We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, United States
2 reviews
“Too Noisey”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This stay was below my standards for noise level and comfort. I believe they need to look into replacing the mattresses on the beds. The room was clean, but the noise level comming from the hallways and room above us was too loud. The toilet ran all night and there wasn't anyone availaBLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I understand that there were some issues that inconvenienced you particularly the disruptive noises you experienced.

It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate ourselves and identify the areas where we can improve. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration and that we are actively looking at different options of better soundproofing our property.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel and I do hope that if you are ever in town, you consider staying with us.

Sincerely,
gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    114
    51
    17
    10
See reviews for
191
76
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This review is late, but better late than never.
We stayed here overnight during the first week of June. We had a total of 2 rooms, but I can only speak of the one in which we stayed.
We had a 2nd floor room. It was clean and had plenty of room. My mother-in-law called the front desk shortly upon getting into their room, I think they wanted more towels or something. A manager came promptly with towels and extra toiletry kits.
The bed was comfortable and you could open the window for air. The complementary wifi worked just fine. We took advantage of the continental breakfast. They aren't going to win any Michelin awards, but it was good. Lots of selections.
I forgot to mention to the staff that our bathtub faucet was leaking/dripping.
The staff was nice and pleasant to work with, no complaints. The location is good, not too far from Cedar Point, and major restaurants, fast food and a Walmart are a mile or two away.
It was a nice stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My "non-smoking" room smelled strongly of smoke and the room felt dirty overall. The bedspread looked really old and was extremely lumpy. The carpet was dirty and looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time. The internet was not good and would cut in and out. I will not stay at this hotel again. I cancelled my reservations for the following week and booked at another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I appreciate your candor on your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that during your stay, the freshness of your hotel was of concern to you and that there was an unpleasant odor of smoke. We are now a 100% non-smoking hotel. Unfortunately, as much as we try to monitor this, we sometimes cannot control if a guest chooses to smoke in their room without our knowledge. However, I can very much empathize with your dissatisfaction and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I especially would like to apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way regarding our internet connection at our hotel. I assure you that we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ satisfaction. We are currently looking at different options to increase the speed and availability of our Wi-Fi connection.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Thank you,
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

50% of staff very accommodating, other half of staff not accommodating in any way what so ever. Just earning their paycheck for doing little to nothing. Room was very dusty and light switches, etc were dirty; had to clean them myself.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin l, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay at our property. I am so sorry that you had a bad impression of us and that you found some of our staff to lack the proper customer service skills. We try very hard to deliver a memorable guest experience to all of our guests and regret that you did not enjoy your overall stay. Along with my staff, I will take your feedback into consideration. I assure you that we will promptly follow-up on the issues you have brought up. We take your comments very seriously as it helps us continue to improve on our service and amenities.

Again, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you went through and would be more than happy to discuss this further with you. Your satisfaction is our main concern and I make myself available for any questions you should have.

Sincerely,
gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our third trip Halloween weekend to Sandusky and we stayed at the Hampton all three times. The prices are fair the free breakfast is tasty the staff was nice the common area was great for card games etc.. We will most likely be back next year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location, very close to Kalahari Water Park and lots of restaurants and shopping. Good value. Comfortable rooms, comfortable beds. Very nice breakfast area, with a generous breakfast offering (great coffee). Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, OH
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at this Hampton Inn as it was close to Sawmill Creek where we were attending a convention, and the price was less than the convention rate at SMC. Tack on free breakfast & Hilton Honors points & it was a no-brainer! So glad I decided the 5 min. drive was worth the savings, because this is a great little Hampton Inn! We even talked a friend into booking a room there instead of driving home.

Rooms were clean & comfortable. They provided us with a toothbrush that one of us forgot to pack, and the cookies & donut holes they set out in the afternoon & evening were very tasty! The pool was on the small side, but the area was clean. Besides some annoying kids in there at the same time, and the tiny towels they set out to use, the kids enjoyed the pool & hot tub.

The free breakfast was wonderful! Plenty to choose from and everything was fresh. Staff was helpful at all times. The heating system in the room was nice & quiet. We heard a few doors close a bit loudly, but requested top floor (3rd) so as not to hear anyone above us.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the top floor. Have learned my lesson in the past!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dssmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
360 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Property: Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Address: 6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing