We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the crappyist place ever to stay will never stay again we found marijuana in the room it was a family room wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Budget Inn Sandusky
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the crappyist place ever to stay will never stay again we found marijuana in the room it was a family room wow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is the crappyist place ever to stay will never stay again we found marijuana in the room it was a family room wow they say they got hbo but don't have it and they say they have a washing service but don't the maids don't know how to clean didn't change the sheets clean the tables or the bath room or wash or clean the shower what do they get paid for I wish I was the maid get paid for doing nothing air/heat didn't work musty smells in the rooms wall weren't painted nails sticking out of wall they offer a breakfast there is none coffee hallways smell like piss yuck floors were not level and the carpet was squishy like wet

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshuatodd1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. While it is true that this particular property is marketed toward the budget-friendly consumer, there's no reason to expect anything less that clean, comfortable, safe accommodations. We will certainly use your comments as teachable moments for our staff to try to continue to improve our operation and our service to our guests. Thank you for your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    5
    15
    69
See reviews for
33
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Simply a horrible horrible hotel. Drove in late and all the hotels I called were booked up but this place had one room left. The sheets had lipstick on it, the bathroom exhaust was held up by duct tape, the bathroom mirror covered up half the the socket which made the sockets in the bathroom unusable, lipstick on one of the bathroom towels, bed was rock hard, musky smell in the room, ceiling tiles in the bathroom were caving in, and just an overall bad experience. Sure I would stay there again, if they paid me to stay in their hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zachary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experience during your stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay wasn't all that you expected it to be. As you probably know, this hotel is a seasonal property and is geared toward the budget-friendly consumer. However, that doesn't mean that anyone should expect anything less than clean, safe, comfortable accommodations. I hope that you'd treat this as an isolated incident and give us the opportunity to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

akron ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

was sent over after problems at the TRAVELODGE there other hotel we went to are rooms after a long day opened the door and the musty smell almost knocked us over. looked at bathroom and Mold was on all of the bathroom walls, there were spider webs all over and the spiders to go with them just a nasty room. said something to the desk person and he said yea I know but its my first night found out this place had been closed since November.

Room Tip: go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
You are correct; this is one of our seasonal properties and it sounds as if you stayed with us JUST after we opened for the season. I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay but can assure you that the issues you raised have been rectified. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room was dirty, the floors were not vacuumed, the beds were rock hard, it was musty, the beds needed dusting, I had to rinse bugs and hair out of the shower in the morning. It advertised breakfast, there is none, although wouldn't have eaten here. I could go on .... when I mentioned this I was given $20 in vouchers to be used at other hotels,,, the fact they are managed by the same property company is not comforting. The sheets did seem clean though... I have given this one star ONLY because there is not the option of no stars.

Room Tip: PAY $20 more and stay elsewhere! I wish I would have heeded the warnings!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonyo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for rating and reviewing your recent stay with us. Although not the kind of review we like to hear, it's certainly helpful for us as we continue to better train our staff. As you may know, we own several properties in the area--and each have very different price points. This particular property is a seasonal property and geared toward our budget-conscience guests. Having said that, however, doesn't mean that anyone should expect anything less that a clean, comfortable, safe stay. That is our aim at this property and we hope you'll give us another chance to prove that to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

we checked in and management was rude and unhelpful. went to our room and it was dirty puke on the window sill spiders and webs. sent up cleaning crew and they didnt clean anything we pointed out. there was mold on the ceiling and told us we can stay or leave and he'll refund our money. his excuse on the mold was "oh thats just water leaking in from outside" yeah cause all hotels are like that. worst hotel ever.

Room Tip: never stay in room 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experience at our hotel property. Although this particular property is certainly geared toward the budget-conscience family or individual, there's no reason to expect anything less than a clean, comfortable, safe environment. Unfortunately, I don't think you actually encountered any of our management staff--because NONE of us would have treated you that way--none of our staff should have either. Comments such as yours help us to continue working with our staff to know how to best respond to customer issues. Rest assured that your comments have been heard and that we will be discussing your situation in our management meetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you like mold and a spider infestation then this is the place for you. We arrived 8/11/2012 Saturday afternoon around 3pm and the rooms stunk of mold/mildew and this was AFTER rooms had been serviced. There was a gaping hole in the ceiling above the bath tub. The carpets were dirty, smelly, and heavily soiled (need pulling up). The TV's are out of date and don't bump them or reception will be lost!! I followed the cable cord behind the TV and discovered a loose connection from the back of the TV as well as a loose connection from the wall jack (dangling). The kids had the next door room and brought their video games for no reason as the TV's are so old the jack does'nt have a video game port. There was mold on our walls behid our bed traveling all the way up to the ceiling. There were spiders (big ones) and webs on each of our front doors as we got back at night from Cedar Point. I looked up and discovered that the spiders were playing hide and seek living in the rafters underneath the platform walkway. We noticed room service hadn't changed our sheets but dumped our garbage and gave us towels. The lady at the front desk said it's their policy to change sheets ONLY if we were to stay 3 or more nights. REALLY??? I then asked for a refund but she said it was too late and that should've been done before 11am. We slept in our clothes and kept the light on to check for bugs. People, the sign for this place should be an indication of what to expect as my son pointed out,"Dad look at their sign". Their sign to welcome visitors from the road is missing their name and not lit up like the other hotels. Swim in their pool at your own risk. Also, no life guard on duty. Also they don't have irons in the rooms or ironing boards. We asked for iron and they had one to share with the entire hotel. REALLY??? You indeed get what you pay for here. Not to mention we all got sick/cough. This place needs tearing down and start over. AWFUL!!! AWFUL!!! AWFUL!!!

Room Tip: Don't go to Best Budget Inn 5918 MIlan Rd. When booking hotel(s) check the star quality and READ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel property. Although, as you mention, this is a seasonal, buget-consience property--and the rates reflect that, there's no reason for anything less than clean, comfortable surroundings. We will continue to work with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to ensure that the items you brought to our attention are rectified. Thank you for sharing and helping us to continue to improve the quality of our product and services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived late in the evening after spending the day at Cedar Point. When we walked into the room, it was filthy. The carpet had not been vacuumed, and the bathroom was dirty. When we called down to the desk they offered us a refund if we wanted to leave ( yeah really want to go looking for a different hotel at 11 on a Friday night in June) or we could look at a couple of other rooms. We found one that was passable. The next morning I approached the Manager about taking some off our bill, she was very rude and refunded us a whopping $15. Ran out of towels. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Best Budget Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experiences at our hotel. Although we fell short of the mark in your particular situation, I'm glad that you were able to find a room that met your standards. I'm also glad that our manager recognized your inconvenience and offered to reduce your rate. The comments that you have offered will give us an opportunity to review our processes and standards with our housekeeping department and rectify situations like you spoke of. Thanks for helping us to make continuous quality improvements and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Budget Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Budget Inn Sandusky

Property: Best Budget Inn Sandusky
Address: 5918 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5866 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Sandusky)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Best Budget Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated for the summer of 2014, the the Best Budget Inn Sandusky is a big savings hotel! Bring the family and friends along to enjoy our selection of larger 1, 2, and 3 bedroom family-style rooms, as well as rooms with a separate two-person Jacuzzi. Your stay includes free wi-fi internet access, HBO and ESPN, free local calls, and an outdoor pool. We also offer a game room, laundry service, and easy access to local restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Budget Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Budget Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Budget Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Budget Inn
Best Budget Inn Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing