We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very decent motel close to Cedar Point. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff very nice and breakfast in the morning was a plus with great options to choose from. Second time staying here while visiting Cedar Point and will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gthomas108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I was weary of staying at this cheap motel but it's good. I have slept great and felt safe. No. Not fancy but
It's a great value and just as good as the Hotel Breakers. Much much better value. Easy drive from Cedar Point. Would definitely stay again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenbean1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose to stay at this hotel for our weekend trip to Cedar Point in June. We read all of the great reviews for this place and were expecting a decent stay. We were very disappointed.

When I checked in, the lady at the front desk was very friendly and gave me a run down of where to find everything we would need. When we found our room, we were disappointed to find that it was on the first floor and directly opens into the pool area, which was full of very loud children the entire night. The room was extremely musty smelling despite being a non smoking room, and felt dirty. We even found a used floss pick on the floor next to the bed. On the bright side, the room had a mini fridge and a microwave, which were nice, and the bed was clean.

Within 1 minute of being in the room we heard and felt the first train go by. We never actually saw where the trains were, but the entire night they went by and were extremely loud.

On a positive note, this hotel had a very nice continental breakfast, including fruit, yogurt, granola bars, and donuts.

All in all, it was not the worst place we could have stayed (we saw some real gems down the street!) but next time I will definitely fork over the extra bit of cash to stay somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level and facing the front would be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank callmekatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend in July and found this hotel to be just average. First off, the walls are paper thin and we could clearly hear the neighbors conversations even though they were taking in normal voices. You could also hear a train that passed by but it did not disrupt my sleep. We stayed in a room with a Jacuzzi tub, which was nice, but very loud. Ours did have a closed in bathroom (room 326), unlike other travelers who have reviewed this hotel, so some of the rooms must be set up different. The bed had a spring popping up that was very annoying. The breakfast was not the greatest but we did eat it every morning. They serve muffins, donuts, bagels, English muffins, frozen waffles, yogurt, apples, bananas, and cereal. I sent my English muffin through the toaster twice and it didn't even warm it up enough to melt the butter, let alone toast it. We did not actually go swimming but the pool was about the size of our king size bed. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful but I do not think we would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ohiomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Each year when we go to cedar point, we stay at this Knight Inn location.
The good: We stayed in a jacuzzi room this time, we got the rate of 79/night thru Verizon rewards so why not....the staff is super friendly and makes you feel welcome! The rooms are a good size, and overall comfortable. The jacuzzi is huge. The pool temp is good, breakfast is good, and the property is clean, although dated, again is clean. The WIFI worked great as well.

The not so good: There is no privacy between the tub/bathroom & the room itself other then a shower curtain that doesnt go wall to wall all the way. It wasnt an issue for us, but for some it might be. The tv's they use are cheap off brand. The tv that was in our room this trip didnt power on at all (tried the button on the tv itself, working outlet, etc). Front desk came quickly and brought a new tv. which worked but being an off brand, the sound quality was bad. You can hear the train at times, and the jacuzzi in the pool area is super loud. My fathers room was near it and if it was on, you heard it well.

Personally we have never had an issue in all the years we have stayed here, and will continue to stay here on our trips to sandusky/lake erie.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank radze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hotel options were few for a July 3-4 stay if you were looking for a reasonable price. We chose this hotel for a family of 5. Although the receptionist was friendly enough no other staff person was. The 2 double beds were barely comfortable. The challenges in getting to sleep that night consisted of the frequent passing of trains that were fairly noisy as well as the couple above us who's bed was making a lot of spring noises clearly audible for our entire family. The creaky floors from the couple above walking around lasted till 2am. The continental breakfast was barely satisfactory with awful tasting coffee. The cheap motel-like feel was not something that we would have anticipated given the cost of this place. It was ironic that we stayed in a two star rated hotel the next night some distance away for $25 less and it was extravagant in comparison. We will definitely not opt for this accommodation in the future.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, pick a room on the top floor and at the back of the hotel...away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_FamilyFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here the night before Cedar Point day. Very nice employees, nice room, comfortable, clean everywhere here. Room had 2 dbl beds, fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, nice new TV and micro-wave. The only negative were the outside lights right by the room door. Everytime we opened the door, mosquitos flew in by droves. Hairspray kills them so we were fine. This is by far the nicest, cleanest and most accomodating Knights Inn anywhere. The pool is somewhat small compared to some bigger places, but IT'S CLEAN. I'll take CLEAN over big anyday! Only 5 minutes to Cedar Point Causeway, no conjested traffic because your going towards CP from here the opposite direction of most other motels. We definitely will stay here again and I highly recommend this place for a relaxing night's stay and a very nice, clean place for the price.

Room Tip: Try to request a first floor room to avoid mosquitos in the summer when you go in and out of your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
360 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Sandusky OH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Address: 2405 Cleveland Rd W, Sandusky, OH 44870-4414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $56 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Sandusky OH 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knights Inn Sandusky OH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Knights Inn
Knights Inn Sandusky OH Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing