We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stopped for 1 night to break up a long road trip. Room was clean, tidy and above all quiet even though the hotel was moderately busy. This was not pre booked, I walked in off the street and within 5 minutes I was in my room. The local knowledge of the receptionist was outstanding, giving some really good advice on where to eat locally. The only downer was the quality of the breakfast fell a little short of the mark compared with other Hampton I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 414 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Sandusky this past weekend for my daughter's cheerleading competition. We were surprised by how friendly the staff at the front desk were. Easiest check in process I've ever experienced. It was as if they were waiting for us. The place was clean, and typical Hampton. The breakfast was great, hot and cold selections, one day there was cheese omelletes and sausage, the other scrambled eggs and bagel toppers. They were OK. Lots of pastries, muffins, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, make your own waffles etc. Lots of choices. Tons of restaurants around this hotel (Ryan's buffet, Sonic drive in, Fazoolis, Steak and shake, Wendy's, BK, Olive garden, chinese etc etc it's all here. About a minute to Walmart, Meijers and a couple of minutes to Target. Literally one minute to the Kalahari where my daughter's competition was. Perfect location. I didnt use the pool but it was open late and quiet while we were there. The beds were comfy, they had the great duvets that Hampton are known for. Our room was immaculate. We had the accessible room and the washroom was huge. I think our room was bigger than most because it was accessible.
Note: Most hotels in thie area need refurbishing. We viewed quite a few of them. None of them are modern, brand new excpetional hotels. Given this, we compared and chose the Hampton. It may not be top notch super modern, but none of them are in this area. It is a very nice hotel though with a great staff and you'll get a good night's sleep in a clean room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3girlsandaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel many times now, and continue to like the Hampton model... in spite of the aging of some of the properties.

The staff here is always great and the location right on 250 works very well for me. The high speed internet could have been a little higher speed, but it is free as is the parking. Cookies were ready when I checked in.

If you are looking for a clean and modeately priced hotel in Sandusky, this Hampton Inn is a good bet.

Room Tip: Just be specific (high floor, quiet room, close to exit, etc)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoasterWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is an older building that seems to have previously been owned by a different hotel chain. The age doesn't show too much except that the rooms are very small. They are quite cramped and there isn't even a mini fridge or a microwave. We had to deal with the typical Hampton Inn heating and cooling unit, which means you put it a dial on a setting and it just blows and blows until you turn it off. There is no thermostat. We decided it was easier to have it be a little too warm instead of way too cold. There was one painfully slow elevator for the whole place.

The front desk staff and the lady working the breakfast were all very nice and as helpful as they could be. The breakfast was good and featured a variety of options that satisfied us. There was plenty of room in the dining area, which was appreciated. There is a pool, but we didn't have a chance to use it. Space and pools are great for kids.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahJohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was the first time we had been to Cedar Point. The hotel is located about 5 minutes from the park. Very easy to find. We checked in to the hotel late after staying until the park closed at 10. Front desk was very helpful. The pool and hot tub are open until 1:00.
We found the hotel quiet and had no problem getting a good nights rest before heading to the park in the morning. The breakfast was good.(good assortment-attendant worked hard to keep everything filled)
We would recommend this hotel. The rate is fair and we felt we received good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foursmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel was very clean, room was great, employees at the front desk were very accommodating and nice, the breakfast was great, we were even brought a refrigerator when requested. Overall a fantastic experience and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan596611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Service was Exellant from the House Keeping to the Breakfast Buffet attendant to the front desk and the Management as well! We have stayed at many motels and hotels over the past 20 yrs. and we found this Hampton Inn Central in Sandusky Ohio to be very accomadating as well as the location which is only a 10 to 15 minute drive to the Cedar Point Amusement Park! You couldn't ask for more!! If you arent happy with this place then you need to get a camper!! The breakfast Buffet is the best we have had in years!! Thanks Again for a most enjoyable Experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil58134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
374 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central

Address: 6100 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $119 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing