We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend. Wonderful Family Getaway”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Our family just returned from Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky. Two night stay and was a perfect length, we headed to Cedar Point after check out. This is our second stay at the lodge this past year. And even better than the first time. Upon arrival, the lobby is fun for the kids. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating. We had a small issue with our Kids Cabin room and we were moved right away without any issues. The lodge has restaurants, snack bar and a gift shop. Plenty to do from water park, outdoor pool (seasonal), arcade, Cub Club, which we never had time to try as well as a play room for small children. To be honest, this water park is catered to the young children. I have a 4 and 6 year old and was perfect. Very impressed with the many life guards and how clean the park is maintained. The water park had two small slides for the young kids, a small ankle depth pool, larger pool with basketball hoops, two large slides using tubes, small lazy river, (2) hot tubs, and a few more other slides (dark though) as well as a four story tree house with water buckets and robes to pull, etc. The water park never seemed overly crowded and was perfect. We did not eat at any of the restaurants this trip. We decided to go out locally to eat. Pleny of places to eat nearby. We felt the restaurants in the lodge were overpriced for the quality, but we did eat lunch at the snack bar. As far as the room, I am very particular about where my family stays and our Kids Cabin met all of my expectations. Clean, fun for the kids with the bunk bed and their own TV. The only issues that we did have, which is probably an issue for any resort that is catered to kids is the noise level in the halls at night. Other than that, we are planning another stay by the end of the year.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank kmw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,422 - 2,428 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

Loved Great Wolf Lodge - Sandusky! I have a 6 yr old and a 2 yr old and we've gone twice this summer already. The kids loved it and truthfully it was better than what I expected. Rooms were very clean both times. Water park extremely clean! Park is just the right size, especially for smaller children.

Only complaints would be that the pillows were terrible, pizza from room service was ridiculously overpriced and horrible. We ended up throwing it away after a few bites. We brought our own food and drinks so that's really the only food experience we had there other than fries & drinks from inside the water park (also expensive - but good). Highly recommend that you bring your own cooler for the room.

Also, I may be being picky, but I think the water park could use an indoor pool that is in-between toddler and teen years for depth. The only pool that my 6 yo could actually swim in was the lazy river (not really for "swimming", but we walked it) and the outdoor pool, which obviously is weather permitting and not open as early or late as indoor park hours. The toddler pool was too shallow and the other pool was over her head so she couldn't swim there. Basically we couldn't really swim together unless we were in the lazy river.

Overall though we found it quite enjoyable with plenty to do other than the water park. They have a nice, big game room, a room for kids to color, paint, read books etc., a "build a bear" station, gift shops, and tons of restaurants and shopping within minutes or driving.

A big plus with Great Wolf is that only hotel guests can use the park. It's not open to the public like Kalahari, so it's not ridiculously crowded. We just got back a few days ago and I'm already thinking of when we will go again. Maybe when it cools down. Great Wolf will be a great winter time get away!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucksnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had an awesome time during our stay. I booked the room back in May so it was a great rate plus we received a free upgrade for the kids cabin since we stayed Tuesday through Friday. The only problem was our key card to the room would only work once. Then every other time I had to have them reset the keys. The Manager gave me $30.00 in Wolf bucks to use for our inconvenience and offered to knock off another $100.00 bucks if we stayed another night. The Restaurants were OK , the kids meal was way too expensive $9.00 (does not include drink ) but the breakfast at the other restaurant was well worth the price for all the food you get plus the omelet bar. The kids enjoyed the water park, not the biggest , but worth the price and did the job. The life guards at this place are amazing and the staff is very friendly also. We went to the Kalahari for a day and I don't think its worth the money $39.00 each. The life guards there don't have a clue. The Great Wolf lodge is definitely worth the price. My kids are 12, 4, and 11 months and enjoyed themselves very much .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I don't think there was a sour soul in the bunch. From the (very large number of) lifeguards in the waterpark area to the amazingly patient lady at the arcade ticket redemption counter, everyone seemed to be happy to be there, and seemed to genuinely enjoy interacting with the guests.

The waterpark was way cool. Even I had a good time playing in the water, and the kids had a total blast. The lines for slides were very short, and none of the pools were overcrowded. Somebody did a very nice job of crowd planning.

The room was very nice and comfortable. I would have preferred a little better sound insulation in the wee hours of the morning when some bozo came walking down the hall bouncing a basketball (at least that's what it sounded like). But hey, what hotel is basketball-proof? :)

Skip the breakfast, though. I cannot think of a better word to describe breakfast than "bizarre." There was a fresh fruit buffet, and a very friendly and chatty lady making omelets.... but the majority of the food was brought directly to our table, stacked up on a platter. Hash browns, sausage, bacon, eggs and french toast sticks could have been much more easily served from another small buffet table rather than brought to us, and then nobody would have had to wait for the waitress to bring the food, and wait for refills of food. The food was good but not great, with the exception of the biscuits, which may very well have been made from sawdust (cough).

Anyway, skip the breakfast and you'll have nothing but a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had such a great time at this resort. It was so clean and the staff was very friendly. What we loved most is its uniqueness. Lots of activities for kids and the waterpark was a blast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umm_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Large rooms with plenty of space for a family of four. The shower/toilet area is very small, but the sink/mirror area in the main room has plenty of space. Nice balcony. Beds are a bit squeaky, but slept well. Kids loved the water slides, but they closed at 9pm, and we didn't see that posted on the website, and arrived at 830, so nothing was available after 9. Definitely good for families with smaller children.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowisekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed for three nights with our young sons ( ages 3 and 6) and were very disappointed with the hotel. First of all this really shouldn't be allowed to be called a waterpark, since there is not that much to do. There is only 1 pool outdoors and it only goes to 4ft. The same depth as the indoor pool. Secondly both seem heated and with the temps outside and inside we're looking to cool down and that didn't do the trick. There are only two places for the little ones to play... both are water slides. There is a family hot tub (but it is not staffed by lifeguards) and there were a few little kids who weren't supervised by their parents and should have been. While it's a good idea to have an adults only hot tub the family tub is not as much fun as the Adult.

Anyway they do have a crafts (activities) place for kids but after shelling out $600 for our 2 night stay (3rd was free) the prices were outrageous and not worth it. So that did cause one melt down. It was about $20 a child just to start.

The food at the hotel was very overpriced as well thankfully there was a steak and shake nearby. You are not allowed to bring outside food or drink but they do have a cafe located by the doors that lead to the outside pool. But their prices are compared to that of an amusement park. $2.25 for bottled water, $6 for the souvenir cups $2 refill.... You can easily spend $20 just on snacks alone.

The rooms are showing their age and wallpaper in the bathroom and the border was very ugly, beds are showing their age.

We had fun but not $600 worth. There is practically nothing there for adults and we like to have fun too :(

At least the arcade was fairly priced.

I do like that every employee I came in contact with was very very nice.

The internet connection was very slow, and the fitness center was extremely small it was a bit smaller than the average hotel room with few machines.

Also the first kiddie slide you come to isn't very safe and needs some non slip grips to prevent little ones from falling.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukasmom1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
8.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
378 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 4600 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $191 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing