We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Room”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the water main break. Though it is around 20 minutes from cedar point I would consider staying again. Additionally, the hotel was clean and the bathroom was large.
It was a little noisey because of the kids and additionally it is a large resort so you have to walk alot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    751
    473
    223
    138
See reviews for
2,279
28
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MI248
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was my third GWL location I have visited and it is a shame. Very dirty!

The water park was no exception as it was dirty and un-kept. Even my kids who could care less about anything once they see water, said "Daddy, why is there so much trash here?" There was a surgical glove on the building roof near the kiddie slides- gross! In the fort area, there was a spot that we saw a banana peel, a plastic cup, some ribbon, etc... that no one picked up for the three days we were there.

The hot tubs always had trash around them. At one point, we were sitting at a table in the park and we got attacked by ants- They bit our feet! I let a lifeguard know about it, and we watched all day- no one did anything! We also witnessed homeless people coming into the park to "get clean". twice!. What they do, is use the side door to the water park and knock until a guest lets them in. Then they put all their stuff on a table, get changed and jump in the water. Then they grab their stuff and run right out the lobby door! Like I said, I saw this happen twice!

Also, there seems to be two classes of people operating the water park, the ride operators, who are rude and do not care about their jobs (or the annoying guests that ruin their day by ridding the slides) and the lifeguards who I can say did seem to care were attentive.

Our room was dirty. We found candy wrappers under the bunk beds and half eaten fruit snack. Good thing I saw it because my one year old was about to eat it. The fridge had a broken bar on it and so we could store items on the shelf. The bathroom was nasty and had hair and dirt in all the corners! The tub had a big hole in it on the side. We had issues with housekeeping (go figure) as they only made one out of the four beds in the room. They did not vacuum, empty the trash or give us any TP (as we where out).We let the front desk know about this and the girl handed me a roll of TP and said someone would be right there as they may have just missed the room. We left the hotel and came back four hours later. They made three of the four beds this time and emptied the trash. No vacuum and no TP. I then spoke to the front desk manager and he showed a great deal of concern and gave us a breakfast voucher the next day (the only reason for the two stars and not a one).

I will say the restaurants were not too bad, but to great either. They seemed to lack the same attention to cleaning as the rest of the hotel.

Bottom line, there are WAY better properties to spend $100+ per night at! We will never go back and you shouldn't either. I left a review with the e-mail GWL sends you after your stay with the exact comments and checked the box for someone to contact me. No one called!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mi248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for providing us with such detailed feedback from your recent stay at Great Wolf Lodge – Sandusky! I am incredibly disappointed to learn about the experience you had and our Management team on-site would like to follow-up further.

If you can contact us directly at guestrelations@greatwolf.com, I would be happy to facilitate a discussion for you!

Thank you for choosing Great Wolf.

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I understand that most people come for the water features, which are nice, but the accompanying accommodations leave much to be desired. The rooms are dated, worn, and lack the cleanliness I would expect from a $200 per night "resort." Of note, the 1980's clock-radio in our room had about an inch of dust caked on. There were small signs of mold in the bathroom, and food left under the bed. The walls were worn and in need of paint. The patio was also disgusting featuring spider webs, bird poop, and all kinds of other outdoor treats.

Another annoyance was the fact that our room keys didn't work. I had to have them replaced multiple times at the front desk, and they still didn't work on the first (or second) attempt most times.

And, while I realize this is a kid-friendly hotel, the walls and floors are paper thin. You can hear all of the conversations in the hall and the people above you (walking around their room; or, in our case running).

Personally, I was disappointed with Great Wolf and don't think I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Kyle,

Thank you for staying at Great Wolf Lodge – Sandusky and providing us with the feedback about your suite. I am saddened to learn of the difficulties you had and I want you to know this is not customary for us. If you ever have issues like this, please let us know immediately so that we can try and provide as timely a resolution as possible. We want to make sure that our guests feel at home while they stay with us, and we can only fix a problem when it is brought to our attention.

We understand that guests can sometimes have issues using their card keys. Veteran guests recommend that the keys be left in the Lodge Life pamphlet they are given in until you reach your room so that the integrity of the magnetic strip stays intact. If the keys are placed in the same pocket as a cell phone or other electronic devices, they can potentially deactivate the card, causing our guests an unnecessary inconvenience.

I hope you find this information useful and that you will choose to stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My son and daughter asked for a Cedar Point and Water Park trip. They loved this hotel but as adults we noticed many things that needed cleaning. The walls in our room were dirty with different colored stains. The pool had to be emptied twice for them to circulate the water because a lifeguard with plastic gloves and a bio hazard bag said everyone had to exit the pool. YUCK. I realize this is not the hotels fault but it was not a happy experience for us that knew what was going on. The staff was so friendly and helped me with anything I needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjmbdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Sandusky and sharing your experience with us! If you ever see issues in your room like the ones you described, please let us know immediately so we can work on providing a resolution in a timely manner.

While it is unfortunate that a child had an accident in the pool, I am glad our Aquatics team followed all of the necessary protocols in place to ensure the safest environment possible for our guests.

We hope to host your family again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We recently stayed at Great Wolf. It was our second time at a GW property and were disappointed. The hallways were dirty. A fruit snack stayed on the elevator floor during our 2 day stay. I watched the cleaning staff use the elevator and they never bothered to pick it up. I finally did on our way out.The room wasn't cleaned until I called at 5 pm. The front desk would not pick up the phone even though they weren't busy. The front desk staff was unfriendly. The room wasn't cheap. There have to be better places to stay near Cedar Point.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank six_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for staying again with us at Great Wolf Lodge – Sandusky! We sincerely appreciate the feedback from your trip and I am sorry to hear we did not meet the expectations set by your last stay. What you observed is not normal for us and I hope you will stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The Great Wolf Lodge in Sandusky is a very nice, kid-friendly place to stay. I definitely recommend the MagiQuest adventure that they offer. MagiQuest is a whole adventure parents can do with their kids. NOTE: make sure you have 3 1/2 - 4 hours before leaving the resort because it is pretty time consuming. All in all a very nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmckeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place kids had so much fun with magiquest. Employees were so great and nice i really enjoyed my stay. Only one issue i loved the loft bedroom but it gets really hot and stuffy maybe an extra fan?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1975traveler1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
8.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
296 reviews
16.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
5.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 4600 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing