We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It could be the best overall value for a reasonably priced overnight stay while attending Cedar Point.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2027 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Best Budget Inn North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It could be the best overall value for a reasonably priced overnight stay while attending Cedar Point.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My son and I have been attending Cedar Point since He was quite small.

We had stayed at various facilities over the years and have found The Best Budget Inn North most consist in service, cleanliness and price. The close proximity to The Cedar Point Causeway proves to be invaluable, after a long day spent at the park.

This facility may offer the best value for your dollar while visiting The Cedar Point Amusement Park.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cancoasterenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    36
    17
    14
    18
See reviews for
55
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is situated just outside Cedar Point. The prices are very reasonable and the hotel is very well kept and very clean inside and out. The free breakfast was always fresh and good. The staff were all very nice friendly and helpful with any thing I needed or asked about. The pool was closed but looked very nice in the spring when I stayed there the first time. This was my second visit to Cedar Point for this season and I picked this hotel for its price and location. I came back the second time this fall because of the location and what a great experience I had the first time.

Room Tip: Both rooms that I stayed in were very nice and well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The breakfast room and breakfast for this hotel was the best part of our stay. There were many tables, with space between them, and the breakfast was nice. However, in room 133, the TV didn't work (couldn't turn it on w/ the remote and there was no power button on the TV). Rm 133 had been a smoking room (from smell & burn marks on sink), but we had asked for non-smoking. There was hair in the bathroom in room 134. The tub in rm 133 didn't drain. A light bulb was missing in room 133 and the overhead light didn't work in room 134. The clerk found a bulb that we installed in 133, but she said nothing could be done about the overhead light. The fitted sheet on one bed in 133 didn't fit the bed, so the mattress showed. They had surfaces for opening suitcases, but they were unusable because safes were on them. Otherwise, there were no suitcase stands. The train that others complained about didn't bother us. When we told the clerk about our problems she was friendly but said there was no one to fix things and that she couldn't leave the desk. Oh yes, when we first arrived at 5:00pm she said her credit card device wasn't working and asked us to go do something (like eat) until it was fixed. In all, I think this hotel has a management problem. Many of these things could be prevented by using check lists and there should be some means of immediately correcting problems pointed out by guests. This could be a nice hotel but as it stands now we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms 133 & 134
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Non smoking room, smelled musty, bed spread and blankets stained, sofa bed cig burns and mattress torn big and guts falling out. Bathroom sink did not drain, carpet dirty. All 4of us kept our clothes on to sleep ,got up and left at 6:30 AM.....not because we had to just wanted to escape. Paid extra for a deluxe room w sofa bed.....right. Outside Cedar Point, but close...which was why we were there. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one, since ours was the Deluxe.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend get away. The rooms are a little small but they are nice. The staff is nice and friendly. It is also close to cedar point, I would remecomed this hotel to any of my friends. The only con about this hotel is the walls are thin and you can hear things, but other than that it is a great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Planned a family trip to Cedar Point and went on line to read reviews in trying to find a hotel that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg but still be close enough to all the attractions. This hotel had a few bad reviews but I am here to tell you that this place was great, from the girl who check us in (wish I could remember her name but blonde and energetic) to the owner who we came to know through our 4 days here and the housekeeping staff who were very nice. The rooms were VERY CLEAN, no odors as noted in previous reviews and the price was very affordable. The hotel is nicely located close to everything, literally steps from a TGIF (which I don't recommend-but that is another review for another time) and right around the corner from the road to Cedar Point. I highly recommend this hotel to anybody as the staff does go out of their way to help and it is very decently kept up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneboro, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

All this hotel has going for it is that it is close to Cedar Point. The rooms smelled badly, I was part of a group that had 5 rooms. One had to be moved to another room since it smelled so bad. The girl almost got kicked out because the manager did not want to give her a new room and she argued with him. My room did smell but I had air freshener with me and that helped. The rooms were not very clean. Hair in shower and dirty carpet. The beds were very very uncomfortable. The rate wasn't too bad for being so close to Cedar Point, but I think I will spend more money or stay farther away for same money next time!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#18 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#10 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Property: Budget Host Inn
Address: 2027 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Best Budget Inn North)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WIFI is only available in the Lobby Area. If paying cash there is a $25.00 deposit refundable upon inspection of the room at check out. Pet fee is $50.00 refundable upon inspection of the room, only 1 dog knee high less then 50 lbs. and must be with the owner at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Budget Inn North Hotel Sandusky
Budget Inn Sandusky
Budget Host Inn Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing