We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Stayed 3 nights, king bed room. The room was clean, except for a dead bug in the coffeemaker. It smelled of cigerette smoke when we returned from Cedar Point the SECOND day, even though we didn't smoke and it was a non-smoking room(?). The decor was dull & outdated, but everything was in good condition. There was a sign in the bathroom that said to turn on the fan and close the door when taking a shower, because steam makes the fire alarm go off. If the fire alarm does operate properly, will it go off if there is an actual fire?...The hotel is across the street from train tracks, where trains passed at least once/hr, making a loud rumble for several minutes each time. You can also hear people talking outside, and walking around upstairs, etc.--kind of a noisy place. I would recommend bringing a box fan to drone out noises. While not a really nice place, this hotel is fine for families who are going to spend the day in the park anyway, and just need a place to crash. Very close and convenient to Cedar Point--only one turn. There is a microwave and fridge in every room which is very nice. Breakfast was oatmeal, pop tarts, muffins, fruit, bagels, cereal, pastries, etc., but served in a screened-in pavilion even though it was in the THIRTIES--BURRRR! Good value for the $.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank klbh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 303 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2008

I stayed here for two nights while visiting Cedar Point during their Halloweekends season. The hotel was already cheap and we got an AAA discount on top of that. It is only a short five-minute drive from Cedar Point and the rates are much lower than that of Cedar Point-owned hotels.

The room was decent but did smell a little musty when we first arrived. There is nothing severely wrong with the hotel but it couldn't hurt to be updated a bit. The only serious complaint I have is that the walls are VERY thin. You can hear nearly everything that goes on in the rooms next to and above yours.

Overall, this is a decent place to stay if you just want somewhere clean and close to sleep while visiting Cedar Point. The price and location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank am84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I wasn't quite sure what to expect, I didn't have very high expectations to begin with. We just needed a hotel that was safe, clean and close to Cedar Point because we knew we would arrive late in the evening and leave early the next morning. Knights Inn was only a mile or so away from the Causeway, which was wonderful because by the end of the day we were exhausted from walking around the park. We actually had 2 rooms, my room (#113) was fine, no problems, but our second room smelled like someone had just smoked an entire package of cigarettes just before we arrived. CONS: A few trains passed by in the night waking us up & someone directly above us kept walking around the room driving us a little crazy. PROS: The continental breakfast was wonderful... they served a variety of items from cold cereal, oatmeal, muffins, danish to fresh fruits, juices and granola bars. We were satisfied overall, I would probably stay again but only in room 113!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

I am a regular traveler to Sandusky and I am well aware of the lack of nice hotels in the area. I thought I would give the Knights Inn a try for a two night stay this past weekend.

Upon arrival the hotel has good curb appeal but it dwindles once you step into the lobby, or drive around to the motel style rooms on the sides of the hotel.

We were given a room in the very back corner of the hotel which seemed strange to me as there was only a handful of cars in the parking lot. Anyways, after swatting away the cobwebs to enter the room we were hit with a musty smell (which remained throughout the weekend) and a dated basic room. The room was as advertised but was not a place you felt comfortable and relaxed in. One nice thing about the rooms was the provided mini fridge, and microwave. Although I had to dispose of the previous guests leftovers that were left in the fridge. You can hear the trains passing by every half hour - but it's not terribly loud. The towels, and toiletries are very basic.

The free breakfast was good (nothing hot) but a good selection of donuts, bagels, and pastries. It's served in a screened in room in the center of the complex.

One frustration was after breakfast on check out day (9:30 am) we returned to our room to find the card deactivated. The front desk didn't have an explanation as checkout was not until 11:00 am but they reactivated it for us. One thing to be weary of is they charge $2.00 per day for "phone access" and $1.00 per day for a "safe charge." They don't let you know in advance - and it's a nice surprise waiting for you on your bill. It's only $3.00 per night, but it irritated me as i was not advised beforehand. I requested they remove the charges and the girl working the front desk started to argue with me, however after asking for the manager she returned to advised they removed the charges.

Personally, I will look elsewhere next time I come to Sandusky.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SB270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

What a great find,this hotel was perfect in every way,the location was off the main road in Sandusky and everything was less than 10 min. away including the best pizza I ever had at Marco's.if you are looking for a great relaxing CLEAN place to stay and you are humble this is the tops if you are a hot shot who wants to brag about staying at some so called fancy place which by the way are all located on a very busy noisy strech of road for twice the price then have fun looking at the Walmart parking lot from your room.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Our stay was great... Great room.. lots of room and loved to see a save in the room and microwave.... Found the pool to be alittle small..... The hotel was in a great location.. not to far from cedar point and a quiet location.. there is a train that running right by the hotel.. but we never heard them. We were alittle thrown by the look of the hotel, but had a great time.. staff was very friendly. I recommend this hotel. Great Stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We had a great stay at the Knights Inn. Only complaint is our room was not cleaned until late in the afternoon. We spent 5 nights at the Knights Inn, the kids had a great time swimming when we were not at Cedar Point or Soak City. The staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was good, variety of food. The room was comfortable, close to Cedar Point and Soak City. We are already planning on going back to the Knights Inn in August 2009.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank molson244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Sandusky OH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Address: 2405 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $55 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Sandusky OH 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Knights Inn Sandusky OH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Knights Inn
Knights Inn Sandusky OH Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing