We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed at Maui Sands during Ohio Bike Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stayed at Maui Sands during Ohio Bike Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed both weekends of Ohio Bike Week at the newly reopened Maui Sands. A comfortable, well-decorated, clean room offered to bikers for $99. What a deal and a fun place to stay too. Biker parties in the Lobby Bar and a great location with easy walking distance to the Mad River dealership. We were very happy with our stay here and met some of the new owners also.

Room Tip: The king rooms have sliding doors to separate the king bed from the room with two sets of bunk beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    321
    188
    159
    257
See reviews for
932
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I live in Sandusky, Ohio, I live in a nice appartment complex that is not meant to host many people.( How I prefer it.) I had my Parents stay at Maui Sands I knew it was newly bought out and being renovated, should have been clean and it was!
It actually is a resort that is low priced due to renovations still occuring. It is beautiful and a nice tropical setting. Oh the Motorcycle is there because Bike Week just passed. Sandusky's Bike Week has quite a reputation. By the way, my Parents slept fine and it was quiet even though Maui is across from alot of the motorcycle events. Maui may increase in price soon but this is a resort not just a hotel. Enjoy this bargain now and hopefully in the future also.

Room Tip: Resort entrance and exit is close to a traffic light that can hold alot of traffic, but there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtim1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was by far one of the cheaper places to stay at! Of course the place is pretty clean because it is newly opened again. I liked that the maid service always provided more soaps and shampoos etc. in our room. We stayed for 3 nights there for our trip to Cedar Point. The price was very cheap and even though it wasn't "next door" to Cedar point it was not a bad drive. The front desk guy Christian was EXTREMELY helpful. I had called for reservations and confirmations different times and he was VERY helpful. The breakfast was on the shabby side with very low choices but for the price it's still not bad! Loved the decor of the place and I am very interested to see what it will be like once the water park opens up. Take advantage of the price now before it opens! I'm wondering to see how much it will actually be to stay there once the water park opens! By far one of my most enjoyable vacations :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at Maui Sands for 2 nights surrounding a Cedar Point trip. Like others, I found the introductory pricing to be unbeatable for this area. As long as you are not looking for a 4-5 star "resort" and have a little patience Maui Sands can't be beat.

Having booked a 2-queen room, we found out that these are in the attached "Maui West", 2-level building. This was formerly a Holiday Inn Express and there is no elevator for the 2nd floor. If you are staying in one of the bunk-bed rooms or suites these should be in the newer main-building (with elevator access). Set aside a few minor housekeeping issues and the room was just fine.

As others have mentioned the water park is NOT open and is not expected to open until some time in 2013. The hotel pool is undergoing renovations and should be open in the next couple of weeks.

The hotel bar was excellent. Do not expect any fancy frozen drinks; however they have a standard selection of liquor and bottled beverages for GREAT prices. The attached restaurant has not yet opened. Previous reviews are spot-on for the free continental breakfast - a small selection of cereals, breads and juice -- unfortunately nothing else.

The best part of the stay was definitely the staff. Keep in mind that this hotel reopened less than a month ago, so much of the staff is still new and learning the property. Others have been around for the renovation and are extremely helpful and highly motivated for the future of this property. Because of this, we hope we can return in the future to see how Maui Sands evolves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddie219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My big family stayed here 6/10/2012. We had two room and was looking for something reasonable. The place was nice, 2 sets of bunk beds that the kids loved & a king bed, frig, microwave & coffee maker. very nice. We wish the water park was open. We were informed next season. We are going back to Cedar Point in September and we will be staying here. If your looking for sure luxury this isnt it. If your looking for a good location, very nice room, kid friendly and space for a big group with a wonderful staff. this is the place for you, and once that water park opens. WOW

Room Tip: first time there not sure which rooms are better then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albion11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

On the way home back from our Niagara trip, we decided to take a detour and visit Cedar Point for a night. I did quick research the day before check-in and was curious why there were so little reviews with a #1 ranking on TA. After noticing this was a new hotel (realized later on it was just renovated) I immediately jumped at the opportunity especially with the rates so affordable. According to the front desk, the Maui Sands just recently opened in May 2012.

Our room was clean and newly refurnished. It included 1 king and 2 SETS of bunk beds. It had a microwave and refrigerator. Although there were some flaws, we were thoroughly satisfied with the room and since the price was so affordable, it was a no-brainer to stay a 2nd night.

Let me just bullet-point everything else…

* Bunk room was missing a TV, but not big deal to us.
* One of the bunks was not safe. It was either poorly assembled or a bad design-- the whole bunk was moving and a portion of the ladder was coming off. After a several more uses, expect that thing to go down.
* Empty wall brackets at the sink and in the bathroom tub. These brackets are meant for soap dispensers. Either remove the brackets or put in some soap dispensers.
* I loved the trash bins. There are 2 wide bins.
* Included basic cable (practically every basic cable channel, some hotels limit you to only a certain amount).
* There is a full size mirror mounted in the bathroom.
* The room included an electronic safe that we wanted to use, but it was not working properly. Didn’t want to bother asking the front desk to unlock.
* Wifi very spotty.
* Hotel is an awkward location behind a Shell station. From the street, there is no drive in entrance/hotel sign to direct new guests where the front of the hotel is.
* Bad curb appeal. Outside of the hotel is sketchy at first impression. They probably have to spruce it up a little better. There is a tacky banner above the entrance. There are noticeable cheap/fake plants on the landscaping that don’t do any justice to the curb appeal.
* Lobby is dark and uninviting. There are thick trees that gloom the lobby. I recommend removing the trees, bring in more light into the lobby, and highlighting their future attraction (an indoor waterpark – which is not open yet).
* Pool will be open in a couple weeks according to the front desk. I hope they aren’t stalling.
* There is a motorcycle in the lobby. Why? Park it outside! It has nothing to do with the theme.
* The back office is viewable from the outside. Shade your windows! Your office looks in disarray.
* Elevators did not work on our 2nd day of stay. One of the elevators needs remodeling. It was like a service elevator. They used a loose fabric as a carpet – I’m sure there is some sort of code violation with this; someone can trip and injure themselves.
* Breakfast was weak. Go somewhere else.
* Finally, it was evident that this hotel is owned by a particular group who had family and friends hanging out at the bar, hanging out noticeably in the back office, and their kids in the hallways. Maui Sands Owners, please leave the hotel common area for guests only – and not as a hangout for your family/friends. I think Anthony Melchiorri from Hotel Impossible would agree.

If you are looking for an affordable stay with quality rooms, but low expectations on amenities, book this hotel in the summer of 2012; the demand is low and the rates are low. I’m not sure how long the nice room conditions will last, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see it decline in the future. Also once the water park opens, expect rates to increase.

Here are some recommendations for food in Sandusky:

* Berardi's Family Kitchen – Great place for home cooked American food. They have been around for 70 yrs. Known for their thick fries. I had their Hot Shredded Beef (Served between two slices of bread and topped with gravy). Loved it. Comfort food.
* Toft Dairy - A MUST for local ice cream. Expect large portions – really large. Their kids size would be equivalent to an extra large size from where I’m from. And I’m not exaggerating.
* Jolly Donuts – Good donuts.

=)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LetsGoWhiteSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and thought it would be great.

The good - the staff was friendly, the beds were good

The bad - we asked for a room with an outside window as we had bikes locked on top of the car, we got an outside window with a cement wall two feet in front of us.
- there was a large red stain on the carpet.
- the ice machines don't work.
- we asked for a wake up call and that did not happen.
- the juice machine did not work in the morning.
- all the staff could say was it is not my fault and looked confused.
- after all this there solution was when we were checking out to show us one of their nice rooms.

It could be a nice place, but it appears that the friendly staff is not trained so what could be a good experience was less than you would get at Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Groupon so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing