We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and the Kids Really Enjoyed It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Allendale, Michigan
1 review
“Great Stay and the Kids Really Enjoyed It!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My kids really enjoyed this hotel and loved the waterpark. The hotel was right off the highway and the room was very clean. The staff was very friendly and the customer service and greeting given to us by Doc was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainKirkGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha CaptainKirk, we are so glad you we able to find us! We are right around the corner from state route 250 and state route 2 as well being just down the road from the turnpike Sandusky exit. We are so glad that your family enjoyed their stay and we hope that you'll return again real soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    333
    195
    163
    262
See reviews for
962
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

So excited about this trip..From the point go till we checked out every moment has been a wonderful experience. We stayed here on a long weekend. The staff are ever smiling, helpful and cheereful. Ambiance is great. We booked a 1 Bedroom Suite With 1 King Bed Private Rm Kids Rm 2 Twin Bunk Fridge Microwave Free Wifi, also we got 6 water park tickets free. Room was waterpark facing. The room was so immaculate and clean. The water park area was very clean and neat. The life guards so very watchful. Morning Hot Breakfast was very refreshing. I definitely recommend this place and will go back. I can write on and on about this experience. Thanks to staff we rejoiced this stay.

Room Tip: Ask for water park facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devadas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Aloha Devadas, Thank you for staying at Maui Sands while you were in the area. We appreciate the pictures you took while you were here to share with our other guests. We hope that you will visit again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Don't judge by the outside of the building!! This place is amazing, we have stayed at the wolf lodge, we have stayed at numerous water resorts around the country and this place is very nice. The rooms are extremely clean and gorgeous! Theirs was two sets of bunk beds that were very comfy and the kids had their own flat screen tv. Big amazing king bed and doors that shut off for privacy, double sinks for the family and an over sized bathroom. ( even the waste baskets are over sized, not the normal tiny hotels garbages cans.) I don't know if they have the free breakfast buffet every day but that was the best hotel breakfast we have ever had and very good food at that.
The waterpark was perfect, 4 big slides, 2 hot tubs, 2 different kid areas, the lazy river was very warm and faster then normal lazy rivers :) , they had a real whirl pool and we haven't seen one of those anywhere else, it was a blast. They had two hot tubs, one was adults only. All the water park workers were extremely friendly and nice. Not the normal rude stand offish park workers! The water park definitely gets a 10+, we had 5 kids 8 months, 6, 8, 9, and 11. All the kids had plenty to do as well as the adults!
The staff at the hotel was amazing! The rooms had mini fridges and microwaves. Comparing the the great wolf this place was better, great wolf didn't even have fridges and micro waves in the nice loft suites! The ONLY thing maui sands is missing is the balconys out of the rooms. We will be coming back every year if not more often!!

REMEMBER don't judge by the cover, you WILL be impressed!! We went here trying to save money and found an ideal amazing spot to return to!!
Thank you maui sands for making amazing memories!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistyRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Aloha Misty, we are so happy to hear you chose Maui Sands. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I booked this trip solely on the reviews on TripAdvisor. We had friends with set reservations and the hotel was great at matching the price last minute for us that our friends got weeks before we reserved. The room was terrific. Hands down the most comfortable king size bed in a hotel I have ever slept on!!! The kids loved the bunk beds room too.. they own niche to hang out in. The room was very clean, Hvac worked with no problems, double sinks and a micro/fridge set up. The room had soap dispensers which is a fabulous idea but no soaps/shampoos in them. That would solve the big family and the supply of small bottles of shampoo and soaps you are typically given. The staff was terrific. Also met Doc..what a guy! And one of the employees went out of her way the next morning to find our family leis and welcome us to the hotel as well as take our group pic! I wish I caught her name. The entire hotel staff was courteous to us all and made the extra effort to welcome the kids. They all seeked out to wish one of the kids in our group a Happy Birthday with a birthday hat and all! The hot breakfast was fresh and hot..great variety from eggs, to hash brown potatoes, pancakes to cereal..buffet style. A few things I would critique is not enough staff to man the breakfast and the dining area. One staff member could not supply the food while cleaning off tables. The 2nd morning did have 2 staff members working but there was increased demand with more people staying. In addition, I would have preferred to have more variety of cereals as well as sweet breakfast treats like muffins, danishes, but overall the hot breakfast they offer is great! The water park was fabulous. It was my first experience with an indoor water park and my kids loved it! The courteousness and welcoming of the hotel staff wasn't felt with the lifeguards, but it wasn't detrimental to our enjoyment. It was neutral. The water temp and air temp of the park was perfect and I felt it was manned with plenty of lifeguards that made me feel comfortable with my small kids sometimes out of my sight. I would have liked to have bigger towels supplied though. The hotel stay includes the waterpark the entire stay, including checkout day! I would recommend this hotel to everybody for sure!

Room Tip: I heard that part of the hotel is newly renovated. ask for that section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Aloha DG, thank you for choosing Maui Sands. We appreciate your feedback and are continuously making improvements based on our reviews from guests just like yourself. The information you have given us about our breakfast buffet is important and I would be happy to pass that along to our food and beverage manager. We hope that you will return again on your next trip to Sandusky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would like to say that Casey Chris Doc and Dorothy where and are the reason I will b coming back, great customer satisfaction and some. They need to be rewarded with something as u seem fit for going above and beyond at there jobs best nite I've had in... Actually can't remember a time that could top my stay at the Maui sands water resort In Sandusky Ohio great job y'all keep it up, hope to see you all soon!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Aloha! I'm so happy to hear you had wonderful service from these individuals. They always go out of their way to give exceptional customer service. I would be happy to pass along to their managers your kind words. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We decided on taking the kids for an end of summer vacation just before the return to school. We arrived a the hotel earlier than the 4:00 check-in time. We asked for an early check-in and the person at the front desk informed me that the room would be ready shortly. We were allowed to go into the waterpark while we waited. The front desk staff was very helpful. When we did get our room we were very pleased with it. We reserved a king bed with the double bunk beds. This is a great choice as the kids had their own private area with their own TV.
The room was very clean and appointed very nicely. The only draw back was that there was no holder to place the bar of soap once it as opened to wash hands in the sinks. Also if the dispensers in the tubs are not being used anymore they should remove them.

The couple we went with has 4 children between the ages of 4 & 9 and earlier this summer they went to Kalahari in Sandusky. They told us that they paid over $480.00 for one night stay and that the room at Maui Sands was much nicer and cleaner.

The waterpark is great for kids 10 and under as it is geared more for the family compared to some of the Mega-Waterparks in the area. We were very fortunate as for the time of our stay the waterpark was not very busy as school was back in session in the area.
There were no lineups at any other slides and the lifeguards were very attentive and reminded the kids and adults of the rules of the water park.

Breakfast was included in our stay which was very nice. Maybe they can add bacon as many people inquired about that. Otherwise the breakfast was more than adequate. It was a hot breakfast and not just toast bagels and cereal.

The kids had a blast and as we were leaving asked when we were going to be returning.

I would recommend this resort to families with younger children who are looking for the waterpark experience.

Room Tip: Reserve the room with King bed and two Bunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ucar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Aloha Ucar, we are happy you chose Maui Sands with your friends and family. We are always happy to hear when our guests enjoy their stay! The Hana Suite is a family favorite as you can now see why. We are currently working on the soap dispensers and hope that you will come back again soon to see the continuous improvements we are making. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

my experience was great. from beginning to end everyone I encountered was more than will to assist and ensure I was satisfied. The park may be smaller than Kalahari but their customer service is one thousand times better!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mskayetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate all feedback we receive and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass along your compliments on our customer service skills. We hope that you will join us again soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
235 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing