We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience! Kids liked it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandusky KOA campground
Reviewed June 23, 2009

bUGS WERE CRAZY AT NIGHT. Trains didn't bother us and we were all the way in the back next to them. The prices are extremely good! 20 a night with Koa card. Great for a family of 6! So close to cedar point. We like to be off to our self and they are very accomidating. We stayed for 4 days

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theclinefamily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 177 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

This place was great! All the facilities and the grounds were very clean and well-kept. There are quite a few trees here, but some of the campsites are in full sun. The people that complained about the trains are right, they do come by the campground but being that you are camping outside, I expected some noise. They have security on the grounds, and all staff members were very nice and helpful. The prices were unbelievably decent for the campground being that close to Cedar Point. Overall a great place to camp!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We have been coming to Bayshore Campground for 9 years. The location is perfect for our needs. Cedar Point is only 5 minutes away. The sites are a little tight be we did not mind because of the friendly campers near by. The facilites in the campgrounds are clean. My children enjoy the free activitys and crafts provided by the campground. I am defenitly coming back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RVCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

My husband & I barely got any sleep during the week due to the constant freight trains that run through Sandusky and the tracks are very close to the campground. Plus the trains always had to blast the horn when going by, no matter if it was 11pm or 3am!
We paid the extra money to have a bay area tent site which was supposed to have a view of the bay. The view of the bay from these sites was through a very small opening in the reeds/grass and only if the people who had the tent site with the opening were not around, were we able to peek through and get a glimpse of the water. There is lots of sites, some with picnic tables & fire rings, no real privacy between sites. All in one open grassy area with a few trees for shade. We were told by the office staff that we could get the free WiFi anywhere in the park - What this really means is everywhere but the bay area tent sites.
Also, the office staff couldn't even tell me how to get to the local post office, they gave me very vague directions and couldn't even tell me the name of the street it was on. Their local tourist brochures were lacking and really didn't provide much help in planning our visit to the area.
We have stayed at many KOA campgrounds through the USA & Canada, this one had to be the worst.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We made reservations in May '08 for a 3 bedroom cabin at this campground for mid July '08, which is now called Sandusky KOA campground. We had contacted the facility directly for reservations, they took $101 deposit to guarantee our reservation (shown on credit card statement). However, we had called the night prior to our scheduled arrival with a few questions, only to find out that they had NO record of our payment/reservation. We had chose this facility specifically for the 3 bedroom cabin (perfect for our family of seven), the price was reasonable, and for it's location to all the activities we'd planned for our vacation week (Cedar Point/AfricanSafari/Boating). Needless to say, finding out we had no cabin the night before was extremely upsetting. We were packed, ready for a week at Lake Erie; five children were crying their eyes out. We talked to Terry, the night manager at length that night. He did his best to locate the root of this problem, but to no avail. He advised us to contact the daytime manager at 9am the following morning. Lots of sleep lost that night - vacation only comes around once a year and lots of planning time had already been done to guarantee a great family vacation. We spent hours on the phone that morning -with various area managers/owner...they did what they called their best by offering us 2 Knights Inn hotel rooms along with a campsite and a hundred dollar discount total....we went up, as this was our only option this late notice, only to find musty smelling rooms at hotel, outdated, bad location, poor view, tiny pool, small fitness room with no windows and only 3 machines...plus we didn't like splitting our family up into two rooms, as children too young to sleep in own room without adult. Wouldn't recommend that KnightsInn either. They had made it sound like hotel and campground were so close, but there's a car dealer in middle and you had to drive all the way around to get to campground. So, we left shortly after arrival, I guess they can say that they "attempted" to make us happy (not without much prodding though), they refunded our $....but they ruined our Lake Erie vacation week.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank rarecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

After reading some of the reviews on this site I was a little worried that the campsite would not be up to par. That is far from the experience that my family recived. Everything was neat and clean and at 11 pm (Quiet time) everyone did quiet down. The bathrooms are cleaned everyday for an hour and the campsite really wasnt crowded. The staff was very friendly and helpful and all the activities that they have available kept the kids busy especially the pool. We will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank macksmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

The website made me look forward to staying at this campground. I was surprised by the lack of natural beauty. I was expecting to have views of the lake, but they were in the very back of the campground and the view of the lake was overgrown with greenery. The bathrooms were very nice, except that the one by the pool was usally wet and soggy. The pool was nice. I liked how close we were to Cedar Point. But - boy was this campground LOUD. The train whistle was amazing in its loudness and frequency starting at about midnight. After two nights I got some earplugs and this really, really helped.

I will avoid this campground in the future because of the lack of a fishing pond and the incredibly loud train.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KaJeHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
4.8 mi away
Camp Sandusky
Camp Sandusky
#4 of 6 in Sandusky
179 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandusky KOA campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandusky KOA campground

Address: 2311 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4413
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandusky KOA campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandusky Koa Campground Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky KOA Campground Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing