We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great /fun With The Grandkids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great /fun With The Grandkids”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We purchased a Groupon back in December to go to Maui Sands in February with the two older Grand children (ages 3 and 2). We had a great time in the water park for the attractions our little ones could participate in. Lots of safety precautions all around the park - including numerous life guards. We had included with the Groupon Salad, Pizza, breadsticks and drinks. All very good and the little ones were very hungry after all of the playing around.
the room were spacious, very clean, very good towels and with all of the youngsters at the property, surprisingly quite - good noise abatement. Check in and check out were a snap. Good instructions and directions from the front desk. The staff was very courteous and helpful.
Overall a great time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beldar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your visit to Maui Sands. We are very pleased that you and your grandchildren had a wonderful time.
We are glad you were able to take advantage of the Groupon pizza meal. The pizza, salad, breadsticks and drinks are a qood value and a big hit with the little ones.
We appreciate the kind words about our employees. They are excellent representatives for us.
We hope you will stay with us again soon. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    333
    195
    163
    262
See reviews for
962
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you compare it to Kalahari you might be disappointed but it's cheaper and the lines are a lot shorter also there was a real nice lady named karan! I got a groupon for this place so I got a good deal and free pizza and pop they also have a pretty good breakfast that is included

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julifincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us at Maui Sands.
We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your kind words about Karan. She is a special lady and does a wonderful job for us.
The free Groupon meal that includes pizza, salad, bread sticks and soft drinks is a great value and very popular with our guests. Plus, the complimentary hot breakfast buffet that is served every day is the perfect way to start the morning.
We hope you will stay with us again very soon. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our 6 yr old girls enjoyed the water park but the terrible check-in experience will exclude use from returning. We stayed in an O’Hanna suite which was very nice and clean. The girls loved the bunk beds and having control over their own TV. The bath room was fairly new and clean but the king bed was very uncomfortable and the fitted sheets were too small for bed. The staff was professional and everyone had a good attitude except one older woman who had to restock the breakfast buffet. She kept muttering to herself, “why did I quit my waitress job?” To be fair, the buffet scene is a little crazy with a lot of guests trying to fix their plates, make coffee and find a place to sit in a small dining area.
But the thing that killed the experience for us was the check-in. We tried to check-in around 4:30pm but after standing in line for 30 minutes, I was told our room wasn’t ready and they didn’t have estimate. All they could do was call on my cell when the room was finished. Finally around 7pm our room was ready and we had lost most of our afternoon / evening. With check out at 11am the next morning this didn’t give us a lot of time at the water park. They extended the check out time to 1pm the next day but it wasn’t enough. Your Mileage MY Very with this place but we won’t try our luck again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
You'er right, that weekend check in was terrible. We had problems that got out of control and it went downhill from there. I have been working with most every guest that had been inconvenienced from that day. If the resolution you received was not sufficient, please contact me directly. We work very hard to make each and every aspect of each persons visit one to remember for the right reasons. Please contact me directly and thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The water park was okay. We waited 45 minutes just to check in on a saturday. It was the lady's second day. Maybe plan on a more experienced worker to be there when all of the rooms are booked. The restaurant and bar were right next to the entrance and it got very cold. Then theres the hotel room.
Had to walk outside to get to room.
Heat was not on upon arrival at 4:45! It was 55 degrees.
Right next to outside door that squeaked the entire night.
No clock in room.
Heat was below bathroom sink and made loud noises all night.
You could get better toilet paper at a rest stop!
Blood was on the wall below the thermostat.
No room service and no menus of any place in town.
Horrible parking lot. Covered in mounds of snow and ice. Fell a couple times.
Had to wait 10 minutes to check out. What hotel doesnt let you leave the keys in the room??
Dont ever spend the night here!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aamatejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We really appreciate your comments. We did have a bad weekend when it came to our check in process as our previous guests who were in room did not leave in a timely fashion. Did we drop the ball, yes. For that I'm really sorry and will do everything we can to make it up to you. We've spoke to many guest who were inconvenienced with the check in process. We've spent considerable time in retraining the newer staff and adding additional staff to our housekeeping department to ensure that our process is back to it's normal efficiency. Please reach out to me to discuss these aspects and please accept my sincerest apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Visited with another family for the first time. We usually go to Great Wolf Lodge but wanted to try something different. Never again. We had a second floor room and there are no elevators. We got lost trying to find our room in a maze that included gated off hallways/dead ends. Thankfully Doc found us and helped us find our room and haul our stuff up. The lifeguards in the water park do not rotate, and seemed to be bored and daydreaming. Most weren't paying attention. No one monitors who.is coming or going in the water park...which means parents are sending down their children while they stayed in their rooms... so you have a lot of unsupervised 7-10 year olds trampling over the little ones. The waterpark doesn't open until 10 am and we were trampled by unsupervised kids when they finally unlocked the door. The halls and lobby were freezing. Our room had windows to a hall, not to outside. It was so far from any exit it felt like if there was a fire we would never get out (especially with the gated hallways). The other family we were travelling with didn't even stay. They spent 2 hours in the waterpark and decided to just go home.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woozers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Please accept my sincerest apology for your experience. The overwhelming majority of our guest have a great experience and return many times over. This is a big campus and sometime can be confusing. We've added newer signs as our property continues to grow. Please contract us directly to work out your concerns. We all work very hard to ensure each and every guest. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn your business again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was a great place and value to forget about winter. The staff was the friendly . We travel often and have high expectations. The water park had one of the best ventilation systems I have experienced. The chlorine bothers me at most of them. It was tolerable the days we visited. It is not a huge water park , but the kids had a great time. The rooms were clean and met our needs. We would visit here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are glad we were able to help your family cope with this never-ending winter.

Hopefully, summer will be here soon.

We appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us.

We hope you and your family will stay with us again soon. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place by far the most horrible Hotel I have ever stayed in!!! We called and made reservations, had to repeat our information twice to the incompetent clerk, were told we could check in at 2 arrived at 3:15 with no reservation to be found and we couldn't check in until 4. Waited in line freezing to death for 45 minutes to check into a room with an apple on the bed spread, cobwebs and crumbs on the floor. No WIFI unless you sit in the BATHROOM!...seriously that's what the front desk told me, go in the bathroom it works there! Got home to a bank account charged twice!!! Good luck getting anyone on the phone with any sense to take care of this issue! FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO STAY!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
You're right, we had a really bad day. The "wheels" fell off and we're still working to recover with each and every guest. We've spent the entire week working to resolve all the items you spoke with including adding new WI-FI access points, additional training for our staff members and additional heating systems in the Front lobby. Although I wish I could magically make these changes happen while you were here, it's just doesn't work that way. We all have been working 17 hours days trying to address each and every guest experience. Many of our guests sing our praises and return regularly. Please contact me to discuss all of your issues further as I'll work tirelessly and I hope you will consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
235 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing