We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Grrrrrrrrreat Family Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Grrrrrrrrreat Family Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed at the Lodge for our Grandson's Birthday. When you ask him what he wants for his birthday the only answer we get is "to go to the Great Wolf Lodge." He had a blast and so did we! We stayed in a Jacuzzi Suite Room. Love the patio and we were lucky to have a lovely warm Autumn day. The Lodge is very clean and the employee's always friendly. We were there on a day that there were not many ppl there. Most of the little shops and such didn't seem to be open. He did enjoy the Cub Club and Sarah is a treasure. She seems to enjoy her job and was very sweet with our Grandson. We enjoyed the water park which is just enough excitement for a 5 year old. He also loves the arcade, we spent alot of time there! The little show in the evening with the story is precious. I think we look forward to it as much as he does! We only wished the big bucket in the water park would have been working. We were disappointed that it wasn't working. So nice that all of the employees take time to greet you. Even one of the maintenance men took time to ask how our stay was! The lifeguards are great and take their jobs quite seriously. It helps to know there are an extra set of eyes on your little one! Not sure why, but upon check out the girl took our key cards and I asked for a receipt. She didn't seem interested if we enjoyed our stay or not. It would have made our day for her to ask. Despite that, we will be back I am sure. Our little guy loves it there and it is fun for the whole family!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeppland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    547
    313
    151
    89
See reviews for
1,462
24
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been to the the Niagara Falls Great Wolf Lodge and was looking for a similar and memorable experience. This Lodge is about half the size of all other Lodges as it was the first one built. The water park is missing quite a bit of attractions that the other Lodges have. Also, there was nothing to do outside of the Lodge as it sits in the middle of an urban area with a Meijer grocery store next door. The rooms were smaller as well and looked more like a regular hotel room. Most of the pool staff looked like they wanted to be somewhere else, and looked like they were told not to smile or be friendly to the guests. We will never return to this one.

Room Tip: Go to the Niagara Falls Great Wolf Lodge for better rooms and water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllAboutAdventures3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelee island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here one night for a shopping trip in September. Resort was closed, so even the gift shop and on site restaurants were not available. Beautiful, comfortable, exceptionally clean room, great off season prices, and no kids running and jumping in the halls, apparently a problem in the summer, according to the signs. Will there again as an alternative to the awful motels on the same road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor have patios and you can park at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pelee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Great Wolf Lodge and it was very nice. Very family oriented, from the "story time" to the "Cub Club" it's all about the kids. Hibernation time (quite time) is from 11pm till 7am. The water park is very nice, the kids love it and I saw plenty of Life Guards. There is an Adults only hot tub which was also nice. Our room had 2 queen beds, but I understand some have bunk beds. Easy access to Cedar Point, rout 2 and the Turnpike. Room rates vary like airline tickets based upon avilibility so book early. Staff was great, very friendly and professional. check in was fast, only minor issue was 3 of the 4 room keys did not work, but the front desk quickly reprogrammed them.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have visited Great Wolf Lodge several times now. We always have very good experiences and this was no different. However, this time around we wanted to enjoy as many activities at the resort where as in the past we mostly did the waterpark and little else at the resort. This time we bought the Paw Pass which enabled our 8 year old to create and pick up several souveniers at a nice discount. We also enjoyed bingo and a memory game with the staff. On saturday night we even went to a dance party in the lobby. We enjoyed a very nice breakfast in one of the restaurants mainly because Kids ate free (never saw this promotion before..great idea). We spent about 5 hours in the waterpark and about an hour in the arcade. This filled up a whole day for us and it was wonderful. The crew that does the activities are very outgoing and friendly. Very personable crew and they make stopping at the Kids Club thing very much worth your time.

Room Tip: Go in the off season. You get a much better deal and the waterpark is not very crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjlj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A very nice place. Easy to get to being just 1 mile off the Ohio Tunpike or Rte 2 on Rte 250. Only a few miles from Cedar Point and historic Sandusky (and the Jet Express to the Erie Islands). Walking and/or short driving distance to all type restaurants and food stores. The lodge itself is very nicely appointed, well kept and the staff helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean, neat and had a mini-fridge, small microwave and a coffee maker. Great family fun for old and young alike (but especially for kids 2 -14 years old) with waterpark being the big attraction. Restaurants and snack shops onsite are convenient and the food good though pricey (but not by too much). And there is a big redemption game room there as well (reminded me of a casino for kids) that we all had fun with. All fairly priced considering that you get waterpark admission included in your room price. I will definitely bring the little ones again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDFash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina - Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Sanduksy Great Wolf Lodge for two days in August, 2012.
We were on a visit to Cedar Point.
The stay was excellent. The room was very big and clean. We had requested a top floor room, and that was provided.
The water park was pefect for us. We are pushing 60, so something tame is desirable. The water park would be perfect for young kids (10 and under maybe) but it would be a little too tame for anyone between 10 and 40.
Checkin was very efficient and the front desk girl was very friendly.
Everything in the room and hotel worked perfectly - elevators, air conditioning, wireless internet, lights, plumbing. All went as planned.
Lots of free parking.
The hotel was very quiet. There were some children running around until 9 PM, but that's to be expected. And after that it was totally quiet.
We had drinks in the main bar one night - they were good, and prices were about normal for a hotel.
We didn't eat at any of the hotel facilities.
Checkout was of the express kind (bill slipped under the door), so there was no waiting to check out.
When you're booking your room, be aware there is a "resort fee" of about $20 a night. But even with the resort fee, the room was $40-60 less than the Fairfield and Hampton Inns. This was a Saturday, Sunday stay.

All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
2.3 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#9 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 4600 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing