We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK not up to given star level.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OK not up to given star level.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked via Hotwire. The room was clean...but a little beat up. Husband checked-in hours before we arrived and said he had to sign his life away with possible "charges" for this and that. Like a possible fee for stained floors. He made sure to take pictures of the preexisting stains just to be safe. They also said there would be a $50.00 hold (which is standard..but it is showing up as $76 and still not removed.)

There was no information in the room about anything hotel related. I found that odd. No pricing for additional tickets to the waterpark. Not breakfast information. Or local information. My husband said it was crazy when he arrived at check in time and the front desk clerk was very rude.

The free breakfast while it looked ample...the line was out to the lobby when we got down stairs. So we opted out and ate on the road...thus canceling the only value of booking this hotel.

We were in our room a whole 8 hours including sleep and it was not worth $120.00 total just for the room.

We did not use the waterpark but it looked fun from looking in the windows and the kids around us looked happy.

I would not book again and would opt for Great Wolf or Kalahari if I was in Sandusky again if I was looking for an indoor water park.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank C_McG95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    319
    188
    157
    255
See reviews for
924
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

They were very nice and courteous though understaffed at the time. Bit of a wait to check in at front desk. We had an issue when we got to room and the bedding looked stained. After we called the front desk they promptly changed it. Even after visiting Soak City at Cedar Point the Maui Sands Water Park was loads of fun. We acquired free passes to water park through Priceline. Nice deal considering they are $25 each.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgood738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

It was a great place! Hotel employees were wonderful! Rooms were kind of small but nice, the beds were about the worse part- they were hard as a rock but definately clean!! Breakfast wasnt bad, a little cold but there was a lot of ppl in line for food. Water park was great my almost 3 yo loved it!! Life guards were nice and watched everything! Hotel was in a great location to everything! I didnt like how we had to walk a good little distance from our room to the water park/breakfast area. House keeping was a little slow getting to our room and we didnt have towels in our rm when we got there the 1st day.
But we had a great time and it was a pretty good experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlsheff
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were booked into this place as part of a lacrosse tournament in town. The problems started when we arrived. We got there at 2:30 p.m. and were told we could not check in until 4 p.m. I asked again to see if there were any rooms available - there was. They gave us the room key and we left at once for the tournament.

We come back to the hotel to unload the car and there is no elevator to take to the room - only stairs. Not the end of the world, but then why have a baggage cart at the door? We get in the room and it is in serious need of updating. The carpets are worn and stained. The beds appeared to be clean. The room we were assigned was close to the highway. I got to hear it all night. Felt like I was right on top of it with all the noise.

The shower was a "treat". Pressure was OK with cold water, but once I moved the mixer to hot, the water pressure was halved. The shower head pointed at my chest, so I had to duck to rinse my hair. I'm only 6'1". There were sufficient towels in the bathroom, but they gave us only one bar of soap for the sink and the shower? Really?

They offer a complimentary breakfast. The scrambled eggs were way overcooked. The french toast was cold and not very good. The coffee was nothing but warm, brown water. Thank goodness a Starbucks is a half mile north. The fruit looked OK, but there was no way I was touching the open bowl of yogurt they put out.

I can tell you I will not stay at this place again if I am in Sandusky. It was a worn out, old hotel that truly needs updating to be competitive with the other hotels in the area. The water parkwas used by my son. He said it was fun. I has no interest after seeing the other "fun" in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in maui sands for two nights and was surprised about the overall view of the hotel. I had a problem upon check-in, reserved a jacuzzi suite but found bunk beds instead. Receptionist upgraded me to the biggest suite available. It was very spacious and had an amazing view of the water park. Not knowing what to expect, went down to the waterpark and WOW! Different sections for different ages in the water park. My newborn enjoyed the kiddie pool, my husband and brother in law enjoyed the phenomenal slides (I must add its pretty hilarious to see grown men scream on the top of their lungs) my niece and nephew enjoyed it ALL. They usually go to Great wolf lodge but my nephew was excited and jumping the whole time, even when we went to dinner downstairs. The lifeguards on duty are very respectful and care about the children in the water. The location is an A+ everything is nearby. The staff on location was very helpful. We stayed in the same section as the lobby which was conveniently close to everything. Overall good experience, nice staff, managed very well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maui011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed first week it open, very good place for young kids and family, my son had lots of fun and it felt safe for his age. Breakfast was great but lunch and dinner options were limited. I would stay there agian if given the same discount.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jouhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The room I had was in a serious need of an update. The hot tub wasn't clean prior to check out, the bathroom floor had hair on it and so did the sheets! The hallway to my room had a not so pleasant odor to it! They Did accommodate me for my complaint but I will not return to this hotel despite value! Besides the waterpark, I felt as though it was super 8 quality. Which surprised me based off of other reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divinitee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing