We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed two nights here while attending the Tall Ship re-enactment of the Battle of Lake Erie over Labor Day. Our room was a bit small and cramped for what we wanted but it was one of the few hotels with everything we wanted. We cooked dinner in our room to save money and the microwave and minifridge made this challenging (but do-able) when compared to a true kitchenette.
We enjoyed the pool and large hot tub both nights, having to ourselves the second. The water was warm but refreshing.
Breakfast was miniwaffles instead of a waffle machine so the waffles get a little hard as they sit under the hot light. Other than that--a typical continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbakerphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your good input and I am glad you stayed with us during the tall ship weekend!! I am looking at a different way of doing the waffles I started having my breakfast staff making them about two years ago because it just seemed more personable and allowed for more interaction with the guests but I do not want my guests eating hard waffles so thank you for the input!!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    135
    77
    19
    12
See reviews for
192
63
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ok...who was smoking what that made this a level 6? There were fresh squishy raisins on the floor of my room at check-in. There is dust on every picture frame and mirror. The air conditioner filter hasn't seen human hands in months. There is food in the hallways on the floor. While working at the computer I overheard 6 book-ins and the disparity between quoted rates and availability is enough to make me scream. Put a REAL mattress cover on and while you're at it- invest in a decent set of mattresses. Throwing a KING sheet on as a flat sheet means you have to tuck corners. As a Platinum Rewards member and a super Marriott fan... don't stay here. This place is a superlative rip off.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere...where they have real Marriotts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am so very sorry you had such a horrible stay. As a platinum rewards member you know that I have four promises I keep to all my guests and I feel that myself and the staff did not meet those promises and we let you down. As for the category that the hotel is that is set by Marriott. Myself or the owners have no input on setting that at all. In regards to my rates they fluctuate constantly and that is done to give the best competitive rate to people wanting to stay at the hotel my rates change along with the other hotels in the area. Once again I apologize for your horrible stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

the staff was outstanding the rooms were so clean and the breakfast was great for everyone. my daughter is allergic to a lot of foods and there was stuff even for her.and with such short notice to it was great thank you guys.

Room Tip: stay during the week less people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am so happy you had such a wonderful stay!! I am also glad you noticed our many options for breakfast, we always make sure we have many breakfast selections so people with food allergies may enjoy the vacation they are on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have made the mistake of staying at places like the Howard Johnson and others while staying in Sandusky. I will say that I nearly stopped coming to Sandusky because of poor hotel accommodations. We stayed here on a Marriott property and were more than pleased with everything, including the price. What a relief having people that care about your stay.

Room Tip: You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curt1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at the Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott. But most of all thank you for noticing how much we care about our guests. The most important thing about this job for me and my employees is that you know that you are cared for and your part of our hotel family and that when you leave here you have a lasting happy vacation memory to share for years to come.
Thank you for choosing our hotel,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here as we went to Cedar Point. Check in was quick, accurate and done with great service. All of the staff were so polite. The halls, rooms and entrance were all spotless. The hotel was so quiet, even while we were in the room across from the stairs and Ice machine. Asking for extra towels was no issue. The included breakfast was perfect...eggs, sausage, baked goods, yogurt, cereal, waffles, fruit. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHLROA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
The staff and myself work so hard through the entire summer to give everyone of our guests a memorable vacation it is a day in and day out process that lasts from May through October. Your review is so nice!!!!!! It gives us the extra little lift we need to push through the season. Thank you for the great review and thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott.
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Clean, great beds, nice sized rooms, great free breakfast, convenient to Cedar Park and other local attractions. Breakfast was a particular high-light. More than just the muffin, banana and coffee you'd expect, virtually a full breakfast that was frequently resupplied. Overall, just what you'd expect from a Marriott property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. I am so glad you pointed out Fairfield Inn Sandusky now has a full breakfast. It gives you a great start for a long day at the park!! Also and most important thank you for pointing out our rooms are clean and the beds are nice to me staying anywhere is the most important thing. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Marriott rates this hotel as a category 6. It shouldn't be. Yes it's in a good location but the hotel it's self is old and needs updating. My room was right across from the dining area. There was a loud party going on until late and I could hear them. For breakfast it was good because we could grab the food and go back to our room since seating was limited. Breakfast was very good. The manager, Kevin, was very nice with my check out. All and all the rooms were comfortable but shouldn't be rated a category 6 in my opinion since I do know my hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmouse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your input and compliment about breakfast. The good news is we will be doing some updates this winter and expanding on the breakfast area. I hope to see you again next season for Cedar Point!!!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Address: 6220 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-9000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites, located in beautiful Sandusky, Ohio. Our hotel is conveniently situated on Route 250, within a short drive of local attractions including Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky State Theater, Kalahari Water Park, and various shopping, dining, and nature trails along unforgettable Lake Erie. We offer various room sizes to accommodate travelers for leisure and business alike. We want you to work well, eat well, rest well, and be well, so at our hotel you can stay connected with free high speed internet, start your day with our complimentary hot breakfast, work out in our fitness center, relax in a heated indoor pool, sleep soundly in luxury bedding, and enjoy flat screen televisions with newly added HD channels. Come and see how Fairfield has what you need to be at your best during your travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Fairfield Sandusky
Sandusky Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing