We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planned on staying one night, ended up staying three!”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I originally planned on bringing my stepson and two nieces to GWL for one night to use a Groupon I had purchased and to spend a day at Cedar Point. We ended up staying two more nights (full price for the second night, and a VERY deep discount we couldn't pass up for the third night). When we arrived in Sandusky around 2pm, we assumed we would need to spend some time at the waterpark before checking into our room. We were pleasantly surprised that our room was already ready for us. When we walked in the room, we discovered that our balcony view was directly above the air conditioning units, and the smell wasn't all that great out there either. My husband called the front desk and requested to move to a room with a better view, and they had no problem moving us to another room (still early check in, too). The kid cabin suite was great! The kids had their own space and my husband and I did too, yet we were still within the same room. It was very clean and well maintained. The beds were great and we all slept well (and we're very picky about our beds :)) The carpet didn't have a single stain, and this was the first time we didn't mind if the kids were crawling around or even laying on a hotel floor. The soaps, shampoos and lotions were very kid friendly and smelled great. We ordered room service (pizza, cheese sticks, and bread sticks) for dinner, and it was pretty good. The waterpark was somewhat busy every time we went, but there were more than enough lifeguards on duty to make us feel comfortable enough to grab a lounge chair and let the kids play in the water. There is something to do for kids of all sizes and ages in the waterpark, and even when it was super busy, everyone seemed to have something to do. The arcade was fun for the kids but there were many machines that were out of order or taking their tokens. The employees at the ticket redemption counter made up for that, however, because they allowed the kids to pick items that cost more than the amount of tickets they acutally had. Story time in the lobby was a favorite too. They enjoyed wearing their pajamas throughout the hotel. There were a few downfalls to the hotel, however, but not enough to stop us from staying again. The indoor portion of the waterpark was rather humid. Two of the three women we encountered at the dessert bar (not sure of the exact names) during our stay were quite rude. The only one that was very nice and did her job well was the young blond girl. We got the breakfast buffet the first morning, and it was nothing to write home about, and WAY overpriced. The fruit at the buffet tasted off - like it was frozen or not ripe. Our waiter came to our table three times - once to bring our drinks, and twice to bring food. Almost all of our drinks sat empty, and he didn't bother refilling them. I think his name was bernard. If we return, we will NOT get breakfast again. The power also went out briefly two of the three nights we were there. It wasn't a problem, but I thought it was odd that there were no backup or emergency lights in the room, as it was pitch black while the power was out. The kids loved the hotel so much that they would have rather stayed there the entire time instead of going to Cedar Point! I'm sure we will stay again!

Room Tip: Kid Cabin suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,111 - 2,117 of 2,666 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

My girls, 8 and 5, had an absolute blast in the water park. Lifeguards were extremely attentive and made for an extra safe environment. Rides were perfect size for kids, but if you have a 10 + year old, I'd say skip it. Food was over priced and not that great. Plenty of choices for food around the resort so no worries there. Main complaint was the full sized bed in the guest room. Probably the most uncomfortable mattress and pillows in a hotel that I've experienced. For the price of the room we chose, I expected more. My kids did love the wolf den and bunk beds they slept in, probably the best part of the room. We would most likely go to this resort again, but like this trip, we would only spend one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlymom0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place if your little ones are 11 or younger. It's a large clean place with lots of different things to do. For travelers with tiny ones: we took a six month old. He loved the toddler area (with an adult of course) I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our first visit to a water park and probably our last. I am not by any means a white glove tester of hotel rooms but I do expect a certain level of cleanliness. Our table and floor in the room was covered with food and cookie crumbs. This would have taken all but 5 minutes to vacuum up and wipe down. Water pressure in the sink was absolutely nonexistent. Beds were ok. The chlorine smell in the water park was so overwhelming it made me physically sick. Not sure if this is from the park being all enclosed or because the pools aren't being properly maintained, just guessing the latter. I wish I would have brought up the issue to the hotel staff to see what their response would have been. The chlorine smell you associate with swimming pools is actually ammonia being broken down by the chlorine, which means there are excessive contaminants in the water and more chlorine actually needs to be added. A simple fix really. The park design itself was very family friendly. Lots to do. If they could just work on maintaining cleanliness it would be 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertRose17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were invited to accompany our son, daughter-in-law, and 2 grand kids, age 5 and 2. Stayed from Monday-Wednesday. The water park was really fun for all of us. No lines, water was warm, and both hot tubes (kid friendly, and adult) were very relaxing. Spent some quality time with the little ones. I was impressed with the cleanliness of all areas of the lodge. The kiddie pool area had an "poo" incident, was promptly closed, cleaned, and re-opened. There are enough slides, and water activities that kept us all busy. One opportunity for improvement would be to make the the water sprayers/bucket dump activities more small-kid friendly. They were geared for bigger kids, and adults. The pull strings, pumps, and triggers were all too high, and hard for even the 5 1/2 year old to use. The room itself was very clean. New carpet, crisp white bedding, and soft comfortable beds. The pull-out couch was terrible, as most are. The room slept 6, but only had a table with 2 chairs. There were also 2 chairs on the balcony. The worst part of our room was the bathroom. The sink was out in the main room, right by the door. The tub/toilet was in a tiny room that when closing the door barely cleared the toilet. There were water conserving shower, and sink heads that had water sprinkles coming out of them that it took 3 times as long to get the soap/shampoo washed off. It definitely defeated the purpose. The toilet stopped filling up, told front desk, and it was fixed immediately. The last night of our stay the fire alarms went off at 11:30 pm. We evacuated the building. (Heard a pipe malfunctioned). Stayed out about 15 minutes. They comped us an extra hour checkout, and $20.00 voucher at one of their shops or restaurants for the inconvenience. We ate at the Gitchagoomi for dinner. It was very good. Did not want to spend $11.99 adult, and $4.99 for child 3+ for the breakfast buffet, so we opted for a McDonald's run; right down the road. They did have take-out only A-la-cart, but it was pricy as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Before I get into this review I should warn all out of state drivers that there has been a campaign to raise funds in this city targeting out of state drivers. Three people staying at the hotel were ticketed for moving violations and one was a retired police officer. Upon seeing an out of state tag you will be followed. Any small infraction of the traffic laws there and you will be sending in a money order to the local court.
That being said The hotel is wonderful. The kids just loved it. Food at the hotel restaurant was expensive and not very good however there are many chain restaurants in the area so it would not be a great issue for most. The rooms are clean and spacious. This is no place for a business traveler to stay. The hotel is geared for small kids and very very very noisy.
If you have young children and want to make a special weekend for them then this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I took our two grandsons, ages 5 and 12 for a two day mini vacation. It was our first time at a Great Wolfe Lodge was wasn't sure what to expect. It was a very large resort and the indoor water park was more than what we expected! Lots of slides and different pools for the kids as well as adults. MagicQuest game is a little pricey. You need a wand with prices from $14.99 and up...then add on $10 just for the game which you want around the resort and tap you wand to open up treasures and such. The game room is like most...everything is 50 cents and up and you get coupons for little prizes. The food is normal, but the pizza is priced accordingly. We ordered Pizza Hut one night and paid $11 and then ordered the resort pizza for $11.99 and they were almost the same! There is a Meijer and WalMart close by and the rooms have microwaves and fridges. Also, alot of restaurants within walking distance. Lots of activities for the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
8.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
378 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 4600 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $191 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing