We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

So we get a two bedroom suite with a fridge and microwave and unlimited use of the water park for $100 a night? Add to the fact that it is close to Cedar Point and its the best bargain I've seen in a while! Rooms were very clean and staff accommodating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpressHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    333
    195
    163
    262
See reviews for
962
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Let me start by saying that we loved the water park, as did my 6 and 4 year olds. We visited it several times while there and it was very nice. The hot tub, especially after a long day of walking, was the best I've ever been in. I love having private little nooks for your group. Most of the lifeguards were very pleasant.

We travelled with a second family and my sister, who stayed with us. When I booked the room I indicated we had a party of 5 for one room. We requested to be put in adjoining rooms with the second family (of 3) which they made happen (when I called the week before I was told they were at about 50% capacity so this was doable). We checked in and went to our rooms. The smell of mildew (at the very least) in the hallway was strong and they had 2 home grade dehumidifiers in the hallway the entire time we were there. I heard they had had some storms the week before so presumably these dehus had been working for all that time and weren't good enough. Our room, holding 5 people, was actually smaller than our friends' room (holding 3). We were without an alarm clock, toilet seat, full mirror and a few other things, all things I knew should have been in the room as our friends had them. Our bathroom counter had been sawed off so we had barely the area around our sink on which to put things (again, not a problem in our friends room). To make things worse, their room was tidied up daily while ours was only straightened up (beds made, etc.) once during out stay. What made it worse was *knowing* we should have gotten better.
However, after we got there the kids immediately wanted to swim, so we changed and went to the water park. It was at this point that we found out we had to actually go outside of the hotel and then back in to get to the water park. There was no hallway from our wing to the lobby or water park. We then walked into the water park only to be told we needed wrist bands which we get from the lobby (I had to ask a fellow customer). Why in the world were we not given this or at least told this when we checked in?! We went to the lobby and were told we had to pay extra for the wrist bands (when I reserved the room I booked a package that included the water park for four people). The conversation with the front desk went like this:
FD: It's $20 per person
Me: No, we booked for four free passes
FB: Let me check...ok, you get two free passes
Me: Did you say two? We get four.
FB: I said four!

Then we were told we also needed these wrist bands for our free breakfast. Again, why didn't we get them at checkin if they were that important?

I kept telling myself "you get what you pay for", but for what I got it was still too much. We will certainly never stay there again and instead will save for a nicer hotel/waterpark next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesireeK40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I was to sincerely apologize for your experience. We have passed along this information regarding your room and service to our management team. We are making the improvements needed and hope that you'll decide to come back again and see the changes we have been making. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Maui Sands for two nights. My children, ages 5 and 7 LOVED the cabana room. The bunk bed area with separate TV was a BIG hit.

The room was extremely clean and we found all employees to be very friendly. We paid $69.00 per night, without water park passes. We booked directly through their website and knew passes were not included when we booked.

We paid $58 for 4 people for a "twilight" water park pass one evening from 4pm-10pm. We all enjoyed the Water Park. It was clean and the Life Guards were top notch. We have been to several indoor water parks and this one is by far the best. The bowl slide, as well as the raft/tube slide are WONDERFUL! The kids loved the dedicated kids area and we were all able to enjoy the lazy river. PERFECT!

Since this is a newly renovated/owned hotel, there are some communication things that need to be addressed amongst employees. On my original reservation, I had requested the limo ride "add-on" to Cedar Point on my reservation. When I checked-in, I asked Jay (employee) about the limo ride for the following day. It was not listed when we checked in and he asked if I had heard anything from the limo company (I had not). He then stated that if they had not contacted me, that it was not arranged. I was a little disappointed to hear that, but it was no big deal to drive ourselves. However, the next morning, we were already at Cedar Point when Jordan (employee) called to tell me that the LIMO WAS WAITING! I told her what I was told, and that there was a MAJOR MISCOMMUNICATION regarding that.

A hot/continental breakfast is included and we took full advantage of that each morning. We were impressed with both the housekeeping and maintanence staff: we had an issue with our in-room safe and someone was there within a few minutes to help.

We definitely look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Since this is an older hotel, so be prepared for "thin walls" - it can get noisy at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and concerns. I apologize for the inconvenience that took place while you were here. We are reviewing our policies and procedures to make sure something like this doesn't happen again. We look forward to your next weekend! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg Township, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great resort. Very clean and welcoming. Staff was very friendly. Casey at the front desk was super helpful and accommodating. The water park was perfect for our children (6,3, and 1). We had a great time. Looking forward to our future visit(s).

Room Tip: 4 fourth floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had our family reunion at this hotel in July and it was great! The entire staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. It was great that they were able to keep our rooms nearby each other. We would definately recommend this place to friends and family. The waterpark was lots of fun for the kids and adults. Being that our group had numerous little ones, the afternoon activities for the kids was lots of fun and kept them occupied for quite some time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKRA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of 3 (two adults and 10 year old) stayed one night in room 3275, a two queen room, confirmed online for $143 but charged at checkout for $148. The rate included complimentary parking, in-room wireless, and hot breakfast, plus admission to the indoor waterpark. The waterpark was fun, enjoyable, and met our 10 year old's expectations. In contrast, the hotel room was cramped, dark, and did not have hot water in the morning for showers. (Front desk staff person indicated that they had water pipe issues last week and this issue is related.) The common areas near and around the door 8 entrance were dirty and unsecured. There were plastic flowers "planted" on the property grounds, which matched the tacky and cheap Hawaiian themed guest room decor. The hot breakfast was good (biscuits, gravy, scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage, pancakes), though the continental offerings were simply okay and beverages were limited to water and coffee. No tea. No milk. Juice machine was broken. We requested a quiet room and did get a good night's sleep. Check-in staff need customer service training.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3onaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 2 days here while visiting Cedar Point. The feel of the hotel is that it is an older hotel with "thrifty" Hawaiian decor. The room was clean with a no-frills mattress. There is a free hot breakfast buffet served each morning along with a selection of cold cereals too. Our only issue we had was during check out. We booked the room thru Priceline, but upon checkout the hotel billed us for an additional $106.60. We did not have any incidentals and we didn't even use the waterpark. Fortunately for us, we had overheard another couple dealing with a similar overcharge the morning before and made sure we checked the bill carefully. The lady at the desk was trying to explain something to the fact that they are billed by Priceline and they charge the customer the extra charge, something really unfamiliar to us in all the years we've been using Priceline. Ultimately we felt it was nothing more than a scam. The lady agreed to remove the extra charges, but just to be safe we cancelled our debit card right away. Something just didn't feel right. We gave it 3 stars simply because the place was clean and offered a free hot breakfast. Otherwise, we would have scored it a 2 based on the hassle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhikers0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
235 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing