We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful permanent campers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandusky KOA campground
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful permanent campers”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in a park model which was nice, but it was not very clean when we got there. The permanent campers that stay there were extremely rude when we got there. They were sitting almost in the road and letting their kids run in the street and yelled at us for speeding (which we weren't) and then they tried to start a fight with my husband saying we didn't care about children. I told them I was a teacher and they were quiet after that but the rest of the weekend they gave us a hard time everytime we drove by. they didnt leave a lot of room to get by and would purposely walked in front of our car when we were trying to leave. I've never had this problem and we camp often just usually in our camper. Good thing we were there for the amusement park, which it is very close to. The bathrooms were okay. Probably won't stay here again because of the rude people there. The employees were nice to us though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flutejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    35
    26
    30
See reviews for
82
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

KOA is always a Great place to stay. Sandusky KOA was perfect and close for us to go to Cedar Point. We found it online, called and stopped by to book a Cabin. Friendly check in and this place has everything you need: wooded campground, pool, store, clean showers and toilets. the cabin was pefect size and clean. #174 had a/c, full bed and 2 bunks, picnic table, fire pit , and gravel parking spot. Only negative thing i could say it is right by the train tracks and you can here the noise from that, but still able to sleep great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NycPhoto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clairsvill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I read the other reviews of this campground and found it hard to believe we stayed at the same place ! We found this campground to be one of the nicer ones we've been in , and we travel a lot in our fifth wheel. The office staff as helpful, the lots are level , maybe a little small but have beautiful mature trees lining the streets. The pool was great, grandson and I enjoyed it ..and it's heated. We used the restrooms and found them sparkling clean. Each site had a fire ring and picnic table and not the old ones with splinters but new, molded plastic one, very nice and clean. There's an abundance of flowers, cabins of various sizes for individual needs, and all in all, we were well pleased with our visit here. And did I mention , it's close to many interesting things to do in this area. Perhaps there has been a change in management since some of the less than favorable reviews but , whatever, we can highly recommend this campground !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a nice camp ground close to Cedar Point amusement park which may be the reason they can get $50 a night for a full hookup site. We stayed one night just before opening at the "bargain rate" of $30. At that price, it is definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRWestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked 2 park models for my family and my cousin and their family. I booked it based on price and location to cedar point. What a big mistake! First off we arrived and the park model was dirty, the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. If that wasn't enough, a train track is directly across the street, and trains come through all night blowing their whistle. We got little sleep. We will never come back!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scot0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

waterford, mi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked a park model at the Sandusky KOA because it was a great savings over local hotels for a Cedar Point trip. We didn't spend a lot of time there, but it was AWESOME being able to make breakfast in the morning before going into the park and making dinner Friday night! The cabin was clean and the employees at checkin were very nice. The rooms in the park model were very small, but all we needed as a bed to sleep in and a hot shower in the morning! Beds weren't very comfortable, but served our purpose. Yes, it is right by train tracks, but we never heard a whistle so it didn't keep or wake us up a night. As a cheap alternative to a hotel where we can cook to save money on food at the park, I would definitely recommend the KOA park models! We may try camping there next summer for another Cedar Point Trip and report back then, but I can't see where our review would be any different. The place looked fine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psoupWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Sorry but truth be known yes staff is nice but this is a party place all night long if you want to sleep NOT happening. Parties until all hours with campfires next to your camper! They are one on top of the other! 3/4 of the people are year round residents! Train tracks next to park all night long whistles are going! Not cheap and NO shade! They may tell you shade but you are in open sun. I did not got to Ciderpoint because I did not want to be in sun all day. If I had to do over I would go to cider point pay more get sleep and not feel like I am in motel 6! VERY BAD! NO can not recommend at all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi-Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.6 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
#17 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandusky KOA campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandusky KOA campground

Property: Sandusky KOA campground
Address: 2311 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4413
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandusky KOA campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandusky Koa Campground Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky KOA Campground Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing