We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, mixed results”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, mixed results”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just back from a one night post Cedar Point trip. I stay in Marriotts 100+ nights a year. This one was acceptable.
Pros:
1. Clean - no evidence of bed bugs in our room
2. Close proximity to many restaurants and we went to a late night movie close by

Cons:
1. The breakfast- they may want to reconsider offering one. This was sub-par= 3 cereals, a dried out waffle, some old apples/pears, and some bread to toast. Good coffee, however.
2. Shower was unusable - the drain was obviously clogged, even with a little water used. This should have been very obvious to a housekeeper if they were cleaning the tub between guests.

This was a last minute reservation - probably would make a different decision next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    135
    77
    19
    12
See reviews for
192
63
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My sister and daughter were scheduled to stay here on July 25-26th. While they were at Cedarpoint, I read the July 20, 2012 review about the bedbugs. I called the hotel and asked to speak to a management member, but was told "they only work from 8am-5pm. So, I explained my concerns to the front desk supervisor. She transferred me to customer care to express my concerns. Neither knew the last inspection date or the results.
I asked both parties if the staff would physically inspect the room upon check-in to alleviate my concerns. The front desk said they would, once they checked in to an assigned room. The room would not be assigned until they were at the hotel.
Apparently this level of customer service is beyond the realm of possibilities at a Marriott Category Five property. They checked in and stayed without a review of the room. I received an email from the manager next day explaining the "bed bug" inspections. As a parent, that information would have been much appreciated before my family slept in the beds.

I would have been satisfied if a staff member performed this simple task, or a call from a supervisor prior to sleeping at this hotel. I am hoping the rash my daughter has on her legs is not from bed bugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kenz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a nice hotel. Staff was friendly and rooms were ok. BUt they were not $217 rooms and that's what they charged I guess because the proximity to Cedar Point and tourist season. These were $95 dollar rooms. The free breakfast the next day was the poorest of any of the national chains. If i come back I'll stay somehwere else. Hotel was nice, but outageously overpriced!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlreadyBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really had a decent stay here. Staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was awesome! All the rooms had micros and refrigerators. While the beds were typical small hotel beds being full sized instead of queen, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back to get away from the road. It's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azbkpkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

we did not want to stay right on site for cedar point so we chose this hotel. Not a bad drive at all...maybe 10 minutes. It was clean and had a great breakfast with options for the whole family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toddandtraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The General Manager Kevin was excellent. We had a minor problem with our room and he fixed it immediately. He went out of our way for us. The hotel itself was clean and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstHandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We received great service from the staff at this hotel. We had a party of 12, and we had pre-paid for hotel rooms through a travel website (not associated with the hotel at all!). Unfortunately, the travel website failed to transmit the correct info, and the hotel had no record of our rooms when we arrived. The staff worked dilligently to correct the problem, and we wound up having a very nice stay. The rooms were very clean, and the amenities and location were perfect. We will definitely stay here if we ever get to Sandusky again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank c k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Address: 6220 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-9000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites, located in beautiful Sandusky, Ohio. Our hotel is conveniently situated on Route 250, within a short drive of local attractions including Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky State Theater, Kalahari Water Park, and various shopping, dining, and nature trails along unforgettable Lake Erie. We offer various room sizes to accommodate travelers for leisure and business alike. We want you to work well, eat well, rest well, and be well, so at our hotel you can stay connected with free high speed internet, start your day with our complimentary hot breakfast, work out in our fitness center, relax in a heated indoor pool, sleep soundly in luxury bedding, and enjoy flat screen televisions with newly added HD channels. Come and see how Fairfield has what you need to be at your best during your travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Fairfield Sandusky
Sandusky Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing