We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dump. But a reasonably clean dump.”
Review of South Shore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Shore Inn
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Didn't expect much for a two-room "suite" for 100 bucks, but was just looking for a place that would take the dog without a hassle. It was certainly old and cheap, but it seemed clean enough. Beds were passable. Suite had two fulls and a Murphy in the other room. Darkest room I ever stayed in as lighting was minimal, to say the least. People were nice enough and brought extra sheets when we asked for them, and didn't disturb the dog during our day at the park.

Pool was OK only. Thai in-hotel restaurant was a very easy pass after one look. Free "breakfast" is a joke. White bread and toaster. One dinky waffle machine with scary looking batter. Two cheapo cereals. Lame coffee. Don't bother.

There is the advertised "game room"...just make sure you bring your own games and then you can sit and play them in the empty room.

If you are looking for "nice" go elsewhere. Looking to crash with kids and dog, etc. without a hassle or worry about somehow ruining the room? Maybe OK. But I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I were going to CedarPoint with his brother and sister in law and their three tennage kids, so we reserved a three room suite. It was disgusting. Everything was old and musty smelling, I had to run to the store for some room fresheners. The furniture was way outdated. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls. Definetly not worth the $200/ night that you pay. We stayed for two nights and I had gone to the front desk to let them know that we did not need housekeeping or fresh towels because we had gotten extra when we checked in. We came back from the park around 6:30 pm and one of the doors to our room was wide open, I went inside and there was housekeeping, she said the front desk told her to come give us fresh towels, when I had specifically told them we didn't need any. The worst part about this is, she was in the middle room of the suite and she had left the door wide open into the room with the two double beds, she couldn't even see into the room and someone could have stolen something and she would have never known. Moral of the story-Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxer-love4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I decided to stay at South Shore based on relatively good reviews on Tripadvisor. We rolled in to Sandusky at 1am and did not have reservations but pulled in to South Shore anyway. I was greeted by a man who was friendly and attentive. I wanted a suite but they were booked already so I took a standard room. Arriving so late I asked if he could reduce the room cost for that night and he knocked $30 off the $100 normal rate.

In checking in to the room, we found it clean an tidy--no problems. The primary complaint from my two boys and wife was the double beds. We are spoiled and sleep on large beds at home. This obviously is not the fault of South Shore. We slept well the first night and based on other reviews on Tripadvisor, I listened close for the sound of a train. I did hear it but barely. It was far from loud enough to wake me up. Later the next day I crossed the train tracks where the train travels near the hotel. Its a fast speed freight rail line that is about 4 or 5 blocks away.

After spending the day at Cedar Point and retuning to our room at about 10pm I was disappointed to have a bunch of people smoking outside the doors of the non-smoking building. The smoking building is on the opposite side of the parking lot and I don't know why they weren't over there.

My boys were looking forward to using the pool and they decided not to because it was fairly packed but we did use the use the next morning. The pool was clean and refreshing. The slides were also fun.

The continental breakfast is where I'd mark South Shore down the most. Waffles, bread/toast, and cereal. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and fruit would not be that big of a deal to add and it would have made a big difference.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_from_Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Nice looking hotel from outside and lobby. rooms did not look bad. went out for a while
came back full of ANTS. called the desk, attendant on phone could care less. sent guy to spray. asked for a manage. not available, someone would leave a message for him. do you think i heard from him. of course not., when i went to see him, he did not care, will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyf712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Spent one night on our way to Cedar Point. Kids loved the pool with slides. Met our family there and they stayed on the first floor which I guess has been updated and turned into suites. They were nice. We stayed on the upper floor of the motel which was not remodeled, but nice nonetheless. Clean is important to me and it was. My only bad for here was that the beds did not have fitted sheets on them. When you move, the top sheet would move too and then it was just bare mattress. If and when I go back, I'd stay here again for sure, but I'd either ask for fitted sheets, or bring my own.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8Ful5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is a decent hotel. The first women that tried to check us in didn't seem to have a clue what she was doing. I asked if there was a pool room available and she said "we'll have to just see where you are assigned" I asked another question that was just ignored. Fortunately a nice male clerk came over, took care of everything and we were ready to go in a minute or two after the other lady still hadn't figured it out after 10 minutes. The continental breakfast was decent. They should move the waffle iron away from everything else to ease line congestion. They could also use a couple more waffle irons. The room was fair, but could use updating. The pool and basic waterslide was rather nice. Might stay again, but would probably try other hotels in the area first.

The Thai restraunt in the place was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This was a bad stay all the way around. We were scheduled for two nights on a holiday weekend. Wound up leaving the second night at midnight and made a 4hr drive home because there was no vacancy in the town anywhere.

The room was musty smelling and hot. There was stains on the carpets in the loby, stairs, and in the room. The outside hot tub never worked. The shower in the room was so low, my husband had to kneel to take a shower. There is a restaurant in the lobby - once when we left, we seen a child riding her bicycle through the dining area. There was supposed to be a continental breakfast, but we never saw that either. But the icing on the cake was when we laid down after a LONG day at Cedar Point and found a spider in the bed. I'm allergic to spiders so we called the front desk to complain. All we got was an offer to come up and kill it. Eventually we were offered another room. Finally we demanded a refund and left.

During one of our trips to the front desk to inquire about the hot tub, we overheard another guest's complaint. Turns out she was traveling with friends and had two rooms. Her room was not ready, but they checked her in and gave her a key to the room. Luckily she placed her luggage in her friends' room. Later that night upon her arrival back at the hotel, she entered her room to find strangers in her room - they re-rented the same room.

Maybe we were just there on a bad weekend, but I would definitely not go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydaisy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.8 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Inn

Address: 2047 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $58 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Shore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Shore Inn is a family friendly hotel conveniently located minutes away from the world-famous Cedar Point Amusement Park and downtown Sandusky. This Sandusky hotel is committed to excellent customer satisfaction! Our longstanding custom of providing supreme comfort and enjoyment has earned us a stellar reputation in the lodging industry. We’re sure you’ll find that our distinctive service, exceptional value and warm hospitality make us the ideal location to accommodate you and your family or group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your South Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Hotel Sandusky
South Shore Sandusky
South Shore Inn Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing