We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Experience with 2 toddlers,2 teenagers,1 child.... camper village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camper Village at Cedar Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camper Village at Cedar Point
Athens, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Great Experience with 2 toddlers,2 teenagers,1 child.... camper village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was a great visit with my husband 3 children and 2 grandchildren. Friendly staff throught the park and at camp site. I would take my family back again any time to stay. Children really enjoyed their stay and the parks. For those of you whom have never visited campsite or either of the parks i highly recommend that you do. You and your family will be glad you did.Checking in was quick and courtous. This wasn't our first visit to the park, we visited a few years ago and rented a cabin, very nice, clean, next to the water. Park itself is very nice and clean nicer than any other amusement park i have ever been at and we have been to them all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We're pleased that you chose to come back and stay with us again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    55
    13
    11
    2
See reviews for
104
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in circle B, on the outside rim. It looks nothing like the pictures, we were very close to the rv's on both side of us. The picnic table was behind us and full of bird poop. the bugs were horrible because we were among low hanging trees. The other parts of the park looked great so if you go do not stay in Circle B it is not maintained.
Travel with 2 teenagers and 1 eleven year old, June 2013 in a motorhome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Circle B is the older section of the campground with electric only sites. Our full hook-up sites are located in the Lighthouse Point section of the campground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've already gone in depth with a review of Cedar Point intself, but I felt that the Camper Village deserved it's own review. This was my family's first trip to the park, so obviously it was also our first trip to Camper Village. Check-in was quick and courteous. We had used the pre-payment plan and it was a simple printout of our tickets and we were good to go. We stayed in the Loop which had the laundry and restroom/showers in the middle. (Back-In's, full hookups). The site was level, clean and had a great view of both the Gemini and Top Thrill Dragster. We met some amazing people around us and made some friends that we hope to meet up with again in the future. One warning, don't know if it was the time of year or what, but there was one particular bird which harassed anyone trying to access the restroom all week. It appeared that the staff tried their best to capture the bird, but to no avail. By the end of the week, people were sending out their kids to run across the area and try to get videos of bird attacking their heads. One additional note: My son lost his wallet inside the park one day, and the staff at the check-in station were very helpful. They contacted the season pass center to get us information on how to replace passes, and informed us of the lost and found within the park. It was much appreciated. We did locate his wallet! Overall a great experience, and we will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: If possible, request a full hook-up site. Well worth the extra money. The lines at the dump statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Camper Village. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your first visit with us. We are constantly on wildlife patrol as the safety of our guests is the most important priority. We will continue to keep an eye on the birds. Thank you for providing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our 3rd year in a row here and it is still a consistent winner. Two adults and 5 teenager in our group. Friendly, helpful staff. Super clean grounds and restrooms. Convenient and easy access to the amusement park. The $20 ticket discount (per person!), early park entry, and use of all CP resort pools and wi-fi areas are HUGE perks. There is no down side here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskyboy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for your continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Extremely Clean and well laid out. Great Amenities with great service. There are two areas of the village: 1-an older section with gravel lots and older bathrooms; 2- The fantastic newer section with Concrete slabs, full hookups privacy trees around picnic tables.

These sites are really close to the cabins on Lake Erie, which are great for families without RVs, so you can stay close to friends you are traveling with.

Room Tip: Get a full hook up if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobertH1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for the helpful information for our guests. As you mentioned, Electric Only sites are available in Circle B and the newer section contains full hook-up sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Yes, it is a little more expensive than the KOA, but you won't pay for parking, and you can get into the park an hour early. If you have teenagers, it is perfect. The campground is crowded, but everybody is in the park most of the time, and to exhausted at the end of the day to do anything but eat and go to bed.

There are bugs everywhere! Very odd bugs.

The pool is nice, and you can also use the hotel pool if you choose. The hotel pool is nicer, but beware of the seagull poop.

Bring all of your food and beverages with you, the camp store is expensive and doesn't have much, and the park is expensive also, and doesn't have much in the way of choice. They sell the same thing at every kiosk!

But, as everyone who has ever been to Cedar Point knows, you are there for the roller coasters, not the food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cps59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Those friendly, harmless insects are Mayflies and are found along Lake Erie this time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Make no mistake, Campers Village is NOT a campground but more for RVing. Last week was our 2nd stay at Campers Village in as many yrs. and we will probably go back next yr. I'd recommend that you try to get into the new section since the sites are much nicer (full service sites, concrete pads, better drainage, and many pull throughs) and a just a bit more roomy. The only downside is much less shade so if you don't have A/C, it can get pretty warm inside an RV. Pool is nice but overcrowded frequently. Shuttle is great to get around and usually short wait times.

All the grounds are kept very clean inside & out of the amusement and water parks. But the one significant, and common, complaint is the bathrooms and showers. Last yr the bathrooms/showers were consistently filthy. This yr. they frequently were out of toilet paper as well-a pretty basic thing for a bathroom. Took 2 days of complaining to finally get them to service them properly. So plan on bringing your own toilet paper and being grossed out by plugged toilets. Since we camp in a PopUp, we require usable bathrooms. And to save a few bucks, the hot water is almost non-existent. Lukewarm at best even after midnight. Kind of ridiculous considering the rates you pay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Camper Village at Cedar Point, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review and letting us know of the issues you experienced. We will review this immediately and find a solution to the issue you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Point
Lighthouse Point
#1 of 6 in Sandusky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
5.4 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Breakers
Hotel Breakers
#1 of 35 in Sandusky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camper Village at Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camper Village at Cedar Point

Property: Camper Village at Cedar Point
Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp at One of the Greatest Parks in Our Nation. That’s what it’s like at Camper Village, where you can “rough it” just steps away from the most exciting rides and attractions anywhere. Your site will be close to Cedar Point, and also Soak City, Challenge Park and Cedar Point’s famous Lake Erie Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camper Village At Cedar Point Hotel Sandusky
Camper Village At Cedar Point Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing