We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends why you are there...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
1 review
“Depends why you are there...”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Really your happiness with this hotel will be based on WHY you need a room. Ex. Cedar point? Family function? Etc. We paid 69.99 a night for two nights....checkin was quick, easy, the bracelets are cool. Lots of pictures being uploaded with my review. The front desk girls run everything (including cleaning rooms). We came for cedar point and didnt plan on doing anything other than sleeping (and drinking due to awesome onsite bar) at the hotel. Im going to go into the bar review first, skip to next section for room review. Theresa the bartender is new to bar tending but what she lacked in experience she made up for 10 times in personality. Unfortunately the other bar person (Steve?) Seemed to leave the bar in really poor condition. He had a "special" drink he made up....but left no instructions on how to make....and turned off his phone (took 30 min to reach someone that knew what was in it) He also left food in the microwave which drew nats and the bar was not stocked. 1hour later we finally got our first drink. All that said we had a blast hanging out and picking drinks from her little black book to have her try her hand at making. Thereasa worked wonders with what she was handed. I hope she is there for our return!

Ok now on to THE ROOM. Yes they are a little rough. Scuff marks on some furniture, looked like our wall had a little water damage...but CLEAN. Lots of towels, lots of toiletries, coffee, cups...the Hawaiian theme was very nice. We booked a king with bunk beds as they were out of just king, and it was the same price. The bed was REALLY firm to me, but please note I am a soft pillow top sink into the bed loving person. It may not be THAT firm, im just spoiled at home ;) the bunk beds were softer. First night the tv was missing in the bunk area. No big deal to us, we didnt need it. After returning from a long long day if coasters our bed was made, clean towels, new toiletries and a flat screen in the bunk area. Very impressed with service. As far as the review stating there are no outlets...I have no idea what they are talking about. Our room had plenty lol. To us, based on other hotels in the area for 69.99 a night for a cedar point vacation the room was right for price.

Area is NOT a bad area (again was stated in a recent review). Walk to gas station, walmart, applebees, taco bell, and a Sleep Inn (i hear the pool there is open later than midnight). Getting to hotel IS tricky with traffic, but we did it just fine.

Arcade eats tokens. No prizes in crane machines. But ok for a mini break.

Hotel will be worth higher rates when staffed adequately and waterpark/restaurant are open. We would return but wouldn't pay more than 100$ a night "as-is".

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HisMrsLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    326
    192
    161
    259
See reviews for
945
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend...good price for the area and cleanliness.
I assume they were clean becasue this was a fairly new hotel- 2 months old

check in- friendly

breakfast- ( I love breakfast, so this dissappointed me) They need to put in more effort- only cereal ( 3 types- lucky charms, raisin bran and cheerios), assorted minimuffins, bread , english muffin and bagels.... ONLY 4 slice toaster- which backed the line up!!!
juice, packet oatmeal with hot water and hard boiled eggs,
coffee and milk in a mini refridgerator- which the door wouldnt stay open....
breakfast was free...so ok if you just wanna get somehting in and get going... not a high point..

rooms- we stayed in a suite with a king bed abnd 4 bunk beds... happened to be a handicap accessible room, so very spacious and appeared clean. 2 tvs... no complaints about the room!

pool- water park wasnt open- we knew that ahead of time... water was cold

Elevator- very slow and only one in the building... faster to take the stairs...

Overall.. i think they still need some time to set up and improve themselves...
It was an interesting themed hotel with well thought fixtures and interiors...I paid an average of 140 dollars each night for 2 nights ( so was surprised to see others paid 80 for the same)- but I bought this directly from the hotel and not a website...

I can see rates increasing once the water park is open....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was happy with my stay this last weekend, the rate was right and things were still in good shape since they just re-opened 2 months ago. HOWEVER, they are not cleaning the rooms well enough (in fact, under our bathroom vanity was a piece of 2x4 and construction/drywall dust) and the hotel as a whole is not being managed efficiently.
They also are very slow at check in, their system seems a little old.
If I had paid anymore than $80 for a weekend night I would have a completely different attitude toward my stay (for $80, I should have given it a 4 rating, but considering the rates are getting higher already, I based my review on that).
If they want to compete with Great Wolf Lodge and the like (or even if they want to remain open longer than 6 months), they will have to try much harder...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just_for_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, MI
Level Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family stayed here for two nights while visiting Cedar Point. Be advised that the comfort & amenities here are far below average.

There were no electrical outlets to recharge our cell phone, Ipad, computers, shavers, etc. We had to use the outlet in the bathroom. Never run into this situation before.

Exercise room - this is important to me as I like to workout in the morning. They had a couple of old treadmills, no excercise bikes or ellipticals. In addition, they didn't have a TV. I like to watch the news or sports when I exercise. I have never been to a place where they didn't have a TV and remote. Also no towels or water fountain.

Continental Breakfast - it may be free but they should put forth more effort. The coffee was water downed, selection was minimal; ie, no yogurt, selection of fruits or waffle maker. Just some mini muffins, bread and cereals.

The waterslide was not in commission and the pool area was like a sauna.

This place in not located in the best part of town either so be sure to park your car outside your room so you can keep an eye on it.

People who worked there were nice and the price for 2 nights was only $140.00. Based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, I expected more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreggMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessB1474, Public Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We are continuously making improvements to our resort and hope that you'll come back to see. Thank you for your time and letting us know on where to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just stayed at the Maui Sands Hotel in Sandusky OH 7-16-2012 through 7-20-2012. I brought my son and 2 of his friends (3 teenagers) for a trip to Cedar Point (20min ride), and the Football Hall of Fame (90min ride). We had a room with the king size bed and 2 bunk beds. The room was clean when we arrived and the daily maid service cleaned up every day. The king bed was very comfortable and I was told by the kids that the bunk beds were as well. The A/C worked and was quiet and didi we need it temps were in the 90s and humidity was high. The King room area could be blocked off by 2 sliding doors wich was nice for privacy. Each area had its own TV. The pool was open and clean, I was told that the indoor water park should be open in the Spring of 2013. The staff was extremely polite, helpful and professional (Addison, Amber, Hiren and Saundra). The free breakfast offered toast, bagels,mini muffins, english muffins, assorted cereals and juices, bananas, and hard boiled eggs. The location is perfect, right off the highway on the the main strip that offered retail stores and restaurants. There is also a Hunted Mansion attraction that the kids did and gave thumbs up to right up the street, the hotel gave me discount coupons when I asked about it. Well I guess the real testament would be would I stay there again and I absolutely would. We're your average income family that stay in places like Holiday Inn expresses, Best Westerns and Hampton Inns and for room set up, capacity and value, the Maui Sands beats them all. I wish there was one in New Hampshire were we go skiing. The only thing I didn't like was how they set up the bathroom sink, it's in the main area across from the refrigerator and coffe pot , Disney time share did the same thing at Bay Lake Towers with there studio room. I'd say that Disney time share could learn a thing about the rest of the room design from Maui Sands though, six people in one room and plenty of room. I just hope that the prices remain competitive as we are looking to go again.

Room Tip: If your good souvenir shirts the Shirt Shack up the street from the hotel offers plenty for the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dephenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We went to Sandusky to take our kids to Cedar Point and when I saw the great deal at Maui Sands I booked right away. The front desk was very nice and I love the bracelet room keys - one less thing to worry about. The beds were very comfortable- 2 pillows per person- we slept well all 3 nights of our stay. The breakfast was light and the same everyday - so you know what to expect. English muffins, toast, bagels, muffins, 4 types of cold cereal, oatmeal packets, hard boiled eggs and bananas. Condiments were cream cheese, real butter, peanut butter, and jelly. 4 types of juices, coffee and milk. We were able to have a nice breakfast and didn't have to eat until lunch at Cedar Point.
The kids swam in the pool and loved how big it was ( not very deep) the pool is were the waterpark will be next year so that was pretty cool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at Maui Sands for 1 night after a day at Cedar Point. When we arrived it appeared that there were only 2 people working the whole hotel. They were extremely busy trying to answer phones and help people that were checking in. The hotel still has some rooms that need renovated (ex. some have that old hotel smell and stained carpet) but for the most part the hotel is beautiful. The water park looks like it is going to be very nice when it is finished. We had a problem with our room at first and the hotel staff was very helpful. They put us in a different room right away and the new room was actually an upgrade from what we had. The rooms with 2 queen beds are good for a short stay. The room with 1 king bed and 2 sets of bunk beds is very nice. The room we stayed in was the 2 bedroom suite with each bedroom having a king bed. The room was very spacious. It had a pull out couch, a tv in every room and 2 bathrooms. I thought that the room keys were one of the best features. The room key is a rubber, waterproof bracelet that you wear and you just press it up against the black box on the door and the door opens. The breakfast is not bad. They offer cereal, english muffins and bagels. The hotel definitely has some issues it needs to work out before the water park opens and they get really busy (ex. more staff and organization) but all in all I would recommend people for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing