We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
2 reviews
“Kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very relaxing stay, and our 2 year old and 4 year old loved the waterpark. The hot breakfast offered had great options and the kids kept asking to go back for more. Very friendly and welcoming interactions with housekeeping staff, lifeguards, front desk and food services.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnerwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    321
    188
    159
    257
See reviews for
932
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My four grandsons ages 2 thru 10 along with my son and daughter-in-law spent four nights with me to celebrate my birthday...we checked in on July 10th into the two-bedroom suite on the second floor....we had a wonderful visit! Staff at front desk very attentive to all needs....refrigerator needed defrosting, so they just brought a new one up to room....we did have to ask for extra pillows and towels, but they arrived promptly....room very clean and view from bedroom windows was the indoor waterpark....kids loved the waterpark bathrooms and changing rooms very clean within the park, small towels available. After trips to the amusement parks the kids enjoyed utilizing the waterpark....life guards friendly. Breakfast buffet good and was included in our waterpark package rate, nothing spectacular but good enough to get our day started...scrambled eggs sausage pancakes biscuits gravy cereal muffins OJ/ coffee...I asked if they could get me a cake to celebrate with the boys, and on my birthday it arrived...a lovely delicious red velvet cake with Happy Birthday written on it....Overall it was an excellent stay, my only suggestion would be to put directions on how to adjust temperature on air conditioners in the bedrooms and a sign above the enrtrance would be nice.... The indoor waterpark is not as large as the others in Sandusky, but just big enough to keep those boys happy..BIG SHOUTOUT to Maui Sands Resort you met my expectations and we all had a wonderful time and thank you for the Birthday cake......

Room Tip: ask for room in the main building as the older pre-existing hotel rooms are under renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginibeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the best resort by far in sandusky, OH. Their prices are very reasonable and its very clean. Their staff are there to assist you with any problems. Its located right next to the cedar point so its very convenient if you are planning to visit cedar point.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was kid friendly. The water park was great. The rooms are small and lack privacy, but if you are looking for a place to stay and just sleep this place is great. The rooms slept 6 people. I would stay there again. Located in close proximity to cedar point.

Room Tip: For the best prices you should stay during the week if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July, 2013 as part of a girls getaway weekend. My friends and I booked here because of the location to the Jet Express (about 5 miles away). We weren't sure what to expect when we got there, but we found a friendly and helpful staff, clean and spacious rooms, plenty of parking close to the assigned room, and a breakfast with plenty of options. The price was great and our stay wonderful! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff at this hotel surely makes the difference. They are super friendly and go out of their way to please. The waterpark is brand new and really nice. The first day I asked the snackbar worker about the fresh veggie tray and the cook came out showed me what vegetables he had that were fresh and gave me my choice of what I wanted. They had a big selection and cut it fresh in front of me. All that for one little order. I was impressed! The whole stay was like that. I was unhappy with my original room and they moved me without any hesitation. The new room was brand new and MUCH nicer. The complimentary hot breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, pancakes, potatoes, sausage, cereals, breads and yogurt. A nice little breakfast that probably saved me $100 or more that I would have spent eating out. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Until the renovation is complete, I would recommend requesting Building #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briefman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

When I booked this room I was looking for a place nice enough to keep my wife occupied while I took the kids to Cedar point and I didn't want to spend the $$ for Kalahari or Great Wolf. Maui Sands was ranked #2 on TA, had breakfast, and was much cheaper than the other two water-park resorts. Sold!
The days leading up to our stay I started seeing some negative reviews and came across a story online about how the resort went bankrupt a few years back and was shuttered until reopened this year with new ownership. I became very nervous and was worried that I made a bad decision. Overall, our experience was a positive one.
The desk staff was very friendly and my wife and I hung out with a couple of them during some downtime and talked with them about the hotel and area, they were great people. My kids really enjoyed the waterpark, not the biggest or the best, but entertaining. The lifeguard staff could use a little more supervision as they seem a little disinterested and not very attentive on a whole. My kids are old enough that I wasn't worried about them, but may have been an issue for others.
The hot breakfast was a pleasant surprise, generally not the kind of perk you get at a water-park resort. Seating area was roomy and decent selection of food. It is my understanding that some guests qualify for the hot breakfast and others just a continental breakfast with with the water-park wristbands serving as the admission to the hot breakfast, I could see how this could confuse some people and probably should just be one type of breakfast for all to keep things simple; however, we did not witness any problems during our two mornings.
The room was fine, not great, not bad, but fine. The exterior door was a bit scuffed up, and the room was missing some of the little details that may go unnoticed for some (no pen/paper, no resort guide book). This was a common theme throughout the resort, little details that just haven't been ironed out yet. For example, many sections of the resort is gated off as they are not re-opened yet and the fitness room seems to be just a guest room with the door removed and a few treadmills thrown in, no TV, no water, no towels. I truly feel that these areas will and are being addressed and the place is a work in progress. I think that maybe it just opened a little before it was really ready. I can see why some people may have had bad experiences, while others had good. I tried to keep the history of the place in perspective when writing this review (which is also why it is so long), but I feel that these areas that need work should have been ironed out before opening the doors. If this place was a Disney property it never would have opened until everything was just right. That being said, I feel there is real potential here if these improvements are made. Until then, I have to rate as average...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyDad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Groupon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing