She is a special lady and does a wonderful job for us.
The free Groupon meal that includes pizza, salad, bread sticks and soft drinks is a great value and very popular with our guests. Plus, the complimentary hot breakfast buffet that is served every day is the perfect way to start the morning.
We hope you will stay with us again very soon. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our 6 yr old girls enjoyed the water park but the terrible check-in experience will exclude use from returning. We stayed in an O’Hanna suite which was very nice and clean. The girls loved the bunk beds and having control over their own TV. The bath room was fairly new and clean but the king bed was very uncomfortable and the fitted sheets were too small for bed. The staff was professional and everyone had a good attitude except one older woman who had to restock the breakfast buffet. She kept muttering to herself, “why did I quit my waitress job?” To be fair, the buffet scene is a little crazy with a lot of guests trying to fix their plates, make coffee and find a place to sit in a small dining area.
But the thing that killed the experience for us was the check-in. We tried to check-in around 4:30pm but after standing in line for 30 minutes, I was told our room wasn’t ready and they didn’t have estimate. All they could do was call on my cell when the room was finished. Finally around 7pm our room was ready and we had lost most of our afternoon / evening. With check out at 11am the next morning this didn’t give us a lot of time at the water park. They extended the check out time to 1pm the next day but it wasn’t enough. Your Mileage MY Very with this place but we won’t try our luck again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
You'er right, that weekend check in was terrible. We had problems that got out of control and it went downhill from there. I have been working with most every guest that had been inconvenienced from that day. If the resolution you received was not sufficient, please contact me directly. We work very hard to make each and every aspect of each persons visit one to remember for the right reasons. Please contact me directly and thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
235 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing